OH, Cleveland – Mitchell’s Homemade Ice cream Shops


This recommendation for Mitchell’s Homemade was emailed in by Lin:

Please consider adding to your list Mitchell’s Homemade. They have several locations in the Cleveland, OH area. I can’t speak for all their stores, but when I have been to the one in the Ohio City neighborhood, they always have at least two vegan flavors – and not just here’s a vanilla or a fruity sorbet – amazing flavors, like salted caramel pecan. My not-dairy-free friends have been known to order the vegan options because they are so good.

See the website below for Mitchell’s Homemade Ice Cream Shop locations as well as menus for gluten-free, vegan and allergen information. It does look as though they offer the dairy-free / vegan flavors at all locations.

Website: www.mitchellshomemade.com

Mitchell's Homemade Ice Cream Shops in the Cleveland, OH area offer several vegan and dairy-free flavors, including Salted Caramel Pecan!

About Author

Alisa is the founder of GoDairyFree.org, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.


  1. Had their Vegan Chocolate today at a grandsons birthday party there. Hands down the BEST chocolate ice cream ever, and I’ve eaten a lot of chocolate IC in my lifetime. So smooth and creamy and rich chocolate flavor. Everyone had to have a taste of mine when they knew it was dairy free!!

  2. Katlyn Apple on

    Being a native Clevelander, I’d say skip Mitchell’s and try Piccadilly’s Frozen Yogurt. They have at least two locations that I know of, and always have at least two vegan flavors. In my experience, they’re a lot more transparent and knowledgeable about where their products come from.

  3. I tried the Salted Caramel Pecan ice cream and got sick. I questioned the clerk about the caramel and she handed me a book that did not give me an answer, so I took the risk and ate the ice cream anyway.

    So maybe you would know….is the caramel used in this ice cream ==== dairy free?

Leave A Reply