According to Wendy’s website, their buns are toasted in a common toaster with ingredients that contain milk. Untoasted buns are available upon request.

No Dairy (Milk) Ingredients (use caution due to cross-contamination potential):

  • Burgers – Jr. Hamburger, Hamburger Kids’ Meal
  • Chicken and Fish – Chicken Nuggets, Spicy Chicken Nuggets, Ultimate Chicken Grill Sandwich, Crispy Chicken Sandwich, Spicy Chicken Sandwich, Homestyle Chicken Sandwich, Premium Cod Sandwich, Chicken Nuggets Kids’ Meal
  • A la carte Meat – Jr. Hamburger Patty, 1/4 lb Hamburger Patty, Ultimate Chicken Grill Fillet, Spicy Chicken Fillet, Homestyle Chicken Fillet, Crispy Chicken Fillet, Premium Cod Fillet, Applewood Smoked Bacon,
  • Sides – Spicy Roasted Cashews, Apple Slices, Plain Baked Potato, Rich and Meaty Chili, Hot Chili Seasoning Packet, Saltine Crackers, and Natural Cut French Fries
  • Salads – Asian Cashew Chicken Salad and Garden Salad (w/out Croutons)
  • Salad Dressings – Pomegranate Vinaigrette, Lightly Spicy Asian Chili Vinaigrette, Italian Vinaigrette, Thousand Island, and Light Honey French
  • Dipping Sauces – Honey Mustard, Barbecue, and Sweet & Sour
  • Sauces – Smoky Honey Mustard
  • Bread – Premium Bun, Multigrain Bun, Tortilla,

Restaurant Website: www.wendys.com

Allergen Informationhttps://www.wendys.com/en-us/allergen-information

*The above information was supplied by the corresponding restaurant via their website, customer service, or other published nutritional information.  Ingredients and menu offerings are constantly changing in the food service industry, and can be subject to interpretation.  For this reason, Go Dairy Free does not guarantee nor take responsibility for the accuracy of this information.  If severe allergies or intolerances are a concern, contact the restaurant directly before purchasing or consuming one of their products.  Cross-contamination of potential food allergens should always be considered a possibility in a fast food restaurant. 


Last Updated: September 11, 2015


About Author

Alisa is the founder of GoDairyFree.org, Senior Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.


  1. Hello there,

    To clarify, is it safe to order their double or triple sandwiches with no cheese? Considering one has done the work to see if the the bun also does not contain dairy ingredients.

    • I would not recommend any fast food as “safe” if you are talking about severe food allergies. This is something you would have to speak with the company about and address with the employees when ordering.

  2. Stephanie Jensen on

    Something must have changed between 2013 and now. Their fries don’t have dairy. The fryers don’t have any dairy products in them. Unless their website is already outdated, their chickens don’t have dairy. My favorite part of the restaurant is that they have the allergen poster, so I don’t have to print stuff out or look online just before going out.

    • Hi, Stephanie,

      I don’t eat at Wendy’s so I’m glad to hear about those posters! They sound very helpful. We’ve double checked the online allergy listings and updated them where appropriate. Thanks for your comments!

  3. Wendy’s allergy menu says the breaded crispy chicken, spicy chicken, and ultimate grilled have milk in them.

        • Jessica Williams on

          I just found this out today. I hadn’t eaten there in years, and ate a burger there yesterday, was so sick to my stomach. I thought maybe it was the cheese (processed), but it wasn’t…it’s the whey in the buns that had my tummy doing flip flops!

  4. What about the kids crispy chicken sand which or their nugget products? Couldn’t find any product info, could it have been in the batter?

    • Hi, Melissa,

      As noted above, Wendy’s fries are cooked in the same oil as ingredients that contain dairy, but the fries themselves are dairy free according to their website.

  5. I just wanted to clarify the opening statement regarding Wendy’s using the same spoon to spread ketchup and mayo. Wendy’s does not use utensil for spreading of condiments. All condiments are kept in squeezable bottles. All condiments are squeezed in the form of a “W” on the bun. Each ingredient container does not come in contact with any other. Other than that, great job.

Leave A Reply