Last Updated March 2021! If you’re craving fresh fish or a perfectly cooked steak, Bonefish Grill is a good chain to consider. They don’t have food allergy menus, yet, but they are reportedly working on them. In the mean time, the staff at Bonefish Grill was happy to answer our dairy-free inquiries. They also tend to have a well-trained staff for handling special diet needs, and have allergen protocols in place, when needed. Below is our quick dairy-free guide along with tips, vegan options, and more.
The Dairy-Free Guide to Bonefish Grill with Vegan Options
You might discover a few more dairy-free options on their menu, but these are the ones we have uncovered thus far!
- Table Bread (see Heads Up below)
- Beef & Ginger Potstickers
- Calamari (but cooked in a Shared Fryer)
Heads Up! The bread doesn’t contain dairy (we’ve heard it’s also vegan-friendly), but the pesto it’s served with does. you can request olive oil and vinegar for dipping. Their popular Crab Cakes and Bang Bang Shrimp do contain dairy.
Cook it Your Way: They serve various types of grilled fish, steak, and chicken, which can be prepared without any dairy, and can be cooked separately in a sauté pan if cross-contamination on the grill is a concern for you. See “Ordering with Food Allergies” below.
- House Salad (vegan)
- Cobb Salad (no cheese; and no proteins for vegan)
Dairy-Free Salad Dressing Options: Citrus Herb Vinaigrette (vegan)
- Chimichurri Sauce (vegan)
- Pan Asian
- Mango Salsa (vegan)
- French Fries (but cooked in a Shared Fryer)
- Jasmine Rice (vegan)
- Sautéed Spinach (verify no butter)
- Seasonal Vegetables (no butter; vegan)
- Steamed Asparagus (vegan)
Notes: The French fries are most likely vegan by ingredients, but they are not included on the menu since they are cooked in a shared fryer with non-vegan foods. We confirmed that the “sautéed vegetables” (spinach at the time of review) are dairy-free, but still double check that butter is not used in cooking or finishing.
Ordering with Food Allergies at Bonefish Grill
Potential cross-contamination of allergens on cooking surfaces is always possible at restaurants, but the staff at Bonefish Grill offers some solutions to help cook “safer” meals for their allergic customers.
We do not recommend that guests with allergies eat fried foods or foods cooked directly on the grill as those are shared surfaces and higher risk for cross contact. Menu items such as simply grilled fish, seafood and beef should be requested to be cooked in a separate sauté pan without seasonings and with your preferred oil. Vegetables can be prepared like the simply grilled protein and requested to be cooked without seasonings. You can request that salt and pepper be added if you prefer that. Also, the house side salad is made without dairy.
Ordering Vegan at Bonefish Grill
Truthfully, their vegan menu is rather anemic, and they do not offer any vegan proteins, like tofu. But the staff does their best to accommodate all special diet needs. They can prepare a vegetable pasta or rice bowl on request.
This Post is for Informational Purposes Only
Menus, ingredients, kitchen procedures, management, and restaurants are subject to change at any time. Always read the menu and discuss your dietary needs with the staff before ordering. Make sure that they can accommodate your situation. This post is for informational purposes only, and should not be construed as advice.
There is always a risk for potential cross-contamination of allergens in any commercial kitchen. If cross-contamination is an issue for you, always speak with the manager to ensure that your meal can be safely prepared. Listings here do not guarantee that a restaurant is safe enough for your individual needs. Only you can make that decision.
Where to Find Bonefish Grill
Bonefish Grill is a Bloomin’ Brand, so they are affiliated with Outback Steakhouse, Carrabba’s Italian Grill, and Fleming’s Steakhouse. They have over 200 locations in 28 U.S. states. See their website below for addresses, hours, and online ordering.