Healthy dairy-free consumers have been clamoring for a “pure” dairy-free milk beverage, and Rebel Kitchen is shouting their response with two intensely-flavored coconut mylk drinks.
From that list above, you may be wondering, “What DOES Rebel Kitchen put in their coconut mylk?” Just four, natural ingredients: filtered water, organic coconut milk (made with only coconut cream and water), organic date nectar, and organic cacao or coffee. Seriously, that’s it! No lecithin, carageenan, gums, fortifiers, or refined sweeteners – and what you see is what you taste!
Rebel Kitchen is a UK company that is expanding globally and has just launched in the U.S. with two coconut mylk flavors: Chocolate and Coffee. I thought “drinks” was the right name, as they are more refreshing and a little less creamy than most other coconut milk beverages (most likely due to the lack of emulsifiers). But what they lack in body, they make up for in drinkable taste. Each sip is rich with pure cacao or coffee with unique fruity underpinnings from the date nectar.
It’s hard for me to fully weigh in on the Coffee, since I’m not a fan of that bean, and it is java strong (Tony liked it though)! However, I can attest that the Rebel Kitchen Chocolate Coconut Mylk reminded me of a sip-worthy, good quality dark chocolate – the type that has those fruit essences from where the cacao beans are grown. The date nectar really plays off the cacao for a taste that caught me off guard at first, before melding into a strangely familiar, decadent, and comforting vibe.
Personally, I was jealous of the other Rebel Kitchen flavors that they have in the UK – Chai and Green Tea Matcha – which are both more in line with my personal taste preferences. But I think the Chocolate and Coffee do hit on two American foodie passions.
Certifications: Rebel Kitchen Coconut Mylk is Certified Organic and Certified Kosher Parve. It’s also labeled as gluten-free and vegan, but we didn’t note any certifications for these.
Dietary Notes: By ingredients, Rebel Kitchen Coconut Mylk is dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, grain-free, nut-free, peanut-free, soy-free, paleo, vegan and vegetarian. Nonetheless, check with the company on their manufacturing processes for all varieties if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. Processes, ingredients and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company / product.
For More Product Information: Visit the Rebel Kitchen website at www.rebel-kitchen.com.