Fruit snacks have been my go-to food allergy emergency snack/dessert item for YEARS.
- look like candy
- come in cute, portable packages
- have expiration dates that are years away
- can ride around in the bottom of your purse or diaper bag for months and never become: stale, crumbled, squished
- are dairy free
- are recognized and accepted by your child’s peers
- do not carry the disappointment/stigma of Mom’s Purse-Smashed Carob Flax Seed Bars
I know what you’re going to say. “But, Blah blah blah cavities blah blah blah corn syrup blah blah blah fruits of the devil blah!”
Now we don’t have to fight anymore because Surf Sweets just released a line of naturally sweetened, corn-syrup free gummy treats. And! They are gluten-free, dairy-free, allergy-friendly treats produced in a dedicated nut-free facility.
The Gummy Bears taste just like, well, gummy bears. The Sour Berry Bears and Sour Worms are not quite as sour as the usual Sour Patch Kid-type treat. Two of my children don’t like sour candies and they liked these. The third child wished they were a bit more sour. Also, the sour candies have a firmer consistency, like those candy citrus slices your great-aunt always gave you when you visited her. The jelly beans are the consistency of regular jelly beans, with really fresh fruit flavors. They have several other new candies available, too.
*They are all vegetarian and some are vegan.
Gummy Bears: Organic Tapioca Syrup, Organic Evaporated Cane Juice, Gelatin, Organic Grape Juice Concentrate,Citric Acid, Lactic Acid, Ascorbic Acid, Colors Added (including Black Carrot Juice Concentrate, Turmeric, Annatto),Natural Flavors, Organic Sunflower Oil, Carnauba Wax
Sour Berry Bears: Organic Evaporated Cane Juice, Organic Tapioca Syrup, Organic Grape Juice Concentrate, Pectin, Citric Acid, Sodium Citrate, Malic Acid, Asorbic Acid, Colors Added (Black Carrot Juice Concentrate), Natural Flavors.
Sour Worms: Organic Evaporated Cane Juice, Organic Tapioca Syrup, Citric Acid, Pectin, Sodium Citrate, Ascorbic Acid, Colors Added (Black Carrot Juice Concentrate, Turmeric, Annatto), Natural Flavors.
Jelly Beans: Organic Evaporated Cane Juice, Organic Tapioca Syrup, Organic Grape Juice Concentrate, Pectin, Citric Acid, Ascorbic Acid, Colors Added (including Black Carrot Juice Concentrate, Turmeric, Annatto), Natural Flavors, Confectioner’s Glaze, Carnauba Wax, Organic Sunflower Oil.
Leah also tried a few Surf Sweets gummy candies and only had good things to say about them:
Sour Worms – After eyeing up Surf Sweets candies at the store for ages, picking them and putting them back over and over, I finally bought myself a bag of the Sour Worms. It took me so long to finally do it for two reasons – 1) I don’t really need candy and not having them meant not having to bother to try not to eat the whole bag at once 2) I was worried they’d be bad. Vegan gummies are pretty rare so I figured they must be hard or impossible to make so I thought they might just be all wrong. I’m really happy I did pick them up though because they’re SO good! They’re just the right amount of sour and sweet and have a really good chew to them. It’s not quite as chewy as I remember gelatin-based sour worms being, but I was really okay with that. I found that the grapefruit flavor stood out the most out of all the worms and again, I was okay with that. Also I happily discovered that I was completely content just having one or two worms at a time when my sweet tooth hit.
Watermelon Rings – To be honest, I wanted to get the peach rings, but the store I was in didn’t have them so I grabbed these. Again, I was really impressed. I’ve never been a fan of fresh watermelon (weird, I know), but I always found artificial watermelon flavor pleasant (even weird, yep) and these had the perfect artificial watermelon flavor that brought me back to my childhood. I would definitely buy again.
The Facts on Surf Sweets
Certifications: Surf Sweets is Certified Gluten Free. Some varieties are Certified Organic and Non-GMO Verified.
Dietary Notes: By ingredients, Surf Sweets gummies are dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, grain-free, nut-free, peanut-free, soy-free, vegetarian, and paleo-friendly. Most varieties are vegan. Nonetheless, always read the ingredient statement and check with the company on their manufacturing processes for all varieties if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. Processes and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company / product.
For More Product Information: Visit the Surf Sweets website at surfsweets.com