One of my very first reviews on Go Dairy Free, about ten years ago, was Bobo’s Oat Bars. Void of any pictures and buried deep in our archives, I thought this wholesome product deserved a review refresh.
Back then I picked Bobo’s Oat Bars as one of my “5-Star Selections” and truth be told, my opinion holds to this day. These thick, dense bars are the ultimate oat lover’s addiction with gentle, earthy flavors that aren’t too sweet, nor too savory, but just right – even for sensitive morning taste buds.
When I first sampled Bobo’s Oat Bars, they had just a few “classic” wheat-free flavors. Since that time, they’ve dramatically expanded their line-up and added gluten-free (made with certified gluten-free oats) varieties, too. Yet aside from the additional options, the cute handmade vibe of the Bobo’s logo and the delicious ingredients are just as I remembered them. Sure, there have been a few little tweaks – like the bars are now soy-free (a simple buttery spread swap) – but that firm yet tender bite, reminiscent of a favorite warm bowl of oatmeal, really hasn’t changed a bit.
This time, I opted for the Cinnamon Raisin (pictured above), which offered pleasant hints of spice amid a relatively generous amount of plump raisins. This flavor could easily be a repeat for me, but I’ve also enjoyed the Peanut Butter, Coconut and Strawberry Bobo’s Oat Bars. The Chocolate wasn’t my cup of tea (it lacked a bit of depth), but there are still so many selections left to sample … see the box up top for the current flavors (at last check).
And I mentioned these bars are dense, right? You really get your money’s worth as Bobo’s Oat Bars pack in TWO lean 180-calorie servings each. Looking for something lighter? Bobo offers half-size Bites, too!
The Facts on Bobo’s Oat Bars
Certifications: Bobo’s Oat Bars are Certified Kosher Pareve, Non-GMO Verified, and the gluten-free flavors are Certified Gluten-Free.
Dietary Notes: By ingredients, Bobo’s Oat Bars are dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free (select varieties), wheat-free, soy-free, vegan / plant-based, and vegetarian. Nonetheless, check with the company on their manufacturing processes for all varieties if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. Processes and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company / product.
For More Product Information: Visit the Bobo’s Oat Bars website at bobosoatbars.com.