OCHO Organic Candy Bars (Vegan Flavors)

1
Version:
Coconut
Price:
$1.99 per 1.4-ounce bar

Reviewed by:
Rating:
5
On October 4, 2015
Last modified:October 2, 2015

Summary:

Like a Mounds bar, only better. Pure ingredients, no corn syrup, and most importantly, no dairy! The coconut filling is flavorful and not overly sugary, while the perfectly thick dark chocolate robe has just the right amount of bitter and sweet for a pleasant contrast.

I always check the chocolate section for deals when we’re at Whole Foods, and this weekend I couldn’t resist the “just within budget” sale price on the OCHO organic candy bars.

OCHO Organic Candy Bars (Review) - One Certified Vegan & Gluten-Free Flavor: Coconut! Perfect for curing Mounds bar cravings without dairy or questionable ingredients.

Most of the OCHO organic candy bars contain dairy, but the Coconut variety (it comes in full-size bars and minis) is vegan. As you can see below, these bars are similar to a Mounds bar – tender sweet coconut filling enrobed in a relatively thick layer of dark chocolate. However, they have greater depth of flavor thanks to the much better ingredient list: organic dark chocolate (yes, it contains soy lecithin!), organic tapioca, organic coconut, organic sugar, salt, and organic vanilla extract. Basically, you could make this dessert at home, but they probably wouldn’t look quite as pretty … at least not if I was making them.

OCHO Organic Candy Bars (Review) - One Certified Vegan & Gluten-Free Flavor: Coconut! Perfect for curing Mounds bar cravings without dairy or questionable ingredients.

Tony raved about the quality, too, stating that Mounds taste like a corn syrupy corner store convenience while these OCHO organic candy bars are a chocolate shop indulgence with pure flavors.

Certifications: OCHO Organic Candy Bars are Certified Organic, Certified Vegan, and Certified Gluten-Free.

Dietary Notes: By ingredients, OCHO Organic Candy Bars are dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, grain-free, nut-free, peanut-free, vegan / plant-based, and vegetarian. Nonetheless, check with the company on their manufacturing processes for all varieties if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. Processes, ingredients and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company / product.

For More Product Information: Visit the OCHO Candy website at www.ochocandy.com.

About Author

Alisa is the founder of GoDairyFree.org, Senior Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.