Last Update in January 2023! Some fast casual chains have scaled back in recent years, but Smashburger is aggressively expanding. They’ve also made some bold strategic moves, like opening a location with a full bar and adding dairy-free milkshakes to their menu nationwide. Yes, you can now order a vegan milkshake in Vanilla, Chocolate, Strawberry, Peanut Butter, Tangerine Dream, or Oreo! They’re made with Eclipse dairy-free ice cream, and sold at Smashburger’s 200+ location in the United States. As for the food, we’ve outlined the dairy-free options below, and have also included a separate vegan menu guide.
Smashburger Dairy-Free Menu Guide with Allergen Notes & Vegan Options
Be aware of special order requirements in parentheses () next to the menu items, and see the Heads Up notes to help fill in the blanks. Please note that this guide is for the U.S. locations. Options may vary in other countries. In fact, Smashburger restaurants in the UK have many more dairy-free and vegan options!
Butter Note: Smashburger lists all of their burger buns AND their grilled chicken, beef, turkey, and veggie patties as containing milk. Not all of the items contain milk, but they are cooked with butter. If you are okay with potential cross-contamination on the grill (please note that the fryer and shake station also have cross-contamination risk), then you can order select burgers and sandwiches with “no butter.” Check at your local Smashburger for more options if you are not concerned with potential cross-contamination, and for safety with any menu items if you are concerned.
Fryer Note: The fried items at Smashburger might be cooked in shared fryers with items containing milk. Check at your location if concerned about potential cross-contamination with allergens.
Other Allergen & Dietary Notes: All items noted below are made without egg, peanut, and tree nuts unless otherwise obvious in the name or noted. For vegan options, see the Vegan Menu Guide at the bottom of this post.
Burgers & Sandwiches
- Avocado Bacon Club Crispy Chicken Sandwich (on lettuce, no bun, no cheese, no ranch)
- Classic SMASH Crispy Chicken Sandwich (on lettuce, no bun)
- Bacon SMASH Crispy Chicken Sandwich (on lettuce, no bun, no cheese)
- BBQ Bacon Crispy Chicken Sandwich (on lettuce, no bun, no cheese)
- Smoked Bacon Brisket Crispy Chicken Sandwich (on lettuce, no bun, no cheese)
Dairy-Free Topping Options: Applewood Smoked Bacon, Fresh Jalapeños, Fresh Sliced Avocado, Guacamole, Lettuce, Pickles, Red Onions, Smoked Brisket, Tomato
Dairy-Free Sauce Options: BBQ, Chicken Mayo, Ketchup, Mayo, Smash Sauce, Spicy Chipotle, Truffle Mayo, Yellow Mustard (all of the mayo-based sauces, including the Smash Sauce, contain egg)
Buns Note: All Buns are noted as containing milk because they are toasted on the grill with dairy butter. At last check, the Classic, Multi Grain, Spicy Chipotle, and Udi’s Gluten Free Buns did not contain milk in the ingredients (the Brioche Buns definitely do), but are toasted in butter. Find out if your locations can offer dairy-free buns untoasted or without butter. The gluten-free buns do contain egg.
Patties Note: As noted above, all other patties and grilled chicken at Smashburger are cooked with butter. The beef patty, turkey patty, and grilled chicken might be suitable non-dairy options if ordered with “no butter.” However, the Black Bean Patty definitely contains dairy.
Heads Up! The Grilled Green Chilis, Grilled Onions, Sautéed Mushrooms, and Fried Egg are cooked in butter. The Haystack Onions also contain milk.
- Chicken Tenders – Plainand Scorchin Hot
- Kids Tenders Meal with Ketchup or BBQ Sauce
- Wings – Plain, BBQ, Garlic Rosemary, and Scorchin Hot
Heads Up! The Buffalo Wings do contain dairy. The hot sauce they use does not, but they also coat the Buffalo Wings in a margarine that contains milk.
- Crispy Brussels Sprouts (no ranch dressing)
- French Fries
- Smash Fries
- Smash Tots
- Sweet Potato Fries
- Sweet Potato Smash Fries
Heads Up! The Haystack Onions do contain milk. Shared fryers might be used to cook dairy-free and dairy-containing items. If concerned, verify at your location.
- Non-Dairy Caramel Apple Pie Shake (seasonal)
- Non-Dairy Chocolate Shake
- Non-Dairy Chocolate Mocha Shake (seasonal)
- Non-Dairy Oreo Shake
- Non-Dairy Reese’s Peanut Putter Shake
- Non-Dairy Strawberry Shake
- Non-Dairy Vanilla Shake
Heads Up! They use Eclipse ice cream to make their dairy-free / non-dairy shakes, which are made with a canola-tapioca blend. The base does not contain any top allergens, but the add-ins for the flavors and the shakes might. As always, there is a risk of potential cross-contamination. Be sure to inquire if you have additional allergen and/or potential cross-contamination concerns.
Smashburger Vegan Menu Guide
- Eclipse Non-Dairy Shakes
Heads Up! Yes, vegans should only visit Smashburger if craving dessert! The Black Bean Patties contain milk, and all fried items (including the fries, tots, and Brussels) are cooked in beef tallow.
This Post is for Informational Purposes Only
Menus, ingredients, kitchen procedures, management, food sourcing, and restaurant protocols are subject to change at any time. Always read the menu and discuss your dietary needs with the staff before ordering. Make sure they can accommodate your situation. This post is for informational purposes only, and should not be construed as advice.
There is always a risk for potential cross-contamination of allergens in any commercial kitchen. If cross-contamination is an issue for you, always speak with the manager to ensure that your meal can be safely prepared. Listings here do not guarantee that a restaurant is safe enough for your individual needs. Only you can make that decision.
Each location of a chain restaurant has different management and staff, and some might have different owners. This means differences in processes, ingredients used, menu options, and food sourcing can occur. Always verify the safety of your order for your needs at your current location.
Where to Find Smashburger
They have over 200 Smashburger locations in the U.S. See the website below for addresses, hours, and online ordering.
Non-dairy strawberry shake was awful
I just wasted over six dollars on an undrinkable concoction that none of my family would take more than one sip of. We all agreed it was awful and I poured it down the sink. Definitely would have asked for a refund if we had dined in, but we ordered take-out.
Delicious food, but they put Reece's Pieces in my dairy free shake
I don’t know if it was because we were such a big group and she was flustered, or if this is an actual issue, but my PB shake was made with Reece’s Pieces which contain dairy. She happily took it back and replaced it, but didn’t seem to “get” the issue. Still, the service and food were outstanding, and I really enjoyed my Oreo dairy free shake, just want everyone to be aware if they order Peanut Butter flavor.