Trudy B. emailed with a recommendation for Casey’s for dairy-free diners. They have locations throughout Ontario and Quebec, and they do provide an Allergen Chart on their website that caters to the top eight allergens in addition to several other dietary concerns, such as MSG, sulfites, corn allergies, etc.
While they seem to be limited on dairy-free options in the soup, salad, starter, and sandwich sections, there are a few tasty sounding entrees and sides to choose from. This doesn’t look like a good option for vegans though.
I was curious if any of Casey’s sandwiches were dairy-free if you simply ordered them sans cheese, since the allergen chart on their site isn’t accompanied by ingredients. So I emailed them, and they promptly responded with the following:
“In our allergens listings chart for our core menu we must list the allergens with regards to the full menu item. Hence are burgers and sandwiches indicate the presence of dairy. However the dairy is in the cheese and the burger bun, with the exception of our buffalo chicken strip sandwich which has the chicken marinated in buttermilk. The burger is an 8oz AAA burger with no fillers. Our panini bun for the steak sandwich and stacked sandwich also contains milk product. On a positive note with regards to dairy free offerings we do have a multi grain bread that we serve our Club sandwich on that is dairy free.
For a full listing of all ingredients in our Core Menu items each store is supplied with an Allergens and Ingredients binder.”
Claire, another Go Dairy Free viewer, later emailed the following about Casey’s for a quick list:
“changing their menu, info is current as of Sept ’09:
- Appetizers – Spicy Wonton Shrimp is the only DF appetizer.
- Entrees – Ribs, Pad Thai (Chicken or Shrimp), Cashew Chicken stir-fry, Korean Fire Beef
- Sides – Fries, Sweet Potato Fries
All other menu items contain dairy”
See their website for locations, hours, and full menus: www.caseysgrillbar.com