While frozen pizzas aren’t something that we miss in our house, I have to admit that it was kind of nice to have a couple Daiya dairy free frozen pizzas on hand.
I received a couple of free product trial coupons for Daiya dairy free frozen pizza, and decided to give their two newest flavors a trial: Supreme Pizza and Pizza Bianca.
The Bianca was LOADED with roasted garlic – a bit too much for us, but great for warding off vampires this time of year. Aside from the garlic, it was generously coated with Daiya mozzarella shreds, had a fair amount of cooked spinach, and a small smattering of sliced mushrooms – all atop a thin crispy crust (that didn’t shout gluten-free). We liked it, but found the flavor a little underwhelming. Aside from the garlic, it was a rather mild pizza, relatively speaking. I’m also not sure how they make the cheese alternative look so stretchy in their pictures. It has a nice, gooey consistency, but I wouldn’t expect the super-stretch you get with traditional dairy cheese.
We had the Supreme late in the evening, so sorry, no picture! It looks similar to the Bianca above, but with a central smattering of more boldly colored toppings and a red rather than white sauce peaking out from beneath. The toppings were pleasant, and honestly, I don’t think either of us even noticed that the “meat” was vegan. That said, with a supreme-style pizza, I expect a smack in the face with flavor. Like the Bianca, the flavor was mellow – good, pleasant, but almost a little lackluster.
Overall, we enjoyed the Daiya dairy free frozen pizzas, devouring every last bite (don’t believe them that these little pizzas serve three!). But as Tony pointed out, “they taste like frozen pizza.” A nice top allergen-free convenience to have on hand if you can pick some up on sale, but certainly no substitute for a freshly made pie.
Certifications: Daiya Dairy Free Frozen Pizzas are Certified Vegan and Certified Gluten-Free.
Dietary Notes: By ingredients, Daiya Dairy Free Frozen Pizzas are dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, nut-free, peanut-free, soy-free, vegan / plant-based, and vegetarian. Nonetheless, check with the company on their manufacturing processes for all varieties if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. Processes and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company / product.
For More Product Information: Visit the Daiya Foods website at daiyafoods.com.