Culver’s – They Can Hold the Butter for Dairy-Free Burgers


Eat dairy free bookUpdated 2021! Culver’s is a privately owned fast food restaurant chain that operates over 700 restaurants in 25 U.S. states, with a heavy concentration in the Midwest.

They’re known for “Butterburgers” and frozen custard. But Culver’s does have a handful of dairy-free meals, and they can actually make your “Butterburger” sans butter! In fact, most of their savory menu items can be ordered without dairy. They also offer Udi’s buns, so you can customize some dairy-free and gluten-free items.

Culver's Dairy-Free Menu Guide with Allergen Notes

No Dairy (Milk-Based) Ingredients at Culver’s (see disclaimer below)

Menu Items

  • Burgers (see Allergen Notes) – The Original ButterBurger (no butter), Bacon ButterBurger (no cheese, no butter), Mushroom ButterBurger (no cheese, no butter)
  • Chicken (see Allergen Notes) – Buffalo Chicken Tenders, Original Chicken Tenders, Grilled Chicken Sandwich (no butter)
  • Sandwiches – Beef Pot Roast Sandwich, Grilled Reuben (no butter, no cheese)
  • Dinners (see Allergen Notes) – Butterfly Jumbo Shrimp Basket, Butterfly Jumbo Shrimp Dinner (no butter), Chopped Steak Dinner (no butter), Beef Pot Roast Dinner (no butter)
  • Soup – Chicken Noodle Soup, George’s Chili, Stuffed Green Pepper Soup, Vegetable Beef Soup
  • Salad – Cranberry Bacon Grilled Chicken Salad (no cheese), Chicken Cashew Salad
  • Kids (see Allergen Notes) – Buffalo Chicken Tenders, Original Chicken Tenders, Applesauce
  • Sides – Crinkle Cut Fries (see Allergen Notes) , Coleslaw, Dinner Roll, Steamed Broccoli, Applesauce

Components to Help Customize Your Order

  • Bread (UNBUTTERED, see Allergen Note below) – Udi’s Gluten-Free Bun, Hamburger Bun, Split Top Bun, Rye Bread, Sourdough Bread, Hoagie Bun
  • Condiments – Bacon, BBQ Sauce, Gravy, Grilled Onions, Horseradish Sauce, Ketchup, Mayonnaise Packet, Picante Sauce (mild and medium), Sauteed Mushrooms, Shrimp Cocktail Sauce, Spicy Brown Mustard, Steak Sauce, Sweet & Sour Dipping Sauce, Tartar Sauce, Yellow Mustard
  • Salad Dressings – French Dressing, Honey Mustard Dressing, Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Other Allergen Notes for Culver’s

  • Many of their Sundae Toppings are dairy-free, including the Brownie Pieces, but the sundaes themselves are made with dairy ice cream.
  • The Hamburger Buns and Bread can be ordered without butter and not toasted. According to the ingredients and confirmation with a Culver’s representative, they are all made without milk, but there is cross-contact with butter on the toaster and grill.
  • Culver’s does use a shared fryer, and they note possible cross-contact for milk with the Chicken Tenders, Butterfly Shrimp, and French Fries.
  • All Salads at Culver’s can be ordered dairy-free without croutons, without cheese, and with a dairy-free salad dressing.
  • Their Veggie Burger Patty and Crispy Chicken Fillets contain milk.

Culver's Dairy-Free Menu Guide with Allergen Notes

More Details from Culver’s

Allergen Disclaimer from Culver’s: Culver’s restaurants contain common allergens and our dishes are prepared to order; however, normal kitchen operations involve shared cooking and preparation areas and we cannot guarantee any menu item will be free of allergens. Items cooked in the fryers may come into contact with egg, milk, wheat/gluten, soy, fish and shrimp. Culver’s ground beef is 100% beef, and it is cooked on a grill with bread. Breads and buns are baked in facilities that handle sesame seeds. Common allergens are present in custard toppings and cross-contact with other allergens may occur in the custard preparation and mixing area.

Restaurant Website:

Allergen Information:

* The above information was supplied by the corresponding restaurant via their website, customer service, or other published nutritional information.  Ingredients and menu offerings are constantly changing in the food service industry, and can be subject to interpretation.  For this reason, Go Dairy Free does not guarantee nor take responsibility for the accuracy of this information.  If severe allergies or intolerances are a concern, contact the restaurant directly before purchasing or consuming one of their products.  Cross-contamination of potential food allergens should always be considered a possibility in a fast food restaurant.

Last Updated: February 13, 2021

Average Reader Review

Rated 5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (based on 1 review)
Very good0%

Rate Your Dairy-Free Experience with this Restaurant

What Others Are Saying ...

Dairy free

Rated 5 out of 5
December 13, 2021

So many great options and easy to read guide for dairy free options. It’s so nice to know that chicken tenders are not dipped into a milk based batter!! And so easy to tell the staff not to butter or grill the breads. Thank you for serving bread that is not milk based.

Avatar for Sarah Chavka Flynn
Sarah Chavka Flynn

About Author

Alisa is the founder of, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.


  1. Culver’s butters the bun before they toast. So ask for not toasted or buttered since the toaster will probably have residual butter on it.

  2. the dairy is on their buns, though i do not know the ingredients in the actual bun. I get the chicken tenders, fries and a gluten free bun which is individually wrapped and dairy free. I am not a gluten free fan but the buns are soft and good. Also, when i have ordered a hamburger and said no butter on the bun they ask,”is this a dairy allergy?” and i say yes and they have a special button they push to add the warning on my order and to alert the cooks. I am really impressed by that. so be sure to tell them. they also have lemon ice and i often get just a bowl of their strawberries for dessert which are delicious. the brownie bites are also dairy free.

  3. The burgers at Culvers are called BUTTERburgers. That’s where the dairy comes in. 🙂

    • Hi Sara, it looks like the fries are too now, which is great! If you are dealing with a severe milk allergy though, you should still always double check at the location and ensure that they aren’t using shared fryers that may cook products with dairy ingredients, too.