It looks like most of these dairy-free Trader Joe’s Pumpkin products are back for 2020. We’ll update as they add more and confirm availability!
Yesterday, we ended up on a great pumpkin grocery shopping trip, and I think you can guess where we went. Every fall, Trader Joe’s Pumpkin Palooza takes over with gourd-filled end caps and seasonal surprises dotting the aisles.
Many Trader Joe’s pumpkin eats contain dairy (sorry, the Pumpkin Spice Cookies and pumpkin-y Pasta Sauces are off limits). But some of the best Trader Joe’s pumpkin goodies are dairy free! And I have the complete round-up for you.
The Dairy-Free Trader Joe’s Pumpkin Goodness
All of the following goodies are dairy-free by ingredients* (most are vegan-friendly), and they’re available at Trader Joe’s stores across the country. However, they are seasonal fall items, so get them while they’re still in stock!
Trader Joe’s Pumpkin Bagels
On first appearances, I thought these were spiked with raisins. But it turns out they are little “chunks” of pumpkin pie spice! And although we can’t have their seasonal pumpkin cream cheese, these bagels are still delicious with Trader Joe’s original vegan cream cheese alternative. It’s a special breakfast treat that I just enjoyed this morning.
Ingredients – unbleached enriched flour (wheat flour, malted barley flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine, mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), water, pumpkin pie spice bits (sugar, wheat flour, dextrose, sunflower oil, wheat starch, spices [cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves], malted barley flour, beta carotene [color]), pumpkin flour (pumpkin, rice hull powder [to prevent caking]), sugar, brown sugar, contains 2% or less of the following: wheat, gluten, yeast, cultured wheat flour (for added freshness), sea salt, corn meal, enzyme blend (wheat flour, enzymes, ascorbic acid, high oleic canola oil), spice blend (wheat flour, annatto and tumeric [spice and color]), vegetable mono-glycerides (with ascorbic acid and citric acid), spices (cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger), guar gum, xanthan gum. Contains wheat.*
Trader Joe’s Pumpkin Rolls with Pumpkin Spice Icing (DISCONTINUED IN 2023)
Think warm, soft, take and bake Pillsbury cinnamon rolls, but add pumpkin, spice, and sprinkle some Trader Joe’s pixie dust on them.
Ingredients – pumpkin roll: wheat flour water, palm oil, sugar, powdered sugar (sugar, corn starch), baking powder (baking soda, sodium acid pyrophosphate), canola oil, dextrose (corn), sea salt, dried pumpkin, wheat starch, xanthan gum, refined sunflower oil, cinnamon, natural flavor, beta carotene (color), nutmeg, clove. pumpkin spice icing: sugar, tapioca syrup, pumpkin puree, invert sugar, water, natural flavor, cinnamon, ginger, sodium citrate, locust bean gum, xanthan gum, carrageenan, molasses. Contains wheat. May contain traces of milk.*
Pumpkin Spice RX Bar
Trader Joe’s carries a few name brand products, and our local store has a whole section of bars. They don’t seem to be carrying the pumpkin versions of Larabar or Clif Bar, but we did spot this fall-inspired flavor by RX Bar on the shelves. If you don’t live near a TJ’s, these bars are available elsewhere, and can also be ordered from Amazon. These bars are dairy-free, but not vegan because they do contain eggs.
Ingredients – dates, egg whites, almonds, cashews, pumpkin, ginger, nutmeg, cinnamon, cloves, all spice. Contains almonds, cashews, eggs.*
Trader Joe’s Pumpkin Spice Almond Beverage
I actually have a full review dedicated to this holiday drink. It’s a smidgen thicker than your average almond milk, with sweet pumpkin flavor and warm autumn spices.
Ingredients – almond base (water, almonds), cane sugar, golden delicious pumpkin puree, natural flavors, sunflower lecithin, guar gum, tricalcium phosphate, gellan gum, sea salt, cinnamon annatto extract (for color), nutmeg, vitamin premix (d-alpha tocopherol [vitamin e], vitamin a palmitate, ergocalciferol [vitamin d2], cyanocobalamin [vitamin b12]). Contains almonds.*
Trader Joe’s Fall Harvest Salsa
Salsa with pumpkin? Why not?! In fact, pumpkin is the first ingredient in this spicy condiment. It’s followed by a fall blend of fire-roasted tomatoes, apples, and butternut squash! But please note that this salsa isn’t strictly vegan because it does contain honey. But this salsa is a natural accompaniment to the next item on our list …
Ingredients – pumpkin, tomatoes, water, tomatillo, onions, apples, butternut squash, red bell peppers, jalapenos, honey, lime juice concentrate, sea salt, natural flavor, garlic, cumin.
Trader Joe’s Pumpkin Tortilla Chips
I didn’t splurge on the salsa (yet!) because we already have a fair bit of salsa on hand. But we did pick up these pumpkin-infused tortilla chips. They’re baked with spices, but not sugar, for a savory warm spice that hits the taste buds just right. And these big crunchers do go nicely with salsa!
Ingredients – corn flour, vegetable oil (sunflower oil, safflower oil, corn oil), pumpkin puree, pumpkin seed, degerminated corn meal, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg.
Trader Joe’s Pumpkin Bread & Muffin Mixes (including Gluten-Free!)
You’ll want to shy away from their pancake mixes, but both the wheat-based and gluten-free pumpkin bread mixes are made without dairy. And the preparation for both is to just add eggs, oil, and water! If you need vegan baked goods, then I’m quite sure one of my muffin or quick bread egg substitutes would work well.
Regular (Wheat-Based) Ingredients – unbleached enriched flour (wheat flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamin mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), sugar, dried pumpkin flakes, spices, salt, arabic gum, soybean oil, leavening (sodium bicarbonate, sodium acid pyrophosphate). Made on equipment shared with milk, eggs and tree nuts.*
Gluten-Free Ingredients – sugar, whole grain sorghum flour, dried pumpkin flakes, whole millet flour, brown rice flour (rice flour, stabilized rice bran with germ), rice flour, spices, less than 2% of: salt, baking soda, sodium acid pyrophosphate, xanthan gum, corn flour. May contain traces of milk, egg, soy.*
Trader Joe’s Pumpkin Joe Joe’s
There’s a Joe Joe for nearly every occasion, in fact, they have some Halloween ones too! But this is the fall pumpkin flavored version. The filling is loaded with warm spice for a bold taste that kicks the pants off Oreos.
Ingredients – cane sugar, enriched wheat flour (niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), palm oil, invert sugar, pumpkin puree, canola oil, organic pumpkin powder, wheat starch, organic corn flour, natural flavors, cinnamon, baking soda, sea salt, organic caramel color, soy lecithin, ammonium bicarbonate, nutmeg, annatto (for color). Contains wheat and soy. may contain traces of milk, egg and coconut.*
Trader Joe’s Pumpkin Butter
Fruit “butters” are actually dairy-free, and TJ’s pumpkin butter is no exception. It’s pure pumpkin, sweetened, spiced, and cooked down to a spreadable, buttery consistency. However, it isn’t strictly vegan because it does contain honey.
Ingredients: pumpkin, sugar, honey, lemon juice concentrate, cinnamon, cloves, ginger, nutmeg.*
Trader Joe’s Organic Pumpkin Spice Granola Bark
They didn’t have this in stock at my local store yet, but I spotted it in the Fearless Flyer and will be going back for it. It’s crunchy baked slabs of pumpkin granola coated in dairy-free dark chocolate and hand broken into pieces.
Ingredients – organic dark chocolate (organic cocoa beans, organic cane sugar, organic cocoa butter, organic soy lecithin), organic rolled oats, organic pumpkin seeds, organic maple syrup, organic pumpkin puree, organic corn flakes (organic corn meal, organic fruit juice concentrate [apple and/or pear], sea salt), organic brown rice flour, organic quinoa, organic roasted almonds, organic coconut oil, organic sugar, organic vanilla extract, organic cinnamon, organic ginger, organic nutmeg, organic clove, sea salt. Contains soy, almonds, coconut. May contain traces of milk.*
Trader Joe’s Organic Pumpkin
It might be ordinary, but every year I stock up on this delicious, affordably priced, canned pumpkin. It’s the closest alternative I can find to Libby’s, with a more affordable cost and organic base to boot! They usually have it in stock through the holidays, but come New Year, it gets quickly phased out.
Ingredients – organic pumpkin.*
Trader Joe’s Pumpkin Spice Coffee
This popular spiced coffee is sold ground by the canister and in single serve cups (Keurig K-Cup-ready). And unlike the branded product, TJ’s cups are fully recyclable. It doesn’t contain actual pumpkin, but still hints at that delicious pie with the rich flavors of pumpkin spice. And this flavored grind is only available during the fall pumpkin palooza.
Ingredients – arabica coffee, natural flavors (including extractives of cinnamon, clove, ginger, nutmeg, allspice).*
Trader Joe’s Pumpkin Spice Rooibos Herbal Blend
Let me know if you have tried and love this tea. I drink so much herbal tea that I have a cap on how much I will spend on a container. And this was a dollar more than I was willing to spend. Yes, sometimes I’m that cheap. But if you promise me that it’s fantastic, I will splurge on my next TJ’s shop. The ingredients do sound pretty darn good …
Ingredients – redbush herbal blend, natural pumpkin flavor, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves.*
Trader Joe’s Pumpkin Recipe Dog Treats
Why should Fido be left out of the pumpkin fun? If your whole household is dairy-free or vegan, down to the pooches, these dog-friendly treats might be worth the splurge.
Ingredients – wheat flour, pumpkin, cane molasses, canola oil, ground cinnamon, citric acid (preservative), mixed tocopherols (preservative), rosemary extract.
What About the Pumpkin Ales?
Trader Joe’s does carry a couple brands of pumpkin ale during the fall, but there aren’t any ingredients listed. Ingredient labeling isn’t required on alcohol. They’re most likely dairy-free, but beer can contain milk. So contact the brewery directly if interested in these beverages and concerned about dairy.
What’s Your Favorite Dairy-Free Trader Joe’s Pumpkin Find?
*Know Your Needs! By ingredients, all of the products listed above are dairy-free. Nonetheless, check with the company on their manufacturing processes for all varieties if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. Those may contain warnings are optional, and don’t necessarily infer that there is or isn’t any milk in the product. All products are at some degree of risk for cross-contamination with allergens, but you must determine if the protocols are safe for your needs. Also processes and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company / product.