Go Dairy Free

Go Dairy Free Cookbook - Dairy-Free Recipes, Guide and More

Now Where am I Going to Find a Dairy-Free Chocolate Bunny?

Posted on by Alisa Fleming in Nutrition Headlines with 0 Comments

Sjaak's Chocolate Easter BunnyBy Alisa Fleming – Just a few years ago I was sure that chocolate bunnies would never again enter my food radar.  Those symbolic Easter treats found in local stores have always been of the milk chocolate variety, and far from dairy-free. But … little did I know that seasonal sweets for vegans, GFCF, lactose intolerance, and even multiple food allergies were waiting just over the horizon.  It is true; and we are not talking about one single bunny variety here … I discovered eight, yes EIGHT chocolatiers who have each developed their own dairy-free bunnies (of various shapes, sizes and cuteness) and Easter / Passover chocolates for our nibbling pleasure …

Divvies Chocolate Bunny 
The only thing that would make this bunny more perfect is a bag of “safe” Easter Jelly Beans from Divvies!  Order early, as I have a feeling that these little fellas will sell out quickly.  From the Divvies site: “All Divvies candy are certified by their manufacturers to be peanut-, tree nut-, milk-, and egg-free. Divvies wraps these gourmet treats in party-favor size, clear bags to dazzle and delight. Line a birthday table with glistening blue rock candy.” – Note: Divvies has sold out, but keep an eye on their website, as they will be multiplying bunnies as quickly as possible!
For: Dairy-free, Vegan, and Multiple Food Allergies

Sjaak’s Organic Fair Trade Vegan Dark Chocolate Bunny
Say that ten times fast!  But seriously, beyond the fact that these treats obviously meet all possible eco-friendly and socially aware standards, these bunnies win the cuteness award hands down!  The only downside is that you may not be able to take a bite after looking into his adorable chocolaty eyes.  Luckily, there are always the vegan chocolate eggs for a back-up.
For: Dairy-Free*, Vegan, Gluten-Free

Lake Champlain Classic Dark Easter Bunny
Since the Mr. Goodtime Bunny is milk chocolate, I suppose we will have to be content with the regal Classic Bunny, which is boasted as vegan and gluten-free.  Well, I guess he is pretty handsome.
For: Dairy-free*, Vegan

Indulge in Chocolate Vegan Chocolate Easter Bunny
This is a new company on my radar, so I have not been able to verify their manufacturing processes, but they do boast this bunny as vegan specifically, which means egg-free and dairy-free in terms of ingredients.  They also have a vegan chocolate Easter duck … interesting.
For: Dairy-Free*, Vegan

Chocolate Emporium Chocolate Bunny Assortment
This little chocolate company takes the kosher approach, selling only chocolate that is non-dairy and Kosher Pareve under Star-K supervision.  Chocolate Emporium certainly never fails to impress with their wide array of shapes either.  Did you want the sitting bunny (in five sizes, from small to giant), the bunny on a basket, or the flop eared bunny? 
For: Dairy-Free*, Vegan, Gluten-Free

Chocolate Decadence Easter Bunnies
This over-the-top, dairy-free, gluten-free, vegan chocolatier just couldn’t settle for those traditional, simple bunnies.  Their intricate chocolate designs include the Cowboy Easter Bunny and the Little Girl Easter Bunny.  Even their “Regular” Bunny Shape holds more detail than your average Easter confection.  Like the others, chocolate Easter eggs are also among the collection.
For: Dairy-Free*, Vegan, Gluten-Free

Amanda’s Own Easter and Passover Chocolates
Created specifically for their child with multiple food allergies, Amanda’s Own claims to be the “home of great tasting chocolate that is completely dairy-free, tree nut-free, peanut-free, egg-free and gluten-free!”  Amanda’s Own is know for kid-friendly chocolate, so it is no surprise that they are offering up quite a sweet little line of Easter chocolates.  Personally, I would love a few of those Baby Bunnies for some low-guilt nibbling!
For: Dairy-free, Vegan, Gluten-Free, and Multiple Food Allergies

Sweet Earth Foil Wrapped Easter Bunnies
I expect to hear more about this chocolatier in the future, as they are one of the few to make vegan chocolate that is also free of soy lecithin.  Yes, you heard me right, their vegan Easter bunnies and eggs are dairy-free AND soy-free.  This is another one of those great Fair Trade and Organic certified companies, so don’t hesitate to support them.  Oh yes, and the bunnies!  Their dainty, foil wrapped, 65% dark chocolate bunnies and eggs are certainly enticing.
For: Dairy-free*, Soy-Free, Vegan

Be sure to order early allowing enough time for your bunnies to arrive before the holidays! 

All of the above bunnies are made without gluten or wheat, according to their ingredient lists, and thus should be excellent for GFCF diets even where not specifically noted.  But, you should always double check with the manufacturer wherever there might be concern.

* This manufacturer may process milk chocolate in the same facility.  If severe food allergies or milk cross-contamination may be a concern, always contact the manufacturer before consuming to verify ingredients and manufacturing processes.

Article by Alisa Fleming, Founder and Editor of www.GoDairyFree.org.  Feel free to email the author with questions and comments.

About Alisa Fleming

Alisa is the founder of GoDairyFree.org, Senior Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry. Follow me on Google+.

View all posts by Alisa Fleming →

Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*