Chick-fil-A

38

Eat Dairy Free - Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and SweetsUpdated 2019! Chick-fil-A is an American fast food chain that specializes in chicken sandwiches, and has more than 2000 restaurants in the U.S. But oddly enough, their most popular menu item is their waffle fries, which happen to be dairy free!

Please note that for religious reasons, all Chick-fil-A restaurants are closed on Sundays and on Thanksgiving and Christmas.

Chick-fil-A - Dairy-Free Menu Items and Allergen Notes

No Dairy (Milk-Based) Ingredients (see disclaimer below)

  • Breakfast – Hashbrowns, Fruit Cup, English Muffin
  • Chicken – Grilled Chicken Sandwich, Grilled Nuggets, Grilled Chicken Club without cheese, Grilled Cool Wrap without Cheese
  • Sandwich Toppings – Bacon, Lettuce, Tomato Pickles, Brown Sugar and Pepper Bacon
  • Bread – Gluten-Free Bun, White Bun, Multigrain Brioche Bun, Butter on Bun (not real butter), Flaxseed Flatbread
  • Proteins – Grilled Breakfast Filet, Bacon, Sausage, Grilled Filet
  • Sides – Waffle Potato Fries, Fruit Cup, Superfood Side, Salad without cheese, Buddy’s Apple Sauce, Waffle Potato Chips, Saltines
  • Sauces – Barbecue, Chick-fil-A, Polynesian, Honey Mustard, Honey Roasted BBQ, Sweet & Spicy Sriracha
  • Salads – Market Salad without cheese, Side Salad without cheese
  • Salad Dressings – Light Italian, Light Balsamic Vinaigrette, Fat Free Honey Mustard, Zesty Apple Cider Vinaigrette, Creamy Salsa
  • Salad Toppings – Apples, Bacon Crumbles, Black Beans and Corn, Blueberries, Chili-Lime Pepitas, Chopped Egg, Crispy Bell Peppers, Grape Tomatoes, Harvest Nut Granola, Roasted Corn, Roasted Nut Blend

Other Allergen Notes: Their gluten-free bun is currently free of dairy, nuts, and soy, but it does contain eggs. Chick-fil-A uses peanut oil in their fryer. According to Samantha, a Chick-fil-a employee:

The fryers used for chicken are only used for chicken meaning that the fries and hashbrowns are cooked separately from dairy containing products.

But of course, check at the restaurant to ensure your location practices this and that the food is safe for your needs.

More Details from Chick-fil-A

Allergen Disclaimer from Chick-fil-A: Due to the handcrafted nature of our food, variations in our supplier ingredients, and our use of shared cooking and preparation areas, we cannot ensure that our food is free from any allergens. We prepare our foods following procedures to prevent allergen cross-contact, but products containing wheat, egg, soy and milk are all made in our kitchens. There could be other potential allergens not addressed here. Please consult the ingredients on each product prior to consuming.

Restaurant Website: www.chick-fil-a.com

Allergen Information: www.chick-fil-a.com/nutrition-allergens

* The above information was supplied by the corresponding restaurant via their website, customer service, or other published nutritional information.  Ingredients and menu offerings are constantly changing in the food service industry, and can be subject to interpretation.  For this reason, Go Dairy Free does not guarantee nor take responsibility for the accuracy of this information.  If severe allergies or intolerances are a concern, contact the restaurant directly before purchasing or consuming one of their products.  Cross-contamination of potential food allergens should always be considered a possibility in a fast food restaurant.

Last Updated: September 4, 2019

About Author

Alisa is the founder of GoDairyFree.org, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.

38 Comments

  1. I just went to Chick-fil-a today and noticed that they have their grilled chicken sandwich now on a brioche bun. When I asked, it does indeed contain milk now. I’m so disappointed because that takes down what meal I can order unaltered to one–the grilled nuggets.

    • Hi Ginger, good news – it looks like the grilled chicken sandwich is still dairy-free and the multigrain brioche bun is dairy-free! I just updated this page with their current allergen and ingredient information. The brioche bun isn’t made with butter like classic ones.

Leave A Reply