IN, Schererville and Valparaiso – Tomato Bar Pizza and Bakery


Thank you to Jessica for recommending Tomato Bar in Indiana:

In Valparaiso and Schererville Indiana there is a restaurant called Tomato Bar and it has dairy free pizza. For the cheese you can do goat or dairy free cheese.

Tomato Bar in Indiana offers dairy-free / vegan cheese for their pizzas and calzones

In addition to the dairy-free / vegan cheese alternative option, Tomato Bar offers quite an assortment of toppings and hand-tosses their own pizza dough in-house daily. They also have an array of salads and “craft your own salad” on their menu, calzones, and over 20 beers on tap, including some popular local microbrews.

In addition to their main menu, Tomato Bar also has an impressive gluten-free menu. Gluten-free bread is available for their appetizers and oven-baked sandwiches and gluten-free dough is available for their pizzas (but not the calzones). They even offer a gluten-free beer! The only catch: they don’t specify if the gluten-free items are dairy-free and/or vegan, too. Inquire in-house just to be sure.

And when I inquired about the ingredients in the regular pizza dough, gluten-free pizza dough, regular breads and gluten-free breads, I received the following response from Tomato Bar:

All our breads are dairy free except our pita bread. That one has dry milk in the ingredients list. And yes.  Other than our pita bread, everything is vegan. We also can offer all our pizzas and sandwiches on gluten free bread. Including all our appetizers, except our caprese kabobs.

See their website below for menus, locations, and phone numbers.


About Author

Alisa is the founder of, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.


  1. FYI… Goat cheese is dairy! And the term ‘cheese’ is a protected name…. What is vegan ‘cheese’ made of? Not milk, also a protected term… You can milk a nut or a bean!

    • Hi Ana, yes, goat cheese is dairy, but I didn’t want to mis-quote the person who sent in the recommendation. I think it is inappropriate to tamper with quotes! Please note that I refer to it as “vegan cheese alternative” in my writing on the restaurant. Thank you for your concern!

Leave A Reply