Go Dairy Free

Go Dairy Free Cookbook - Dairy-Free Recipes, Guide and More

Easter Treats: Organic, Allergy-Friendly and Vegan Candy

Posted on by Alisa Fleming in News, Nutrition Headlines with 5 Comments

Earlier this week I celebrated the wonderful world of dairy-free chocolate bunnies for various tastes and diets, including vegans and dairy-free consumers. But what would that basket of Easter treats be without some colorful candy thrown into the mix?

Easter Treats: YummyEarth Allergy-Friendly Candy

Peeps and plain old jellybeans are so yesterday. As we transition into a world of socially, environmentally, and health conscious individuals, our candy too must eventually evolve.  Though it didn’t keep in lockstep with the energy bar revolution, candy is quickly gaining ground as small manufacturers present their organic, allergy-friendly, and vegan sweets …

YummyEarth Naturals and Organic Candy

Founded by two kid (and sugar) loving fathers, YummyEarth proudly manufactures organic, gluten-free, casein-free, soy-free, nut-free, kosher certified … whew … vegan lollipops, gummies, and candy drops.  These all-natural gems come in fun flavors like pomegranate pucker, roadside root beer, and hopscotch butterscotch.
Website to Order: www.yummyearth.com or Amazon.com
For: Dairy-free, Vegan, Gluten-Free, and Multiple Food Allergies

Easter Treats: YummyEarth Allergy-Friendly Candy

Let’s Do Organic Gummi Bears

Organic vegan gummi bears, what’s not to like?  Straying from their gummi ancestors (loaded with corn syrup and yellow #5), these gummis derive their colors from organic fruit juices.  They come in unique flavors, including apples, apricots, pineapples, blackcurrants licorice, and elderberries. Plus, Let’s Do Organic promises Easter treats that are non-GMO, vegan (dairy-, egg-, and gelatin-free) and gluten-free.
Where to Purchase: www.edwardandsons.com or Amazon.com
For: Dairy-free, Vegan, Gluten-Free, and Multiple Food Allergies

Easter Treats: Let's Do Organic Vegan Gummi Bears

Divvies Easter Treats

Easter Treats: Divvies CandyWhen food allergies are the primary concern, Divvies comes to the rescue. Their facility and products are guaranteed free of peanuts, tree nuts, dairy, and eggs. For Easter baskets, Divvies offers fun filled bags of gumballs, jellybeans (including a selection in Easter colors), blue rock candy and jawbreakers.  If you are seeking some extra holiday indulgence, they also ship freshly baked vegan (food allergy-friendly) cupcakes with frosting.
Where to Purchase: www.divvies.com (Use the coupon code “DairyFree10″ for 10% off your order any time)
For: Dairy-free, Vegan, and Multiple Food Allergies

PureFun Confections

This Canadian manufacturer distributes its organic, kosher, vegan, and fair trade candy throughout North America. For special Easter treats, I recommend their colorful cotton candy varieties (available in multiple flavors!), though you can go more traditional with their hard candies and lollipops.
Where to Purchase: In store or Amazon.com
For: Dairy-free, Vegan, Gluten-Free, and Multiple Food Allergies

Surf Sweets

Surf Sweets stands out from the pack by popping out candies made with natural colors and flavors, organic fruit juice and sweeteners, and that provide you with your daily allowance of Vitamin C. They offer a variety of gummies (from bears to worms and beyond) and jelly beans (not strictly vegan), with both vegan and non-vegan allergy-friendly selections. They even offer a “spring mix” of their jelly beans for a festive Easter basket.
Where to Purchase: www.surfsweets.com or Amazon.com
For: Dairy-free, Vegan, Gluten-Free, and Multiple Food Allergies

Easter Treats: Surf Sweet Jelly Beans

St. Claire’s Organic Sweets and Tarts

Easter Treats: St.Claire's OrganicLast but not least, St.Claire’s Organic has also taken on the world of food allergies with their line of St. Claire’s Organic sweet candies and sour tarts. Packaged in single servings, these Easter treats (okay, year-round sweets!) are vegan and free of the top food allergens. Plus, they come in a variety of flavors, including ginger, licorice, raspberry, and peach. For an extra special basket, you can even include a bag of St. Claire’s Organic Hot Chocolate – Also dairy-free, and allergy-friendly.
Where to Purchase:  www.stclaires.com

Important Notes

Be Allergen Aware: If your special diet needs are particular, please read this article carefully and inquire with the manufacturer prior to purchasing. I have included notes on what “free-from” needs the chocolatiers cater to (including soy-free, gluten-free, and nut-free!). However, products, ingredients and processes may change at any time and cross-contamination can be a risk in manufacturing. Always double check with the manufacturer before purchasing or consuming any food whenever there is a food allergy concern.

Do you have some favorite Easter treats that we missed? Contact us.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

About Alisa Fleming

Alisa is the founder of GoDairyFree.org, Senior Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry. Follow me on Google+.

View all posts by Alisa Fleming →

Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living

5 Comments

  1. RobynMarch 7, 2013 at 3:12 pmReply

    Thanks for this great list! Looks like there’s lots of yummy vegan options! I’m definitely going to share it.

  2. RickiMarch 7, 2013 at 5:23 pmReply

    Great options for people with kids (though I must admit I wouldn’t mind trying some of those if I could!!). :)

  3. DaniMarch 8, 2013 at 5:44 amReply

    Very helpful post, especially for us who have children in our lives. I will be looking for these goodies to give out to my family during Easter. Thanks!

  4. mahoranerAugust 9, 2014 at 8:44 amReply

    just saying, surf sweet jelly beans are not vegan, they are dairy free, but not vegan. They contain confectioners glaze which comes from beetles . so please dont spread false information
    thank you,
    mahoraner

    • Alisa FlemingAugust 9, 2014 at 9:19 amReplyAuthor

      I clarified to avoid any misunderstanding. As noted, they have both vegan and non-vegan selections. Still a lot to choose from among their gummies, which are sold by most of the vegan stores. Enjoy!

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*