Freddy’s Makes Dairy-Free Customers Flip for Steakburgers & Sandwiches


Updated in 2021! If you’re craving a good old-fashioned burger, then Freddy’s could be your spot. It’s a chain that began in the Midwest and serves typical American fast casual fare. The Frozen Custard is out for dairy-free diners, but Freddy’s does make many Steakburgers, Sandwiches, and Sides without milk. We’ve compiled the options, with notes, into this milk-free quick guide.

Freddy's Frozen Custard & Steakburgers Dairy-Free Menu Guide with Allergen Notes

Dairy-Free Menu Guide for Freddy’s Frozen Custard & Steakburgers

Freddy’s Steakburgers are made with 100% premium beef and hand-crafted when you order. Their patties have thin, crispy edges and a thicker middle. All of their menu burgers are sold as doubles, but you can order a single patty, if preferred.


  • Steakburger (no cheese)
  • California Steakburger (no cheese)
  • Patty Melt (no cheese)

Note: Freddy’s has waffled back and forth over the years with their buns. They were dairy-free, then we were told they contain dairy. And now they are listed as dairy-free again, but have a potential cross-contamination warning for milk. Their Toasted Rye Bread does not have a potential cross-contamination warning, but that doesn’t mean it isn’t still at risk. You can also order any burger in a lettuce wrap.

More Sandwiches

  • Veggie Burger (no cheese)
  • Grilled Chicken Breast Sandwich
  • Crispy Chicken Breast Sandwich
  • Spicy Chicken Breast Sandwich
  • Hot Dog
  • Chicago Style Hot Dog
  • Chili Dog (no cheese)

Note: The veggie burger and chicken sandwiches are served on Freddy’s buns, which have a potential cross-contamination warning for milk, as noted above. You can order no bun or swap in rye bread, if desired. You can also order any sandwich in a lettuce wrap. The hot dog buns are not reported as having a potential cross-contamination warning, but that doesn’t mean it isn’t still at risk.


  • Applesauce
  • Baked Lay’s Original
  • Chicken Tenders
  • Chili (no cheese)
  • Freddy’s Fries

Note: The Chicken Tenders and Fries are cooked in a shared fryer with Freddy’s Onion Rings, which do contain milk (whey).


Freddy’s has all types of dairy-free toppings, dairy-free waffle cones, and reportedly even whipped topping made without milk. BUT they don’t have any dairy-free frozen custard flavors!

This Post is for Informational Purposes Only

Menus, ingredients, kitchen procedures, management, and restaurants are subject to change at any time. Always read the menu and discuss your dietary needs with the staff before ordering. Make sure that they can accommodate your situation. This post is for informational purposes only, and should not be construed as advice.

There is always a risk for potential cross-contamination of allergens in any commercial kitchen. If cross-contamination is an issue for you, always speak with the manager to ensure that your meal can be safely prepared. Listings here do not guarantee that a restaurant is safe enough for your individual needs. Only you can make that decision.

Freddy's Frozen Custard & Steakburgers Dairy-Free Menu Guide with Allergen Notes

Where to Find Freddy’s Frozen Custard & Steakburgers

Freddy’s has about 380 locations in 30 U.S. states, with a heavy concentration in the Midwest, Mountain states, and Mid-Atlantic region. See their website below for addresses and hours.


About Author

Alisa is the founder of, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.


  1. The bread isn’t dairy free. We put a super thin butter layer on the bottom of the top bun and then toast it.

Leave A Reply