When you first go dairy free, it can be shocking how many foods contain dairy. On the flip side, there are some fun surprises – like frosting. There are actually quite a few dairy-free frosting options in the baking aisle at nearly every grocery store. We’ve covered the ones from Duncan Hines and Pillsbury, and this post details all of the dairy-free Betty Crocker frosting and icing options.
The Complete Guide to Dairy-Free Betty Crocker Frosting & Icing
All of these items are dairy-free by ingredients! Be sure to see our may contain information if the labels are causing confusion. And don’t miss the various notes in this post – they are important!
Cake Mixes: See our guide to Betty Crocker Dairy-Free Baking Mixes for cake, cupcake, brownie, and cookie mix options to pair with these dairy-free Betty Crocker frostings.
Vegan Options: All items listed below are vegan, unless noted as containing egg or non-vegan.
More Allergen Notes: All items listed below are egg-free, gluten-free, nut-free, peanut-free, and soy-free by ingredients, unless otherwise noted. We have noted some additional allergen information within this post. But please, make sure you are familiar with this may contain information.
Disclosure: This post contains some affiliate links. We may receive a commission if you make purchases through these links. These commissions do not direct our content, but do help to support the maintenance of our site. We appreciate your support!
- Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Frosting
- Rich & Creamy Cherry Frosting
- Rich & Creamy Chocolate Frosting
- Rich & Creamy Cinnamon Toast Crunch Frosting
- Rich & Creamy Dark Chocolate Frosting
- Rich & Creamy Lemon Frosting
- Rich & Creamy Milk Chocolate Frosting
- Rich & Creamy Vanilla Frosting
- Whipped Butter Cream Frosting
- Whipped Chocolate Frosting
- Whipped Cream Cheese Frosting
- Whipped Fluffy White Frosting
- Whipped Milk Chocolate Frosting
- Whipped Strawberry Mist Frosting
- Whipped Vanilla Frosting
- Whipped Whipped Cream Frosting
Heads Up! The Original Rainbow Chip, Rich & Creamy Coconut Pecan, and Rich & Creamy Cream Cheese Frostings from Betty Crocker contains milk.
Icings & Gels for Dessert Decoration
- Cookie Icing (various colors)
- Decorating Gel (various colors)
- Decorating Icing (tubes and pouches; various colors)
- Gel Food Color (various colors)
Heads Up! According to the company, these icings and gels are produced on a dedicated line that does not process milk, eggs, peanuts, tree nuts, soy, or wheat. Their sprinkles are also made on dedicated lines, but check each variety for allergens. At last check, all were milk-free and made on a milk-free line. But some of their sprinkles do contain soy.
Kosher Certifications for Betty Crocker Frostings
Most Betty Crocker products are Certified Kosher. Their tub frostings are certified Kosher Dairy. This doesn’t mean the product contains dairy. See our Kosher Certification Guide to better understand the usefulness and limitations of these symbols for dairy-free consumers. Contact the company to discuss their allergen protocols if you are concerned about potential cross-contamination with milk, regardless of any package labels.
This Post is for Informational Purposes Only
Always read the ingredient and nutrition statement prior to consumption. Ingredients, processes, and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company or product. Some of these items might have a “may contain” type statement for milk or other top allergens. This does not mean the product contains that allergen. See our “May Contain” Guide to understand what these statements might mean for you. Contact the company to discuss their manufacturing processes if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. No food product can be guaranteed “safe” for every individual’s needs. You should never rely on ingredient and allergen statements alone if dealing with a severe food allergy. Only you can decide what foods are safe for your needs.