Updated June 2022! Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen is a fried chicken chain with thousands of locations throughout the U.S. and in 30 countries worldwide. Unfortunately, the poultry batter used to make their classic fried chicken contains milk. There are still a few non-dairy options on their menu, but for more dairy-free fried chicken menu items, KFC is a better option. Nevertheless, see below for the milk-free items you can order at Popeyes.
Popeyes Dairy-Free Menu Guide with Allergen Notes
Be aware of special order requirements in parentheses () next to the menu items, and see the Heads Up notes to help fill in the blanks.
Other Allergen & Dietary Notes: All of the items listed below are also made without egg, nuts, peanut, and soy, unless otherwise noted. We’ve also noted which items are also listed as gluten-free. We’ve read reports that they use canola oil for frying, but have also heard palm oil. Check on site if concerned. For vegan options, see the Vegan Menu Guide at the bottom of this post.
Chicken & Seafood
- Naked Tenders (see note below) (gluten-free)
Heads Up! All Popeye’s breaded items, including their chicken, shrimp, and fish, contain milk. They have previously offered “Naked Tenders” without the breading on their Louisiana Leaux menu. Those were dairy free. Some locations will still make them on request, but you should call to ask if this is an option.
- Cajun Fries (gluten-free)
- Red Beans & Rice (contains soy; gluten-free)
- Cole Slaw (contains egg, soy; gluten-free)
Heads Up! The Mashed Potatoes and Gravy and the Biscuits at Popeyes do contain milk. If concerned about potential cross-contamination from shared fryers, check at your location to find out if the Fries are cooked in a separate fryer from the chicken and seafood. In the past, they’ve offered Baguette and Cajun Rice (gluten-free), but those appear to be trimmed from the menu.
- Grits (contains soy)
- Hashbrowns (contains soy)
Heads Up! The Mashed Potatoes and Gravy and the Biscuits at Popeyes do contain milk. If concerned about potential cross-contamination from shared fryers, check at your location to find out if the Hashbrowns are cooked in a separate fryer from the chicken and seafood.
- Barbeque (contains soy)
- Cocktail Sauce (contains soy; gluten-free)
- Creamy Horseradish (contains egg, soy; gluten-free)
- Mardi Gras Mustard (contains egg, soy; gluten-free)
- Sweet Heat (gluten-free)
- Tartar Sauce (contains egg, soy; gluten-free)
Heads Up! The Ranch and Buffalo Sauces at Popeyes do contain milk.
- Wildberry Beignet (limited offer)
Heads Up! The Cinnamon Apple Pie at Popeyes does contain milk. They used to offer dairy-free Apple Sauce and Sliced Pecan Pie, but those were apparently trimmed from the menu in recent lean years.
Vegan Menu Guide
- Cajun Fries
- Red Beans & Rice
- Barbeque Sauce
- Cocktail Sauce
- Sweet Heat Sauce
Heads Up! We were unable to check the sauces for honey. Verify strictly vegan sauces in store.
This Post is for Informational Purposes Only
Menus, ingredients, kitchen procedures, management, food sourcing, and restaurant protocols are subject to change at any time. Always read the menu and discuss your dietary needs with the staff before ordering. Make sure they can accommodate your situation. This post is for informational purposes only, and should not be construed as advice.
There is always a risk for potential cross-contamination of allergens in any commercial kitchen. If cross-contamination is an issue for you, always speak with the manager to ensure that your meal can be safely prepared. Listings here do not guarantee that a restaurant is safe enough for your individual needs. Only you can make that decision.
Each location of a chain restaurant has different management and staff, and some might have different owners. This means differences in processes, ingredients used, menu options, and food sourcing can occur. Always verify the safety of your order for your needs at your current location.
Where to Find Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen
Popeye's Server Didn't Give Me Correct Information
I really wanted to believe my server when she replied that the fried chicken batter did not contain milk. I now have all the symptoms of lactose intolerance. Too bad I didn’t think to Google my question instead. I’m glad to know about Go Dairy Free for future reference.
Response from Go Dairy Free
I’m so sorry this happened to you Judy! I hope you are feeling better, and that we can help going forward! We have guides for all of the big chains.
The red beans and rice are so satisfying and I love the pickles. I always get a cup of them when I come.