Shawn emailed us to say that, “Panera Bread Restaurants do a great job of listing their ingredients on the website.”
Likewise, Onna had praise for the Panera Bread options, “I’ve heard several of the breads and soups at Panera are vegan, and so would be suitable for dairy-free!”
However, viewer Kris expressed concern, “Panera pulled down all their ingredient information from the website and replaced it with a blanket statement – basically the typical CYA …can’t guarantee recipes haven’t been changed and cross-contamination has not taken place. Dairy-free people (especially those with allergies) should know this immediately!”
Fortunately, Panera Bread has rectified the situation. It appears from our latest look (2014) that all of the menu items on the Panera Bread website now have full ingredient lists and allergen statements. But of course, cross-contamination concerns should always be addressed at the time of service at any restaurant if severe allergies are a concern for you.
Panera Bread is a fast casual restaurant chain with a wide range of bakery fresh goodies, sandwiches, soups, and salads. Many of the menu items at Panera Bread can be customized to be dairy-free by simply asking for no cheese (most of their breads are dairy-free) and they offer several dairy-free salads (Strawberry Poppyseed & Chicken Salad pictured below) and even some pumpkin muffins that appear to be made without any milk ingredients. They reportedly also provide almond milk as an option for coffee drinks.