Updated 2020! Despite the regional name, Moe’s Southwest Grill started in Atlanta, and I’ve never seen one in the Southwest. But they do have about 5000 locations in the U.S., and some locations in the United Kingdom, Canada, Germany, and France. There also is no Moe. Moe’s is an acronym for “Musicians, Outlaws and Entertainers,” which is why they have music and art themes at their restaurants.
Pretty much anything that looks creamy or cheesy at Moe’s Southwest Grill does contain dairy, but that still leaves a big menu of fresh-Mex options. You can order bowls, burritos, salads, and tacos, and they even have a few desserts. They also provide paleo, vegan, “gluten friendly,” keto, and whole30 menu options.
No Dairy (Milk-Based) Ingredients at Moe’s Southwest Grill (see disclaimer below)
- Tortilla Products – Flour Tortillas, Whole Grain Tortillas, Corn Tortillas, Crispy Corn Tortillas, Tortilla Chips, Salad Bowl
- Proteins – Adobo Chicken, Chicken, Steak, Pork Carnitas, Fish, Organic Tofu, Black Beans, Pinto Beans
- Grains – Seasoned Rice, Cilantro Lime Rice, Quinoa
- Other Toppings – Diced Onions, Fresh Jalapenos, Chopped Cilantro, Diced Tomatoes, Corn Pico, Chopped Romaine, Grilled Onions, Grilled Peppers, Grilled Mushrooms, Pickled Red Onions, Shredded Cabbage, Pickled Jalapenos, Diced Cucumbers, Black Olives, Shredded Lettuce, Lime Wedges, Avocado, Bacon Pieces
- Sauces – Guacamole, Buffalo Sauce, Pico de Gallo, Southwest Vinaigrette, Hard Rock and Roll Hot Sauce, El Guapo Salsa, Kaiser Salsa, Tomatillo Salsa, Space B’Green Salsa, Southwest Tomatillo Salsa, Tomatillo’s Hot Friend Salsa, Scorpion Pepper Salsa, Ghostujang Salsa
- Soup – Baja Enchilada
- Dessert – Brownie, Cinnamon Chips
Other Allergen Notes
- Their Ground Beef does contain milk.
- Gluten-free diners should stick to their bowls and salads. Moe’s lists all of their tortilla products (including the corn ones) as containing gluten.
Vegan Menu Items at Moe’s Southwest Grill
Moe’s offers a whole vegan menu of items, which includes the whole grain tortillas, corn tortillas, and corn chips, black beans, pinto beans, tofu, quinoa, seasoned rice, cilantro lime rice, vegetables listed above, and most of the sauces listed above. Neither of the desserts listed above is shown as vegan (the brownies contain egg).
They have conflicting vegan information on their website for several other menu items. The guacamole is listed on the vegan menu, but is noted as not vegan in the nutrition. It looks like the Space B’Green Salsa isn’t vegan, but they have conflicting information about the Kaiser salsa. The Salad Bowl is also listed on their vegan menu, but is shown as non-vegan in their nutrition facts. Verify before ordering.
More Details from Moe’s Southwest Grill
Allergen Disclaimer from Moe’s Southwest Grill: Moe’s does not guarantee that cross-contact with allergens will not occur.
Restaurant Website: www.moes.com
Allergen Information for the United States: www.moes.com/nutrition
Last Updated: January 2, 2020