Papa John’s – Dairy-Free Pizzas & Wings Tossed to Order


Updated January 2022! Papa John’s is one of the largest pizza chains in North America, and they’re actually a trendsetter for vegan options in the U.K. Their dairy-free and vegan menu items aren’t as prolific in the U.S. and Canada, but they still have a good selection of custom order cheese-less pizza options, sides, and sauces to nosh on. We’ve detailed them all below in our very complete, but quick menu guide.

Papa John's Dairy-Free Menu Guide with Allergen & Vegan Notes - Quick Guide includes Custom Order Options!

Papa John’s Dairy-Free Menu Guide with Allergen & Vegan Notes

Allergen & Vegan Notes: All of the items listed below are vegan-friendly, except for the meats. We have labeled items containing eggs, nuts, soy, and wheat below. Papa John’s is known for being special diet friendly and most locations will show you the label information on request. Let them know if you are dealing with an allergy in advance as they do have protocols.


  • Original Hand Tossed Dough (contains soy, wheat)

Heads Up! The Thin Crust and Gluten-Free Crust at Papa John’s do contain milk. According to the company, the pan oil they use for their pizzas is dairy-free, but always check at your location. The limited time NY Style Crust is reportedly made with their Original Hand Tossed Dough.


  • Pizza Sauce
  • BBQ Sauce (tree nut facility warning)

Heads Up! Naturally, the Ranch and Alfredo Sauces do contain milk.

Protein Toppings

  • Anchovies
  • Bacon
  • Beef
  • Canadian Bacon
  • Grilled Chicken
  • Italian Sausage
  • Pepperoni
  • Philly Steak
  • Salami
  • Sausage

Heads Up! The Meatballs at Papa John’s do contain milk.

Produce Toppings

  • Banana Peppers
  • Black Olives
  • Green Olives
  • Green Peppers*
  • Mushrooms*
  • Onion*
  • Pineapple
  • Sliced Jalapenos
  • Spinach*
  • Tomatoes*

* These items have an allergen warning, “May be stored in a facility that also stores other allergens.”


  • Original Breadsticks
  • Unsauced Roasted Wings (contains sesame)
  • BBQ Wings (contains sesame; tree nut facility warning)
  • Buffalo Wings (contains sesame; tree nut facility warning)
  • Honey Chipotle Wings (contains sesame; tree nut facility warning)

Heads Up! The Chicken Poppers, Garlic Knots, and Cinnamon Pull Aparts at Papa John’s do contain milk and reportedly cannot be ordered dairy-free.

Sauces & Seasonings

  • Barbeque Dipping Sauce (tree nut facility warning)
  • Buffalo Dipping Sauce (tree nut facility warning)
  • Garlic Dipping Sauce
  • Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce (contains egg; tree nut facility warning)
  • Pizza Dipping Sauce
  • Spicy Garlic Dipping Sauce (contains soy)
  • Special Seasoning Packet (contains wheat)

Heads Up! The Ranch and of course the cheesy sauces contain milk.

Vegan Menu Items in the UK

Papa John’s UK is on the forefront of catering to vegan diners. They offer dairy-free Sheese cheese alternatives, and have several vegan pizzas right on the menu. They also serve Vegan Sheese & Marmite Scrolls, Cauli Wings, Vegan Sheese Potato Tots, and Ben & Jerry’s Non-Dairy Ice Cream. But use caution and reference their allergen chart. Some other items, like the Italian Seasoning, contain dairy at the UK Papa John’s restaurants.

This Post is for Informational Purposes Only

Menus, ingredients, kitchen procedures, management, food sourcing, and restaurant protocols are subject to change at any time. Always read the menu and discuss your dietary needs with the staff before ordering. Make sure they can accommodate your situation. This post is for informational purposes only, and should not be construed as advice.

There is always a risk for potential cross-contamination of allergens in any commercial kitchen. If cross-contamination is an issue for you, always speak with the manager to ensure that your meal can be safely prepared. Listings here do not guarantee that a restaurant is safe enough for your individual needs. Only you can make that decision.

Each location of a chain restaurant has different management and staff, and some might have different owners. This means differences in processes, ingredients used, menu options, and food sourcing can occur. Always verify the safety of your order for your needs at your current location.

Papa John's Dairy-Free Menu Guide with Allergen & Vegan Notes - Quick Guide includes Custom Order Options!Angela R. was kind enough to share this photo of her dairy-free Papa John’s order.

Where to Find Papa John’s

There are over 3000 Papa John’s in the U.S., but over 5000 locations worldwide. See the websites below for addresses, hours, and online ordering in the U.S. and U.K.

Website: (U.S.) and (U.K.)

Average Reader Review

Rated 5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (based on 2 reviews)
Very good0%

Rate Your Dairy-Free Experience with this Restaurant

What Others Are Saying ...

Great customer care

Rated 5 out of 5
January 24, 2022

I love how they label the pizza and even used a clean cutter on my order too when I mentioned a milk allergy

Avatar for Jess


Rated 5 out of 5
October 17, 2020

Great to hear that papa Johns has gone dairy free to some extent. Now I can have Papa Johns again!

Avatar for Paul WSammarco.
Paul WSammarco.

For More Dairy-Free Guidance, Get Go Dairy Free!

Go Dairy Free 2nd Edition - The Ultimate Guide and Cookbook for Dairy-Free Living with Over 250 Recipes!

About Author

Alisa is the founder of, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.


  1. Papa Johns is my go to for pizza- minus the cheese. I will typically have a strong reaction to any dairy- lactose and dairy proteins. We always mention the dairy allergy and ask for a “clean cut”. Have not had an issue yet.

  2. According to Papa johns allergy info the sausage and pepperoni both contain milk. But the spicy Italian sausage does not.

    • Thank you, it looks like they did another revision! It’s hard to keep up with the fast food supplier changes. I will give the whole thing an edit just to make sure nothing else has changed.

  3. Just FYI, I have a dairy allergy, and two seperate times in two different states I ordered Papa John’s pizza without cheese and I have had an incredibly strong reaction (the second time I thought that maybe the first time I orsered was a fluke due to cross contamination with my order vs my husband’s cheese version).

    There may be some milk protein in the crust or the sauce perhaps? Either way, it is not listed correctly.

    I do not have any issues with most other pizza companies when I order similarly.

  4. on the website.. Papa John’s does have an option on custom pizzas where you can add NO CHEESE. 😀 Still no dairy free yet though.

  5. I just enjoyed a cheese-less veggie pizza from Papa John’s. It was delicious with BBQ sauce instead of pizza sauce (just for a change). It was no problem to order it, though I did say “no dairy” a couple of times because I wanted to be sure it would not have cheese.

  6. I just noticed on papa john site, when I looked on the dessert menus on my phone.. I saw that the double chocolate chip brownies lists as no dairy. It only says “soy, wheat and egg”.. I wander if it’s an error or if it’s true because it would be awesome if it’s dairy-free.

  7. Stephanie Jensen on

    I had a decent experience with this restaurant. It often depends on location. They were able to make a cheeseless pizza for me. My husband made the order. He may have even said dairy free. While I am relatively concerned about trace allergens, good enough can be okay at a restaurant.

  8. Good info I appreciate that – I’ve been to some restaurants which are the same – refused to serve us for fear of being liable. I’m about to call Papa Johns and ask for a cheeseless pizza rather than dairy free – fingers crossed it’ll go ok!

  9. I called Papa Johns tonight to order a pizza. When I asked them to make it without cheese, he quickly asked me if it was for an allergy. When I said yes, he said they could not make the pizza without cheese because they didn’t want to be liable. He told me they weren’t allowed to made a cheese-less pizza and they “just didn’t do that”. They were pretty rude about it. I told him, Okay… I just don’t like cheese. He begrudgingly took my order. Very frustrating!