Arby’s – They Have the Meats for Dairy-Free Sandwiches


Eat Dairy Free - Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and SweetsUpdated 2021! Arby’s is the second largest sandwich chain in the U.S. with thousands of restaurants and additional locations in Canada and the Middle East. We appreciate not only how many dairy-free options they have, but also how thorough and consistent their ingredient and allergen information is. Many of the sandwiches at Arby’s come with cheese. But you can custom order a dairy-free sandwich by omitting the cheese and using the lists below. The lists below are for the U.S. Arby’s restaurants, but we’ve included a link to the Canadian Arby’s allergen information further down in this post.

Arby's Dairy-Free Menu Guide with custom order information and allergen notes

No Dairy (Milk-Based) Ingredients (see disclaimer below)

Menu Items

  • Limited Time SandwichesCrispy Fish Sandwich (see Allergen Notes)
  • Signature Sandwiches – Loaded Italian (no cheese), Reuben (no cheese)
  • Roast Beef Sandwiches – Roast Beef (Classic, Double, and Half Pound) Roast Beef, Beef ‘n Cheddar (no cheese; Classic, Double, and Half Pound), Super Roast Beef, Arby-Q, Classic French Dip (no cheese)
  • Turkey Sandwiches – Roast Turkey & Swiss (no cheese)
  • Chicken Sandwiches – Classic Roast Chicken, Roast Chicken Bacon (no cheese)
  • Wraps – Roast Chicken Club (no cheese), Jalapeño Bacon Roast Chicken (no ranch sauce), Creamy Mediterranean Roast Chicken (no gyro sauce), Turkey Wrap (no Swiss cheese)
  • Sliders – Turkey (no cheese), Roast Beef (no cheese), Ham (no cheese), Roast Beef Jalapeno (no cheese), Chicken (no cheese; see Allergen Notes)
  • Chicken – Chicken Tenders (see Allergen Notes), Premium Chicken Nuggets (see Allergen Notes)
  • Salads – Roast Chicken (no cheese), Crispy Chicken (no cheese; see Allergen Notes), Side Salad (no cheese)
  • Sides – Crinkle Fries (see Allergen Notes), Curly Fries (see Allergen Notes), Homestyle Fries (see Allergen Notes), Potato Cakes (see Allergen Note below), Tree Top Applesauce
  • Sauces – Arby’s Sauce, Bronco Berry Sauce, Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce, Horsey Sauce, Ketchup, Marinara Sauce, Spicy Three Pepper Sauce, Tangy Barbeque Dipping Sauce
  • Salad Dressings – Balsamic Vinaigrette, Dijon Honey Mustard, Light Italian, Red Wine Vinaigrette
  • Breakfast – Breakfast Bacon, French Toast Sticks (see Allergen Notes)
  • Dessert – Apple Turnover, Cherry Turnover (In Canada, the turnovers contain milk)

Components to Help Customize Your Order

  • Meat Arby-Q, Chicken Breast Strip (see Allergen Notes), Corned Beef, Crispy Fish Fillet (see Allergen Notes), Genoa Salami, Gyro Meat, Pepper Bacon, Pepperoni,  Pit Smoked Ham, Roast Beef, Roast Chicken Breast, Roast Turkey, Smoked Brisket
  • Bread – Artisan Wrap, Hearty Grain Wrap, Honey Wheat Bread, Marble Rye Bread, Onion Roll, Sesame Seed Bun, Sourdough Breakfast Bread, Split Top Bun, Star Cut Bun, Sub Roll
  • Sandwich Sauces & Seasonings – Arby’s Sauce, Au Jus, Bronco Berry Sauce, Dijon Honey Mustard Sandwich Sauce, Gyro Seasoning (not the sauce), Horsey Sauce, Ketchup, Marinara Sauce (not Robust), Mayonnaise, Mild Creamy Dijon, Red Ranch Sauce, Roasted Garlic Aioli, Smoky Q Sauce, Spicy Brown Honey Mustard Sauce, Spicy Three Pepper Sauce, Tangy Barbeque Sauce, Tartar Sauce, Thousand Island Spread
  • Other Sandwich Toppings – Banana Peppers, Jalapeno Peppers, Red Onions, Red & Yellow Peppers, Sauerkraut

Other Allergen Notes

  • On the allergen chart, Arby’s lists the Crispy Fish Sandwich as containing milk, but on their ingredient details, all components are dairy-free and do not contain milk allergen. We did confirm that it is dairy-free, but it appears the allergen chart is still incorrect. It is likely a mix-up, since this fillet is cooked in a shared fryer. It should have their fryer warning instead.
  • Arby’s states that a common fryer is used, so there is potential allergen cross-contamination with the fried items. They use soybean, corn, and canola oils for their fry oil.
  • Some of the breads and proteins at Arby’s do unexpectedly contain milk, like the flatbread, sausage patty, and eggs. So do use some caution in ordering. It isn’t always as simple as no cheese! Use the above lists for guidance and then verify before ordering.
  • A reader expressed concern that Arby’s butters their buns. They do not use dairy butter as standard practice on their sandwich bread. It’s always possible, with any chain, that a franchise owner opts to “butter the bread” with a dairy butter or dairy-free margarine. Always check at the location if they do this, and if so, what the ingredients are.
  • Many of the menu items are different in Canada and are even sourced differently. See the Canadian allergen link for Arby’s below.

Arby's - Dairy-Free Menu Items and Allergen Notes

More Details from Arby’s

Allergen Disclaimer from Arby’s: Variations may occur due to differences in suppliers, ingredient substitutions, recipe revisions, product assembly at the restaurant level, and/or season of the year. Certain menu items may not be available at all locations. Federal regulations have identified 8 major food allergens: milk, eggs, wheat, soybeans, peanuts, tree nuts, fish, and crustacean shellfish. For your convenience, menu items and ingredients that contain these major allergens have been indicated. Foods cooked in common oil have also been indicated as possible allergens.

Restaurant Website:

*The above information was supplied by the corresponding restaurant via their website, customer service, or other published nutritional information.  Ingredients and menu offerings are constantly changing in the food service industry, and can be subject to interpretation.  For this reason, Go Dairy Free does not guarantee nor take responsibility for the accuracy of this information.  If severe allergies or intolerances are a concern, contact the restaurant directly before purchasing or consuming one of their products.  Cross-contamination of potential food allergens should always be considered a possibility in a fast food restaurant.

Last Updated: February 13, 2021

Average Reader Review

Rated 3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5 stars (based on 4 reviews)
Very good50%

Rate Your Dairy-Free Experience with this Restaurant

What Others Are Saying ...

Chicken sandwich

Rated 5 out of 5
July 30, 2021

Just wondering if the classic chicken sandwich is different than the crispy chicken sandwich. Our local Arby’s only ha the crispy chicken on menu and that is listed as containing milk via the Arby’s allergen chart. Hoping this is incorrect because I would love if the crispy chicken were truly dairy free!


Response from Go Dairy Free

The crispy chicken sandwich contains milk. The sandwich listed above is the “Classic Roast Chicken” – it’s roasted chicken, not fried.


Rated 4 out of 5
July 16, 2020

When was your page last updated bc they have changed their allergen menu and its shows all sandwiches classic roast beef no cheese with dairy. Can you help me make sense of this?


Response from Go Dairy Free

I helped Chelsea via email. Our list above is correct. She realized she was getting that information from a blog that doesn’t do updates and was linking to an old allergen menu. We update whenever changes are known, or annually, whichever comes first. There is a last updated date at the bottom of each of our fast food listings for reference. Enjoy!

Follow the Arby’s info

Rated 4 out of 5
April 29, 2020

The turnovers Apple and cherry contain milk according to the Arby’s allergen info page!


Response from Go Dairy Free

No they don’t. We’ve triple-checked both the ingredient info and the allergen chary – no milk. Not sure where you are seeing this.

Separate your food

Rated 1 out of 5
March 26, 2020

I have deadly allergies. To the top 8. Meanwhile you separate nothing. And don’t accommodate for your guest.

Nicole Foss

About Author

Alisa is the founder of, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.


  1. It looks like their chicken salad sandwich contains wheat, eggs, and nuts but no dairy. The flatbread has dairy in it though, so if I try I it I’ll get the regular bread 🙂 I’ve eaten there loads of times and if you specify no dairy they are good about that.

  2. Checking the link the roast beef sandwich uses the seaseme seed bun, and looking at that it does not appear to contain MIlk, can someone verify this.

    • I have eaten at Arby’s twice in the last 6 months. Both times my child has gotten sick from dairy. We ordered the roast beef sandwich and potatoes cakes. I am thinking it is the potatoes because they are fried in oil with milk products. This has not been an issue at other restaurants, but clearly there is something in one of the two products. Beware if you are extremely sensitive.

  3. Seems we need to somehow get the idea across that just labeling every menu item on an Allergen sheet with simple MFSW isn’t really helping. Most menu items are an assembly of discrete parts (burger=patty,condiments,vegetables, bun) and if we know the allergens of those parts, we can figure out if a particular menu item is ok to eat. Depending on your issues, many times, removing one or two parts resolves the problem. Most places are happy to do that. Makes ordering a pain, but works for the most part. Does the fish patty in an Arby’s fish sandwich have milk in the breading? Which buns or wraps lack dairy? Inquiring minds want to know…

  4. Arbys roast beef buns have milk. but their star buns and sub buns do not according to their web site.

  5. The newer turkey sandwiches are dairy free too, well without cheese or certain condiments of course. Yay!

  6. Stephanie Wolfe on

    The majority of Margarine does contain dairy ingredients and should be avoided depending on the severity of your sensitivity or allergy. I personally have to avoid all dairy ingredients but some may be okay with the dairy parts in margarine.

  7. alicia mccleese on

    According to Arby’s website, the cherry turnovers contain milk. I looked through the ingredients and the only dairy item I came across was margarine but in parenthesis nothing says milk or whey