Johnny Rockets


Thanks to Jill for emailing this note on Johnny Rockets: "Johnny Rockets has a vegan burger on their menu and their buns are dairy free as well"

Johnny Rockets is located in various states throughout the U.S., and often as a sit down "diner" in malls. I did some research and discovered that they are in fact very catering to special diets.  They offer a full ingredient list on their website, which not only highlights exactly what allergens are present in each food, but also highlights possible food sensitivities (ie nitrates, caffeine, etc.).

They also have a special vegetarian/vegan note:

"A Note for our Vegetarian Guests – At Johnny Rockets we strive to meet the needs of all of our guests. The Boca Burger patty that we use in our Streamliner is their Original V35 and is manufactured as a vegan product. Our spec hamburger buns should not contain any dairy nor other animal-derived ingredients. Our American fries also should not contain ingredients which are of animal origin and are always cooked in 100% vegetable oil. Beef tallow, or flavorings derived from animal sources, are never intentionally added during the manufacturing or cooking process. However you should be aware that, due to the proximity of the manufacturing equipment to sources of animal protein or oil from animal sources there is the slight, though extremely unlikely, possibility that traces of these unwanted products may be accidentally transferred to our American fries during their production. For this reason, and this reason only, we feel compelled to list beef tallow as a possible (however extremely unlikely) ingredient. Please be aware that we designate a special area of the grill on which to cook only the Boca Burger and we do everything in our power to keep the area free from other materials. We also have special color-coded turners and tongs which help to keep cross-contamination to a minimum. However due to the limited space and tight kitchen layout at Johnny Rockets we cannot guarantee that there will not be unintentional contact with some small amount of material from an item which is of animal in nature."

More good news, it looks like the apple pie and brownies may actually be made without milk ingredients!

Johnny Rocket's Main Website with locations:


About Author

Alisa is the founder of, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.

Leave A Reply