Emmy’s Chocolate Sauce: Raw, Vegan and Gluten-Free

Original Dark
$7.99 per 6-ounce jar

Reviewed by:
On November 3, 2014
Last modified:June 15, 2016


Like a thick, rich, fudgy frosting straight from the shelf-stable jar, this spread melts with ease to be drizzled atop your fruit or dessert of choosing. The consistency is rich, but the flavor is more of a semi-sweet than dark, and the sharpness of the agave overpowers the cocoa depth a bit.

Now that the demand for dairy-free chocolate bars is nearing fulfillment, we’re ready for more chocolaty indulgences without milk, cream, or butter. One of my most recent finds is Emmy’s Chocolate Sauce. It’s indulgent, yet wholesome, with just organic raw agave, organic raw cacao powder, organic vanilla bean, and himalayan crystal salt on its ingredient list.

Emmy's Chocolate Sauce - Original Dark - Raw, Dairy-Free, Gluten-Free, Vegan

Straight from the shelf-stable jar, Emmy’s Chocolate Sauce is like a thick, rich, fudgy frosting. And yes, it’s every bit as decadent as it looks.

Emmy's Chocolate Sauce - Original Dark - Raw, Dairy-Free, Gluten-Free, Vegan,

According to the label, I was sampling the Original Dark, but the flavor is much more of a semi-sweet. In fact, the sharpness of the agave nectar used to sweeten overpowers the cocoa depth a bit. I’d love it if they reduced the sweetener a smidgen (perhaps shifting it to the second ingredient) and possibly even cut it with maple syrup to mellow.

That said, the sweetness makes Emmy’s Chocolate Sauce a great option for using as a pastry filling (dairy-free chocolate croissants anyone?), adding natural sweetness to smoothies, or spreading on cupcakes or bars that could use a bright pop of flavor.

And of course, Emmy’s Chocolate Sauce melts with ease to be drizzled atop your favorite fruit or dessert. We went all out with dairy-free, gluten-free brownie sundaes!

Emmy's Chocolate Sauce - Original Dark - Raw, Dairy-Free, Gluten-Free, Vegan,

Certifications: Emmy’s Chocolate Sauce is Certified Kosher Parve and Non-GMO Verified. It is labeled as gluten-free and is made with mostly organic ingredients, but does not carry those certifications.

Dietary Notes: By ingredients, Emmy’s Chocolate Sauce is dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, grain-free, nut-free, peanut-free, soy-free, vegan / plant-based, raw, and vegetarian. Nonetheless, verify on the label and check with the company on their manufacturing processes for all varieties if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. Processes, ingredients, and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company / product.

For More Product Information: Visit the Emmy’s Organics website at www.emmysorganics.com.

About Author

Alisa is the founder of GoDairyFree.org, Senior Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.