Chocolate Kashi® GOLEAN® Energy Shake Mix Recalled Due to Undeclared Milk


This recall puzzled me a bit, as to the best of my knowledge, the chocolate version of Kashi's GoLean Shake Mix has always contained dairy.  But it seems that a certain lot of the chocolate canisters did not declare whey caseinate (a milk derivative) on their ingredient statements. The suspect product is packaged in a 14.8-ounce canister with the bar code of 18627 71000, and a "Better if Used by Date" on the bottom between Jan 17 2009 and Nov 15 2009.  In general, the product is perfectly safe, but those who have an allergy or severe sensitivity to milk may be at risk for a serious or life-threatening allergic reaction if they consume this product.

Luckily, no allergic reactions have been reported to date, and to the best of our knowledge, the vanilla version is still made without whey caseinate or any other milk ingredients. 

Consumers who are concerned should call the Kashi Consumer Response center at 1-877-747-2467.

About Author

Alisa is the founder of, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.

Leave A Reply