Cedar’s Roasted Red Pepper Hommus


Cedar's Hommus - this hummus is offered in 22 different dairy-free vegan flavors!

I am a loyalist to Trader Joe’s when it comes to things like hummus, especially their garlic hummus.  But, once in a while a sale on another brand will cause me to momentarily stray for the sake of experimentation.  Such a thing happened when I spotted an array of Cedar’s Hommus on for a discount at my local natural food store.

After pondering the many flavors, I finally settled on the Roasted Red Pepper Hummus.  Since I had never trialed Cedar’s Hommus before, I couldn’t say if it was just my choice of flavors or the hummus itself, but this one really didn’t do it for me.

There was something very familiar about the flavor, but I couldn’t quite put my finger on it.  It was lighter and sweeter (in a natural sort of way) than traditional hummus, with a slight twang, possibly from the vinegar or citrus.  Little red pepper bits could be seen throughout the orange background, but I could not detect them in the texture. Overall, it was okay, not bad, but not addictive enough to sway me from my garlic hummus.   I should probably give Cedar’s Roasted Garlic & Chive Hommus a whirl before passing a firm judgement though.

Cedar's Hommus

Oh yes, I trialed the red pepper hommus with crackers and other bread products, with which it faired pretty well.  However, with carrots and celery, it was definitely a strange combo.

Cedar's Hommus - this hummus is offered in 22 different dairy-free vegan flavors!

Offering over 20 different flavors, there is a Cedar’s Hommus for everyone’s taste! They even have fat-free varieties for those who are watching their fat intake! I have my eye on the newer Balsamic Caramelized Onion as I heard from a friend that it’s handsdown the best hummus she has tried. I’ve also been keeping my eye out for Pineapple Jalapeno and Garlic Kale. Cedar’s definitely offers the widest range of flavors and have some of the most unique pairings.

Cedar's Hommus - this hummus is offered in 22 different dairy-free vegan flavors!

The Facts on Cedar’s Hommus

Certifications: Cedar’s Hommus is Certified Gluten Free and Non-GMO Verified.

Dietary Notes: By ingredients, Cedar’s Hummus is dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, grain-free, nut-free, peanut-free, soy-free, vegan / plant-based, vegetarian. Nonetheless, always read the ingredient statement and check with the company on their manufacturing processes for all varieties if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. Processes and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company / product.

For More Product Information: Visit the Cedar’s website at cedarsfoods.com.

About Author

Alisa is the founder of GoDairyFree.org, Senior Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.

Leave A Reply