Five Guys – You’ll Flip for their Dairy-Free Burgers & Fries


Eat Dairy Free - Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and SweetsUpdated 2021! Five Guys is your basic burger joint with a simple menu and peanuts in the shell to nosh on while you wait. Their buns contain dairy, but their staff can expertly wrap your burger in a whole salad worth of lettuce. We’ve had many readers suggest this fast food joint (in both the U.S. and Canada) as a great dairy-free option. Viewer Clara of Six Food Intolerance Living sent the following about Five Guys:

Don’t forget to add Five Guys as a restaurant option!  They are very good about disclosing ingredients. And they are very accommodating.  I order a hamburger with no bun, no cheese (both contain dairy), tell them of my food intolerances and ask that the preparers put on new gloves.  They pack everything separately and even their fries are safe!  Oh so good!

We’ve listed all of the dairy-free topping and condiment options for Five Guys below to help you order a custom built lettuce wrap with fries.

Five Guys Dairy-Free Menu Guide

No Dairy (Milk-Based) Ingredients (see disclaimer below)

  • Proteins – Bacon, Hamburger Patty, Hot Dog, Egg
  • Sides – Fries, Cajun Fries
  • Toppings – Green Peppers, Grilled Mushrooms, Jalapeño Peppers, Lettuce, Grilled Onions, Onions, Pickles, Tomatoes
  • Condiments – A.1. Original Steak Sauce, BBQ Sauce, Hot Sauce, Ketchup, Mayonnaise, Mustard, Relish
  • Other Items – Bulk Peanuts, Fry Sauce, Malt Vinegar, Lettuce Wrap

Other Allergen Notes

  • Five Guys’ Buns contain milk, eggs, wheat, and soy, but you can order their burgers in a lettuce wrap with your dairy-free toppings and condiments of choice.
  • The Fries are reportedly made in their own fryer (in peanut oil), but verify before ordering at your location.
  • It looks like all of the shake mix-ins are made without milk, but the shake base itself is dairy.
  • The Veggie Sandwich isn’t a veggie burger, but rather veggies on their bun, which contains dairy.

Vegan Menu Items at Five Guys

They don’t yet offer a meat alternative at this chain, but Five Guys fries are vegan-friendly.

Five Guys Dairy-Free Menu Guide

More Details from Five Guys

Allergen Disclaimer from Five Guys: Five Guys Enterprises makes every attempt to identify ingredients which may cause allergic reactions for those with food allergies. Every effort is made to instruct our food production staff on the severity of food allergies. However, there is always a risk of contamination. There is a possibility that manufacturers of foods we use could change the formulation at any time, without notice. There is also a risk of cross contamination due to the nature of our ingredients. Customers concerned with food allergies need to be aware of this risk.

Restaurant Website:

Allergen Information:

*The above information was supplied by the corresponding restaurant via their website, customer service, or other published nutritional information.  Ingredients and menu offerings are constantly changing in the food service industry, and can be subject to interpretation.  For this reason, Go Dairy Free does not guarantee nor take responsibility for the accuracy of this information.  If severe allergies or intolerances are a concern, contact the restaurant directly before purchasing or consuming one of their products.  Cross-contamination of potential food allergens should always be considered a possibility in a fast food restaurant. 

Last Updated: February 15, 2021

Average Reader Review

Rated 3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5 stars (based on 2 reviews)
Very good50%

Rate Your Dairy-Free Experience with this Restaurant

What Others Are Saying ...

Was good but buns have milk

Rated 4 out of 5
September 19, 2021

The buns have milk in them took me hard no 5 guys no more

Avatar for Andy

Response from Go Dairy Free

Yes, they do. Please reference those details in the guide above!


Rated 3 out of 5
November 5, 2020

The milk in the bun took me down quickly. I was advised of the milk content but last time in (a few months ago) I was okay with it. Maybe a new vendor?

Avatar for Craig

Response from Go Dairy Free

I can’t say. But to the best of our knowledge, and as noted above, the bun has always contained milk at Five Guys. Perhaps more cross-contamination on the grill.

About Author

Alisa is the founder of, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.


  1. Five Guys is great. I have an allergy to dairy and soy, and have never had any problems eating there. I get their burger wrapped in lettuce, and their fries are cooked in peanut oil which is great.