Hardee’s & Red Burrito – One Stop for Dairy-Free Burgers & Burritos


Eat Dairy Free - Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets Updated 2020! Hardee’s is the Southern and Midwestern United States  cousin of Carl’s Junior. They are owned by the same company, and sport a similar look and menu, but have some regional differences.

In recent years, they’ve added Red Burrito to many Hardee’s locations. It is a spin-off from Green Burrito, which is found in many Carl’s Junior locations. We’ve added Red Burrito options to the list below.

Hardee's & Red Burrito - Dairy-Free Menu Items and Allergen Notes

No Dairy (Milk-Based) Ingredients (see disclaimer below)

Menu Items (no dairy as is or with no cheese, as noted)

  • Breakfast Items – Fresco Breakfast Sandwich (no cheese), Hash Rounds, Grits
  • Burgers – Small Hamburger, Frisco Thickburger (no cheese), Lettuce Wrap Low Carb Thickburger (no cheese)
  • Other Sandwiches – Jumbo Chili Dog, Lettuce Wrap Low Carb Charbroiled Chicken Sandwich (no cheese)
  • Kids – Hamburger Kids Meal, Hot Dog Kids Meal
  • Sides – Natural-Cut Fries, Crispy Curls, Green Beans (regional), Cole Slaw (regional)
  • Dipping Sauces – Barbeque,  Buffalo, Honey Mustard Dipping Cup
  • Red Burrito Mains – Beef Grilled Burrito (no cheese), Chicken Grilled Burrito (no cheese), Beef Hard Taco (no cheese), Beef Soft Taco (no cheese), Chicken Soft Taco (no cheese)
  • Red Burrito Sides – Chips & Salsa, Mexican Rice, Refried Beans

Components & Ingredients (to help customize dairy-free menu items)

  • Bread – Sourdough Bread, Flour Tortilla
  • Proteins – Angus Patty, Applewood Smoked Bacon, Beef Patty, Beef Steak Fritter, Big Chicken Filet, Charbroiled Chicken, Country Ham, Eggs, Pork Sausage Patty, Roast Beef, Sliced Ham, Smoked Sausage
  • Toppings – Tomato Slices, Lettuce, Dill Pickle Chips, Red Onions, Diced Yellow Onions
  • Condiments – Mushroom Sauce, Barbeque Sauce, Fat Free Italian Salad Dressing, Honey, Horseradish, Hot Sauce, Strawberry Jam, Grape Jelly, Ketchup, Lemon Juice, Mayonnaise, Mustard, Picante Sauce, Tartar Sauce, Texas Pete Hot Sauce, Liquid Margarine

Other Allergen Notes

  • Hardee’s uses a “Whirl” on their buns that contains milk. I’m not sure if you can hold the Whirl, or if it is a done deal. It isn’t clear from the information provided. Ask in store.
  • Several of the burgers can be made dairy-free with a lettuce wrap, no cheese, and other swaps as needed. The Lettuce Wrap Thickburger option noted above is also gluten-free, but the Charbroiled Chicken does contain wheat.
  • Most of the Red Burrito ingredients are dairy free, so you just have to hold the cheese and sour cream.
  • Red Burrito states that their white corn taco shell contains wheat, but we didn’t see any ingredients that resembled gluten or wheat. Inquire directly if you would like more information on this.
  • Hardee’s serves fried chicken in select regions, but it does contain dairy.

More Details from Hardee’s

Allergen Disclaimer from Hardee’s: Variations may occur due to a variety of factors and circumstances including, but not limited to, differences in suppliers, ingredient substitutions, recipe revisions, product assembly and seasonal variances. Product participation may vary by location and test products are not included. We do not have an allergen free cooking environment in our kitchens. All products are prepared in the same kitchen area.

Restaurant Website: www.hardees.com

Allergen Information: www.hardees.com/menu

*The above information was supplied by the corresponding restaurant via their website, customer service, or other published nutritional information.  Ingredients and menu offerings are constantly changing in the food service industry, and can be subject to interpretation.  For this reason, Go Dairy Free does not guarantee nor take responsibility for the accuracy of this information.  If severe allergies or intolerances are a concern, contact the restaurant directly before purchasing or consuming one of their products.  Cross-contamination of potential food allergens should always be considered a possibility in a fast food restaurant.  

Last Updated: January 5, 2020

Average Reader Review

Rated 4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (based on 1 review)
Very good100%

Rate Your Dairy-Free Experience with this Restaurant

What Others Are Saying ...


Rated 4 out of 5
November 10, 2020

They put butter on the frisco burger bread! Ask for no butter.

Avatar for Sara

About Author

Alisa is the founder of GoDairyFree.org, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.


  1. Ok, I checked on their ingredient listing and found Turkey Burger, looks good on Wheat bun. Curley fries also look ok, with no milk in them. Must have checked the wrong box on the Allergen list. Thanks again!

  2. Thank you for your research! I looked at the Hardee’s link listed above to see if I could get an ingredients listing for the Turkey Burger, but couldn’t find it; will check somewhere else. But did notice that they have Curley fries checked for having milk in them in their allergen list. Might consider removing from “No dairy” category. thanks!