Go Dairy Free

Go Dairy Free Cookbook - Dairy-Free Recipes, Guide and More

Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living

Moo Free Organic Dairy-Free Milk Chocolate

Posted on by Alisa Fleming in Chocolate and Candy, Product Reviews with 7 Comments
Easter Egg, Honeycomb Easter Egg
$6.49 to $14.99 or 69p to £7.99

Reviewed by:
On March 28, 2014
Last modified:September 15, 2014


Moo free’s milky formula made my entire household instant fans. It has a smooth, sweet, creamy, and almost “nutty” finish (though it is nut-free) that appeals to both kids and adults. The addition of dairy-free toffee honeycomb to their latest chocolate egg was a brilliant move.

Moo Free Chocolate is well known in the UK for their kid-friendly chocolate bars and seasonal delights, but they just came onto my radar in recent years when I had the opportunity to trial their Dairy-Free Chocolate Easter Egg.

Moo Free Chocolate - Organic Dairy-Free Milk Chocolate Easter Egg

To note, Moo Free chocolate brings some very special things to the dairy-free table:

  • Vegan “Milk” Chocolate: They use a rice powder base, so it is also one of the few milk-less “milk” chocolates that is also soy-free by ingredients (they do process soy in the same facility).
  • A Dedicated Dairy-Free Facility: All Moo Free chocolates are produced in a factory that has only ever been used to make dairy-free products (per the company’s website).
  • Organic Status: Moo Free chocolate is certified by the Organic Farmers & Growers and Vegan Society, and made with fair trade sugar and cocoa.

As for the Scrummy Organic Dairy-Free Chocolate Easter Egg, it was hollow, but jumbo in size, measuring a full 5 inches in length. Though it was made without nuts (they do process nuts in their facility), my taste buds detected a definite hazelnut vibe. I thought it was a pleasant, sweeter, and smoother alternative to dark chocolate, but with a “nuttier” and slightly less creamy flavor than traditional milk chocolate.

In 2014, Moo Free chocolate released another good egg, the Bunnycomb. Underneath that smooth shell exterior lurks an infusion of dairy-free honeycomb toffee.

Moo Free Dairy Free Milk Chocolate - Bunnycomb Easter Egg

If you look closely, you may be able to spot those generously added sweet bits of goodness embedded in the dairy-free milk chocolate. But even if you miss them on first site, you will quickly discover that delicious honeycomb when you crack the egg open.

Moo Free Dairy Free Milk Chocolate - Bunnycomb Easter Egg

Everyone in our house loved the Bunnycomb, especially the resident teenager. Okay, I admit it, I ate the lion’s share of that treat – it really is addictive!

For kids, those who might find dark chocolate too bitter, or others like me who adore all forms of cocoa, Moo Free chocolate is a cute one to add to the shopping cart – particularly around the holidays. To note, this chocolatier has been around for a few years, but their primary customer base is in the UK. However, they are gradually expanding sales into the U.S. and other countries, and can currently be bought online from U.S. retailers like Vegan Essentials.

Dietary Notes: By ingredients, Moo Free chocolate is Vegan, Vegetarian, Dairy-Free, Egg-Free, Gluten-Free, Nut-Free, Peanut-Free, Soy-Free, and Wheat-Free, but see the packaging and contact the company for allergen and manufacturing “may contain” labeling. The company does clearly note that they do process tree nuts and soy in the same facility.

For More Product Information: Visit the Moo Free chocolate website at www.moofreechocolates.com.

About Alisa Fleming

Alisa is the founder of GoDairyFree.org, Senior Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.

View all posts by Alisa Fleming →

Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living


  1. Ruth FischSeptember 18, 2012 at 7:54 pmReply

    I would like to know how to substitute the heavy cream dairy. Free for chocolate truffles.

    • Alisa FlemingSeptember 26, 2012 at 7:56 pmReplyAuthor

      Ruth, for making truffles, regular, full-fat coconut milk works as a good substitute for dairy cream.

  2. maryOctober 11, 2012 at 9:00 amReply

    are you soya free? Regards Mary

  3. Rita FoxNovember 15, 2012 at 3:06 pmReply

    I’ve come across your site trying to locate milk free recipes for my grandson. The grocery stores tend to have products that have some milk in them when you read the ingrediants. I would like to know what to use (ingrediants) to make chocolate pudding for him? He is very allergic to milk and any other beef product.

  4. Rita FoxNovember 15, 2012 at 3:13 pmReply

    I’ve also found that a lot of vegan products contain milk protein. I’m to afraid to have him try these.

    • Alisa FlemingNovember 15, 2012 at 3:18 pmReplyAuthor

      Rita, no vegan products should ever have milk protein in them. If you have spotted a product labeled specifically as “vegan” that contains milk protein, please let me know what it was and I will contact the company as that would be a serious issue!

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *