Many Go Dairy Free viewers purchase Chocolate Decadence since they are billed as a dairy-free and vegan chocolatier, so i wanted to ensure we shared this news. To note, it appears that their product ingredients are still dairy-free, but that milk chocolate products were made on the same line, and an allergic reaction was reported due to cross-contamination issues. See the full details on the allergen alert below …
September, 2011 – Chocolate Decadence, Eugene, Oregon, is recalling multiple lines of chocolate products because they may contain undeclared milk. People who have an allergy or severe sensitivity to milk run the risk of serious or life-threatening allergic reaction if they consume these products.
There has been one allergic reaction complaint and confirmed to date in Connecticut. The products were distributed nationwide through Internet sales and through retail stores.
The products include Chocolate Decadence chocolate bars, almond clusters, assorted fruit clusters, chocolate buttons (raspberry, espresso, pure dark, mint, peanut butter), truffles, fudge, and molded chocolates. The smaller packages are in clear cellophane bags with uniquely identifying paper wrappers. The bars are wrapped in silver foil and wrapped in earth-toned paper wrappers (see attached label).
There are no codes, best by dates or expiration dates observed on the retail packages.
The recall was initiated when the Connecticut customer became ill after eating the chocolate. Subsequent investigation revealed that the chocolate had been manufactured on production lines that had previously been used to process milk chocolate.
Consumers who have purchased Chocolate Decadence and who have allergy or severe sensitivity to milk are urged to return it to the place of purchase for a full refund. Consumers with questions may contact Chocolate Decadence at 1-800-324-5018 from 8 AM-5 PM PST or at the company’s website www.chocolatedecadence.com.