Sub Zero Ice Cream Let’s You Create Your Own Dairy-Free Dessert


Update! If dairy-free ice cream custom ordered with your flavors of choice and made instantly before your eyes sounds too good to be true, then you haven’t been to a Sub Zero Nitrogen Ice Cream shop. They use liquid nitrogen to flash freeze your ice cream, which also eliminates ice crystals. That said, they have told us that the vegan varieties are a bit more like ice milk in consistency, but still quite good. And you can choose from all of the mix-ins and flavors below.

Sub Zero Nitrogen Ice Cream Shops - Dairy-Free Guide with Vegan, Gluten-Free, and Allergen Information.

Dairy-Free Guide to Sub Zero Nitrogen Ice Cream

All of the following dairy-free options at Sub Zero Ice Cream are also gluten-free, egg-free, and soy-free, unless otherwise noted, according to the company. You choose the base, your flavors, and mix-ins, and they prepare your dairy-free ice cream in your own bowl. The nitrogen blast, or “dragon’s breath” does not contain any top allergens.


  • Almond Milk
  • Cashew Milk
  • Oat Milk (might not be certified gluten-free)
  • Coconut Milk

Heads Up! All of the above are also vegan. Which options are available at each location does vary. Some just have one dairy-free base option, others have multiple. They previously offered soymilk and rice milk bases, but these no longer seem to be available. There is a lactose-free base, but it is just free of lactose (milk sugar). It is not dairy free.


  • Amaretto
  • Banana
  • Blackberry
  • Blueberry
  • Blue Cotton Candy
  • Bubble Gum
  • Butter Pecan
  • Butterscotch
  • Cake Batter (contains wheat)
  • Caramel
  • Chai
  • Cheesecake
  • Cherry
  • Chocolate
  • Cinnamon
  • Coconut
  • Coffee
  • Dark Chocolate
  • Dr Pepper
  • Huckleberry
  • Lemon
  • Lime
  • Mango
  • Maple
  • Marshmallow
  • Mint
  • Mocha
  • Peach
  • Peanut Butter (contains peanut and soy)
  • Pink Cotton Candy
  • Orange
  • Peppermint
  • Pistachio
  • Pina Colada
  • Pumpkin Spice
  • Raspberry
  • Rootbeer
  • Strawberry
  • Tiger’s Blood
  • Vanilla

Heads Up! According to the allergen information from Sub Zero Ice Cream all flavors noted above are top allergen-free, except as noted. But verify before ordering. Brownie Batter, Dulce de Leche, Malt, Nutella, and White Chocolate were the only flavors that were listed as containing milk at the time of our review.


  • Almonds
  • Brownie Bites (contains wheat and soy)
  • Cashews
  • Coconut
  • Graham Cracker Crumb (contains wheat)
  • Gummy Bears
  • Mangos
  • Maraschino Cherries
  • Marshmallows
  • Mixed Berries
  • Oreos (contains wheat and soy)
  • Peaches
  • Peanuts
  • Pecans
  • Pineapple
  • Rainbow Sprinkles (contains soy)
  • Raspberries
  • Strawberries

Heads Up! All of the above items at Sub Zero Ice Cream are also egg-free, but they are not all vegan. Obviously, the nuts are tree nuts or peanuts.

Toppings & Other

  • Chocolate Syrup (not the Hot Fudge)
  • Marshmallow Crème

Heads Up! The whipped topping at Sub Zero Ice Cream is lactose-free and might be labeled as non-dairy, but it is not dairy free. Their waffle cones and bowls do contain dairy.

More Allergen Notes from Sub Zero Ice Cream

According to Sub Zero Ice Cream, their processes help them to be allergy-friendly.

There is no danger of cross-contamination, because for every new order we use a new, clean bowl, and we use a different measuring cup to measure the non-dairy base than the one we use for the dairy ice cream bases.

They can also get fresh toppings from the back, on request. But despite their confidence, there is always some degree of risk for cross-contamination with allergens in a food handling environment. Always speak with the staff to ensure you feel their processes and ingredients are safe enough for you.

This Post is for Informational Purposes Only

Menus, ingredients, kitchen procedures, management, and restaurants are subject to change at any time. Always read the menu and discuss your dietary needs with the staff before ordering. Make sure that they can accommodate your situation. This post is for informational purposes only, and should not be construed as advice.

There is always a risk for potential cross-contamination of allergens in any commercial kitchen. If cross-contamination is an issue for you, always speak with the manager to ensure that your meal can be safely prepared. Listings here do not guarantee that a restaurant is safe enough for your individual needs. Only you can make that decision.

Sub Zero Nitrogen Ice Cream Shops - Dairy-Free Guide with Vegan, Gluten-Free, and Allergen Information.

Where to Find Sub Zero Nitrogen Ice Cream

They have about 40 locations scattered across the U.S. See their website below for addresses, hours, contact information, and online ordering.


Average Reader Review

Rated 0 out of 5
0 out of 5 stars (based on 0 reviews)
Very good0%

Rate Your Dairy-Free Experience with this Restaurant

What Others Are Saying ...

About Author

Alisa is the founder of, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.


  1. My husband and I have been here a couple of times this year and have yet to be disappointed with their dairy free options. Most of their syrups are dairy free so you don’t have to just get a sweetened rice or soy milk option, you can have pumpkin flavored ice cream.

    The consistency of the ice cream is not as creamy as the real stuff, but still tasty. We’ve found that agave syrup is a much better sweetener because it makes the consistency thicker.

    Our favorite combo so far has been the rice milk, agave syrup, and cinnamon base with various fruits… it tastes like a frozen horchata.

  2. Last week my husband and I went to Sub Zero Ice Cream because we’d heard their dairy free options were good. We asked for the almond milk base, then added flavoring and a raspberry mix in, plus they added sugar as a sweetener (they had other options to sweeten it as well). After one bite, we asked for our money back. It tasted like and was the consistency of a snow-cone without flavoring. I was so disappointed!

    I don’t know if choosing the soy base would make it better, but I’d definitely say no to the almond milk base in the future.

    Just thought I’d give my feedback so people don’t make the same mistake I did.

    (they were very understanding and refunded our money right away.)