Updated January 2023! Taco Del Mar is a Mexican fast casual chain that spans the U.S. and Canada. They have a great build-your-own Burrito, Bowl, Tacos, Taco Salad, or Enchilada model that makes it easy for special diet needs. Our dairy-free guide below breaks it down for easy ordering, and includes allergen notes, gluten-free options, and vegan choices.
Taco Del Mar Dairy-Free Menu Guide with Allergen & Vegan Options
This menu guide includes dairy-free menu options first, followed by the custom order components, and finished with the sides and desserts. Be aware of special order requirements in parentheses () next to the menu items, and see the Heads Up notes to help fill in the blanks. Please note that this guide is for the U.S. and Canada locations, but slight menu item availability could vary by location or country.
Other Allergen & Dietary Notes: All items listed below are made without egg, peanut, tree nuts, soy, and wheat, unless otherwise noted. Any items not labeled with wheat appear to be listed on their gluten-free menu. All non-meat, non-egg items listed below are vegan-friendly, except for the Enchilada Sauce. Vegans should skip the enchiladas and wet burritos. For the “protein” you can choose Beyond Beef, Spicy Chorizo Hash, or you can order the Veggie/Vegan option. The latter adds guacamole (at no extra charge) in place of the protein.
Build Your Own
- Burrito (contains wheat)
- Mondito Burrito (contains wheat)
- Wet Burrito (topped with enchilada sauce) (contains wheat)
- Burrito Bowl
- Taco Salad (contains wheat)
- Nachos (sorry, no cheese!)
- Enchilada Platter (contains wheat)
Heads Up! All of the above are delicious without dairy! Skip the cheese and sour cream toppers, and use the guides below to pick your proteins, toppings, and sauces. We do not yet know if the new Tortilla Soup is dairy-free. The Fish Tacos do contain milk.
- Corn Tortillas
- Flour Tortillas (contains wheat)
- Spinach Tortillas (contains wheat)
- Tomato Basil Tortillas (contains wheat)
- Whole Wheat Tortillas (contains wheat)
- Tortilla Chips
- Taco Salad Shell (contains wheat)
- Taco Shell
- Braised Chicken
- Feisty Beyond Beef Crumbles (vegan)
- Ground Beef (contains soy)
- Pulled Pork Carnitas
- Shredded Beef
- Shrimp (NOT crispy shrimp) (contains soy)
- Spicy Chorizo Hash (plant-based chorizo, diced potatoes, onion, serrano peppers) (ask regarding other allergens; vegan)
- Steak (select locations)
Heads Up! The Eggs, Crispy Shrimp, White Fish, and Lobster and Seafood blend at Taco Del Mar contain milk. If breakfast is served at your location, the Chorizo Sausage and Jalapeno Bacon are made without dairy.
Rice & Beans
- Mexican Seasoned Rice
- Black Beans
- Pinto Beans
- Refried Beans
- Black Olives
- Jalapeno Peppers
- Lime Wedge
- Serrano Peppers
Sauces & Dressing
- Baja White Sauce (contains egg)
- Black Bean & Corn Salsa
- Chipotle Salsa
- Cilantro Lime Vinaigrette
- Corn Salsa
- Enchilada Sauce (contains soy)
- Habanero Salsa
- Mango Salsa (contains wheat)
- Mayonnaise (contains egg)
- Pico de Gallo
- Reaper Salsa
- Roasted Chipotle Salsa
- Tangy Verde Salsa
- Tomatillo Salsa
Heads Up! Salsa options may vary by location. Taco Del Mar states their Mango Salsa contains wheat, but that it is gluten-free on their gluten-free guide.
- Chips & Guacamole
- Chips & Salsa
- Rice & Beans (with Pinto, Black, or Refried)
- Breakfast Potatoes
- Oreo Brownie (select locations) (contains egg, soy, wheat)
Heads Up! The Churros (where available) and all Cookies at Taco del Mar contain milk.
This Post is for Informational Purposes Only
Menus, ingredients, kitchen procedures, management, food sourcing, and restaurant protocols are subject to change at any time. Always read the menu and discuss your dietary needs with the staff before ordering. Make sure they can accommodate your situation. This post is for informational purposes only, and should not be construed as advice.
There is always a risk for potential cross-contamination of allergens in any commercial kitchen. If cross-contamination is an issue for you, always speak with the manager to ensure that your meal can be safely prepared. Listings here do not guarantee that a restaurant is safe enough for your individual needs. Only you can make that decision.
Each location of a chain restaurant has different management and staff, and some might have different owners. This means differences in processes, ingredients used, menu options, and food sourcing can occur. Always verify the safety of your order for your needs at your current location.
Where to Find Taco Del Mar
Unfortunately, this chain has gone through some rough times. They once had 250 shops, but now have just 66 locations in the U.S. and Canada, primarily in the West. See the website below for addresses, hours, and online ordering.