Papa Murphy’s – Makes Minimalist Dairy-Free Pizzas

7

Eat Dairy Free - Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and SweetsUpdated 2021! Papa Murphy’s offers take-and-bake pizzas in the U.S. and Canada. They have a menu of creative pizzas, but many people just show up and request toppings as they go. In theory, this makes it a very easy option for special diet diners. But of course, there is a lot of wheat and dairy flying at every Papa Murphy’s!

You will notice they don’t have dairy-free cheese alternative on their permanent menu, yet. But Papa Murphy’s has been test marketing dairy-free cheese and vegan pepperoni in certain Midwest cities in the U.S. Keep your eyes open, as it might make a sudden appearance at your local shop! If they don’t have it, you can order cheeseless with some guidance from the information below.

Papa Murphy's Dairy-Free Menu Guide with Custom Order Notes and Vegan Options

No Dairy (Milk-Based) Ingredients (see disclaimer below)

To the best of our knowledge, this information covers both the U.S. and Canada.

  • Crusts (see Allergen Note below) – Original, Thin, Gluten Free (Udi’s brand)
  • Pizza Sauces (see Allergen Note below) – Traditional Pizza Sauce, Olive Oil & Garlic, BBQ Sauce (KC Masterpiece), Sweet Chili Sauce, Salsa
  • Meat Toppings (see Allergen Note below) – Anchovies, Canadian Bacon, Crispy Bacon, Chicken, Ground Beef, Italian Sausage, Ground Sausage, Giant Pepperoni, Pepperoni, Small Cup Pepperoni
  • Other Toppings Artichoke Hearts, Banana Peppers, Black Olives, Chopped Garlic, Crushed Chili Pepper Flakes, Green Chili, Green Olives, Green Onions, Green Peppers, Jalapenos, Onion Mix, Mushrooms, Pineapple, Roma Tomatoes, Spinach, Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Zesty Herb Blend, Zucchini
  • Dipping Sauces – Marinara
  • Salad Dressings – 1000 Island Dressing

Other Allergen Notes:

  • Papa Murphy’s customer service told me that none of their meats contain dairy, but online the ingredients show milk in the Salami. Just to be certain, I am double checking that the lactic acid starter culture in the Pepperoni isn’t dairy derived.
  • You can special order their Cheesy Bread with no cheese and no garlic spread, but their Garlic & Olive Oil Sauce brushed on instead. It comes with the Marinara Sauce.
  • Salads have to be custom ordered with no cheese, no croutons, and with the 1000 Island Dressing. All other dressings, including the Balsamic Vinaigrette and Italian Dressing do contain milk.

Vegan Menu Items

According to Papa Murphy’s, all of their wheat-based crusts are vegan (we’re double checking on the Pan Crust). The Udi’s gluten-free crust contains egg, so it isn’t vegan. Also, all of their sauces are vegan, except for the White Sauce, which contains dairy. They do not have any meat alternative toppings, but their vegetable toppings are obviously vegan-friendly.

Papa Murphy's Dairy-Free Menu Guide with Custom Order Notes and Vegan Options

More Details from Papa Murphy’s

Allergen Disclaimer from Papa Murphy’s: The nutrition and ingredient information provided is based on Papa Murphy’s standard product formulations using the latest nutritional data available from the USDA as well as current information supplied by our ingredient vendor partners; however, variations may occur depending on the particular supplier, product assembly per restaurant, region and other factors. Menu items may vary by restaurant. Substitution of ingredients/standard topping combinations may alter nutrition values. Product formulations may change periodically. Please be aware that during normal operations ingredients may come in direct contact with shared preparation areas, equipment, utensils, and instances of contact with allergen containing ingredients.

Restaurant Website: www.papamurphys.com

Allergen Informationwww.papamurphys.com/nutrition

*The above information was supplied by the corresponding restaurant via their website, customer service, or other published nutritional information.  Ingredients and menu offerings are constantly changing in the food service industry, and can be subject to interpretation.  For this reason, Go Dairy Free does not guarantee nor take responsibility for the accuracy of this information.  If severe allergies or intolerances are a concern, contact the restaurant directly before purchasing or consuming one of their products.  Cross-contamination of potential food allergens should always be considered a possibility in a fast food restaurant. 

Last Updated: February 18, 2021

Average Reader Review

5
Rated 5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (based on 1 review)
Excellent100%
Very good0%
Average0%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

Rate Your Dairy-Free Experience with this Restaurant

What Others Are Saying ...

Vegan pizza is life!

Rated 5 out of 5
April 14, 2020

So I ordered a 16″ traditional crust w red sauce, banana peppers, mushrooms, bell peppers, onion and spinach. $14.12 out the door. Brought it home and added green and black olives, soyrizo(vegan chorizo) and daiya mozz cheeze! Pizza heaven! Makes 8 bigass slices!

Dave Mclish

About Author

Alisa is the founder of GoDairyFree.org, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.

7 Comments

  1. Mark Carter II on

    Ugh! Why can’t i find the actual ingredients. I am allergic to corn and no one labels corn ingredients. :/ without the ingredient lists I have no clue if the pizza is safe.

  2. Ann-Noel Spencer on

    I would still be careful with pepperoni…even though it’s “dairy-free,” it still might contain lactic acid. It’s used as a preservative in a lot of cured meats. So, for those like me who are lactose intolerant, pepperoni is still a no-no. But, if you are allergic to the milk protien, you should be okay…

  3. Will you ever be offering a gluten free crust for your customers who have celiac disease or a wheat/gluten allergy? Thank you!

  4. shirley wagner on

    My family is alergic nto M S G, Does your sauce contain any? I realize some toppings do, We are just wondering about your sauce.