Go Veggie Dairy-Free Parmesan Style Grated Topping

Product by:
Galaxy Nutritional Foods, Inc.
$4.49 per 4-ounce package

Reviewed by:
On January 23, 2015
Last modified:April 23, 2016


Identical in looks and pretty close in taste to its dairy counterpart, these cheesy little crumbs are a fun vegan topper for everyday meals if soy protein is on your "can eat" list. I enjoyed the taste, but found it a touch mild, getting lost atop a bowl of boldly-flavorful spaghetti. Our dairy-eating taster confirmed that this is an impressive cheese alternative, but could be just a bit more pungent.

I adore homemade dairy-free parmesan – just a few ingredients and so much flavor. But it was neat to trial out a product like Go Veggie Dairy-Free Parmesan that looks SO much like the grated Parmesan cheese in those ubiquitous Kraft canisters (product pictures updated with new 2016 packaging).

Go Veggie! Dairy-Free Parmesan Grated Topping (vegan, gluten-free)

In fact, Go Veggie Dairy-Free Parmesan is even spot on with texture and mouth feel… and pretty darn close on taste, too.

For testing cheese alternatives, I always try to enlist one or two people who can eat dairy, but have an open palate for dairy-free foods. Our dairy taster for Go Veggie Dairy-Free Parmesan agreed with me that it’s a seriously impressive cheese alternative with broad appeal and versatility. However, we both thought it was a little lacking in pungency. The flavor seemed to get lost easily when used as a topping on bold-flavored dishes, like slow-simmered spaghetti made with fresh tomatoes and olives.

Go Veggie Dairy-Free Parmesan Grated Topping (vegan, gluten-free)

I’m sure it added a little to the overall flavor, but we wanted some more punch! Fortunately, on milder dishes – like simple olive oil noodles or steamed broccoli – Go Veggie Dairy-Free Parmesan added a pleasant cheesy flavor. Though I must admit, we used a heavy hand to really coat those noodles and stalks!

Go Veggie! Dairy-Free Parmesan Grated Topping (vegan, gluten-free)Important Brand Note: Go Veggie! changes their packaging constantly! There is always great confusion over their lactose-free line, which contains dairy, and their vegan / dairy-free line. To clarify, they changed all of the vegan packaging to PURPLE packages. However, they recently changed so that all varieties are green again, but the vegan varieties have just a purple label that states “Vegan” (see the Go Veggie dairy-free parmesan image at right for an example). Please note that the the green labels with “Lactose Free” and the blue labels with “Lactose & Soy Free” are made from cow’s milk, they just have the lactose (milk sugars) removed.

Certifications: We did not note any certifications on the Go Veggie Dairy-Free Parmesan.

Dietary Notes: By ingredients, Go Veggie Dairy-Free Parmesan is dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, nut-free, peanut-free, vegan / plant-based, and vegetarian. Nonetheless, verify on the label and check with the company on their manufacturing processes for all varieties if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. Processes, ingredients, and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company / product.

For More Product Information: Visit the Go Veggie! website at www.goveggiefoods.com.

About Author

Alisa is the founder of GoDairyFree.org, Senior Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.


  1. This really fools me into thinking it is real parmesan and it even melts a little! It tastes really good and once you open it, it lasts a long time. We have made garlicky cheesy bread and put it on pasta and potatoes and such. It is one of the best cheese alternatives I have ever had!

Leave A Reply