Starbucks Adds Dairy-Free and Vegan Frappaccinos to their Menu of Options


Starbucks Frappaccino offers dairy-free / vegan optionQuarrygirl is always on top of the vegan restaurant news, and this is certainly no exception. This week she reported that Starbucks will be offering their ice blended frappaccinos with a soy-based, dairy-free and vegan option. The offering is already available in the LA area, but the national announcement for the new soy / vegan frappaccinos won't occur until May 5th. We speculate that these chilled drinks should be in full force throughout the U.S. in time for the hot weather … or at least we hope.

According to a response that quarrygirl received from a Starbuck's manager, "The old method to make them used a base that contained dairy, but the new way you basically add a thickening syrup to base of milk/ flavour syrups/ coffee depending on the drink, so as long as the drink is made with soy it’s vegan. The coffee and creme frappuccino bases are vegan, however, the light one is not— and all the other inclusions and toppings are vegan except for whip and caramel drizzle." See for the full post and details.

So skip the whip cream and caramel drizzle, and request a soy frappaccino if you get a chilled dairy-free, caffeine craving. As for soy-free – no word yet on almond beverages hitting the mainstream coffee scene, but perhaps it is just a matter of time.

Read More Dairy-Free News

About Author

Alisa is the founder of, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.

Leave A Reply