Though I have trialed at least a dozen milk alternatives myself, it had never occurred to me that a review or two might be in order. That is until I came across my most fascinating “milk” find, the Hazelnut Non-Dairy Beverage (a.k.a. “Milk”) from Pacific Foods. Though it has been on the market for a while, I had taken little notice. But, when a buy one get one free sale at my local grocery store prompted me to do a little mix and matching of the Pacific Foods non-dairy “milk” line, a package of the hazelnut variety haphazardly found its way into my cart. Though the purchase was almost on accident, I was very grateful for the discovery.
As I peeled back the freshness seal, an amazing scent of hazelnut gently found its way to my nose. I was immediately taken back to memories of “hazelnuss” gelato in Austria. While still “milky” the texture was thin, light, and refreshing, erring a bit toward the watery side. Luckily, the flavor was not watery in the slightest. The hazelnut found its way into the flavor, offering just enough body and richness. It was just a touch sweet, but not over the top.
This is a delicate milk alternative that wouldn’t likely hold up in savory or high temperature applications. I would recommend it for light desserts or possibly ones with a chocolate vibe. Also, it is very well suited for various beverages of the hot (think coffee, tea and hot chocolate) and cold (smoothies anyone?) variety.
My Extra Notes & Tips:
- This product is vegan and kosher certified.
Where to Purchase: This hazelnut “milk” is available in stores throughout the U.S. See the Pacific Foods website for a store locator. At the time of writing, only Pacific’s Soymilk was being distributed in Canada, but perhaps this will change in the near future.
The Facts on Pacific Hazelnut Milk
Certifications: Pacific Hazelnut Milk is Certified Kosher Parve and Non-GMO Verified.
Dietary Notes: By ingredients, Pacific Hazelnut Milk is dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, grain-free, peanut-free, soy-free, vegan / plant-based, vegetarian, and paleo-friendly. Nonetheless, always read the ingredient statement and check with the company on their manufacturing processes for all varieties if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. Processes and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company / product.
For More Product Information: Visit the Pacific Foods website at pacificfoods.com.