Updated in 2022! All varieties of Cool Whip have long contained sodium caseinate, or milk protein, making them off limits for those who are allergic to casein or who choose to live dairy-free. However, several varieties, including the Original version, were lactose-free, and used by many people who are lactose intolerant.
Unfortunately for those individuals, Kraft Foods announced an ingredient change for the Original Cool Whip in 2010, “Kraft Foods would like you to know that it recently changed the recipe for the Original variety of Cool Whip whipped topping so that it now contains additional milk ingredients, including cream.” This meant that the new version would contain some lactose.
Lactose-Free Whipped Topping Options
Although the Original and Extra Creamy varieties of Cool Whip now contain cream, the Lite version of Cool Whip is still lactose-free, but not dairy-free. And various store brands of “non-dairy” whipped topping are still lactose-free, but not all are dairy-free.
Products with a very small amount of caseinate may be labeled as non-dairy, but they aren’t actually dairy-free. See the following post for a full explanation: Non Dairy vs Dairy Free: Why One May Contain Milk.
Dairy-Free Cool Whip Alternatives
All dairy-free whipped toppings are naturally lactose-free. Here are a few brands that are sold in tubs, and attempt to mimic Cool Whip.
- So Delicious CocoWhip – This was the original dairy-free “Cool Whip.” It’s light, fluffy, airy, and works seamlessly in recipes. It does have a light coconut hint to the flavor, but many people don’t notice it.
- TruWhip Vegan Whipped Topping – Be careful, TruWhip does make whipped toppings that contain dairy. But their vegan version is dairy-free and coconut-free. However, it does contain soy protein.
- 365 Plant-Based Whipped Topping – This is Whole Food’s store brand. We believe this is TruWhip packaged under their label, because the ingredients appear to be the same. It’s labeled as “non-dairy” but is in fact dairy-free by ingredients.
- Forager Project Dairy-Free Whipped Cream – This brand is soy-free, but they do use coconut oil, like So Delicious. It’s reportedly heavier than most, and more like a dense heavy cream than a fluffy whip.
For more dairy-free whipped cream alternatives, see our Dairy-Free Cream Reviews and Guide to Dairy-Free Whipped Cream.
You’re welcome!!! ?
I had used Soyatoo, but fighting with the can was just too much, plus it was expensive. I recently discovered So Delicious Coconut whipped topping. OMGOODNESS! It’s amazing! I get it at Whole Foods.
Yes, I too gave up on Soyatoo, The can would break after one use!!!! It must be rocket science to come up with a can that would work
One note: sodium caseinate actual does not contain lactose. Lactose is the sugar in milk and what the lactose intolerant react to. Casein and whey (and their derivatives) are the proteins found in milk. People who are merely lactose intolerant can have these, they are still present in lactose-free varieties of dairy. People with milk allergies react to milk proteins. So, if you’re lactose intolerant, you can have cool whip. If you have a dairy allergy, you cannot. If you get itchy, blotchy skin on top of a distended, painful belly, you likely have at least a mild allergy to one or both types of milk protein. However, lactose intolerance does not equal a milk protein allergy.
Yes, this is correct! This post is just a heads up to lactose intolerant individuals who were consuming Cool Whip, as the new formula now contains lactose, not just caseinate. Cool Whip has always been a no go for those of us with milk allergies to casein (myself included) and clarification on non-dairy vs dairy-free is here -> http://www.godairyfree.org/news/non-dairy-vs-dairy-free – Thanks for stopping in and sharing your concerns Sarah!
It’s easy and perfectly clear.
“Original Cool Whip” never contained any milk at all.
But “Cool Whip Original” has milk.
Good going, Kraft!
Remind me never to buy any of your products.
“Original Cool Whip” contains skim milk and light cream.
Reddi Whip makes dairy free whip topping however.
Hi Judi, I was unable to find any dairy-free whip made by Reddi Whip – all appear to contain milk. Could you point me to the dairy-free variety? Thanks!
whare and what stores
Dreamwhip is lactose free. and you just use the type of lactose free milk you want.
That is good to know, thank you.
I was excited to get an email today from Vivian Lives Again stating that they hope to have a dairy free cool whip available by the holidays! I already have their cream of chicken and cream of mushroom dairy free soups. Finding things like this always make me do a little happy dance!
I haven’t heard of that brand Melissa – do they have a website?
Thank you for this article! Helpful to those searching for a df whipping cream option. I have tried Soyatoo’s rice-based whipped cream option and the flavor is great, it is really hard to get out of the can (kinda temperamental as can is best stored upside down, as it states on the label), and the price point is high for what you get. Coconut milk whipped cream is good, but doesn’t hold well for long. It is totally dairy free though! The best option I’ve ever come across was Mimicreme made from almonds and cashews. Their product is outstanding, but it has become increasingly hard to find…not sure if the manufacturer has gone out of biz. If you do come across it, try it! It’s a bit expensive, but holds up really well, makes quite a bit, and tastes really good.
Yes, unfortunately MimicCreme has gone out of business. They said it was temporary, but I haven’t seen a sign of re-emergence. Coconut cream really depends on the brand. Do you have a Trader Joe’s nearby? Currently (seems to change as some brands get better or worse) I rely on Trader Joe’s coconut cream (canned) or So Delicious Culinary Coconut Milk (containers the size of cans, but little aseptic containers – often sold by the other coconut milks in the Asian section).
TruWhip contains milk. I went on the website and looked at the ingredients and it plainly states that it contains milk. I want to make a gluten free lemon velvet cake and serve it with dairy free whipped cream, but can’t find one. Uggghhh!!! So aggravating! I can’t believe this site lists TruWhip as being dairy free. It might be that this article is over three years old and they’ve since changed their ingredients, too. Guess I’ll be making coconut milk whipped cream, although I dislike coconut milk. 🙁
Hi Angela, where do I state that TruWhip is dairy-free? This page states that it is lactose-free, but not dairy-free. If you saw such information elsewhere on my site in error, please do let me know. As noted on this page, non-dairy whip is okay for lactose intolerance, but is not dairy-free.
Have you tried Soyatoo? They have both soy-based and rice-based options. I haven’t trialed it myself, but hear both good and bad reviews.
I consider myself to be mildly lactose intolerant (can eat some cheese, drink milk, etc.) but MUST avoid cream and ice cream. I thought I’d give Truwhip a try. It was a BIG mistake, HUGE! I guess I need to learn more about the ingredient casein.
Just want to warn others out there 🙂