Jimmy John’s – Delivers Custom Dairy-Free Sandwiches


Eat Dairy Free - Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and SweetsUpdated 2021! Jimmy John’s is a franchised sandwich chain with thousands of locations across the U.S. They specialize in fresh food fast, and heavily promote their speedy delivery. They also slice all-natural meats daily that have no artificial ingredients or added nitrates, nitrites, hormones,  or MSG. You can easily build your own dairy-free sandwich at Jimmy John’s from the ingredients below.

Aside from the cheese and ranch dressing, the Jimmy John’s menu is nearly wide open for dairy-free customers. It also provides gluten-free options, which we have included in the Allergen Notes below.

Jimmy John's Dairy-Free Menu Guide with Custom Order, Gluten-Free Options, and Allergen Notes

No Dairy (Milk-Based) Ingredients (see disclaimer below)

At last check, you could order any sandwich off the Jimmy John’s menu without cheese, and without ranch if needed, to make it dairy-free. Or build your own sandwich by ordering from these ingredients.

  • Bread – French Bread, Sliced Wheat, Unwich (Lettuce Wrap)
  • Meat – Chicken, Ham, Turkey, Roast Beef, Salami, Capicola, Bacon, Tuna Salad
  • Vegetables – Lettuce, Tomato, Cucumber, Onion, Jimmy Peppers, Pickles
  • Condiments – Avocado Spread, Creole Pepper Sauce, Hellmann’s Mayo, Jimmy Mustard, Grey Poupon, Yellow Mustard, Oil & Vinegar, Oregano-Basil
  • Chips – Regular Jimmy Chips, Thinny Chips, Jalapeño Jimmy Chips, BBQ Jimmy Chips

Other Allergen Notes

  • The Tuna Salad is dairy-free, but contains eggs, gluten, and soy. Aside from this, all of the meat options are made without top allergens.
  • Their breads contain gluten and soy, but you can order an Unwich (lettuce wrap) instead.

Vegan Options at Jimmy John’s

Because of the animal welfare claims against the Jimmy John’s founder, many vegans and vegetarians have opted to boycott this franchise. It may be for the best since vegan options at this chain are limited to vegetables and possible the breads (they are dairy and egg free). They don’t have any protein-heavy, plant-based fillings.

Jimmy John's - - Dairy-Free Menu Items and Allergen Notes

More Details from Jimmy John’s

Allergen Disclaimer from Jimmy John’s: Please note that because individual foods may come into contact with each other during preparation of your sandwich, and because of shared utensils and equipment, we cannot guarantee that our food is free from any allergens. If you have any special requests or concerns related to allergies or other dietary restrictions, please inform your cashier when placing your order.

Restaurant Website: https://www.jimmyjohns.com

Allergen Information: www.jimmyjohns.com/downloadable-files/AllergenInformation.pdf

*The above information was supplied by the corresponding restaurant via their website, customer service, or other published nutritional information. Ingredients and menu offerings are constantly changing in the food service industry, and can be subject to interpretation. For this reason, Go Dairy Free does not guarantee nor take responsibility for the accuracy of this information. If severe allergies or intolerances are a concern, contact the restaurant directly before purchasing or consuming one of their products. Cross-contamination of potential food allergens should always be considered a possibility in a fast food restaurant.

Last Updated: February 15, 2021

Average Reader Review

Rated 0 out of 5
0 out of 5 stars (based on 0 reviews)
Very good0%

Rate Your Dairy-Free Experience with this Restaurant

What Others Are Saying ...

About Author

Alisa is the founder of GoDairyFree.org, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.


  1. I am lactose intolerant and, although you say the tuna salad is dairy free, I have a bad reaction to it. I’m not, as far as I know, allergic to gluten or soy.

    • According to the Jimmy John’s allergen information, it is mayo based, and does not contain any dairy. This information is directly from Jimmy John’s. And tuna salad is very often just mayo-based with eggs, but no dairy.

  2. I do not have any food allergies that I know of, yet the Turkey Tom has always made my lips tingle. The last time I ate one my lips blew up three times their normal size, along with my nose and eyes swelled. I have no idea what caused it!

  3. I am allergic to milk and I have only ever had a problem once when cheese was accidentally placed in my sandwich. It was quickly replaced and the manager appologized. One of my favorites is the club lulu- no dairy at all in the original so no confusion!

  4. Chelsea Johnson on

    I always get the Turkey Tom, no cheese, on whole wheat, and I get diarrhea every time I don’t take a Lactaid pill. Just a FYI for the lactose intolerant folks reading this. So beware if you’re lactose sensitive/intolerant. But it IS a tasty sandwich!

    • Wow, not good. I wonder what could be causing that – there is definitely risk for cross-contamination in these environments, but sandwich shops often have allergen protocols that they can easily use. Thanks for the heads up Chelsea!