Amazing Grass still makes a Raw Reserve (low protein), and they now make Protein & Kale Powders. But their Greens & Protein Raw Reserve line has been phased out. You can also see our review for Amazing Grass Superfood Protein and our Guide to Dairy-Free Protein Powders for more options.
Amazing Grass Raw Reserve is another case of quality trumping appeal. Does it taste healthy? Indeed. Is it worth it? Perhaps.
Amazing Grass Raw Reserve looks to be a nutrition powerhouse. It has 14 grams of brown rice, hemp seed, quinoa, and pumpkin seed protein per serving. It has a flax and chia fiber blend, is packed with a range of probiotics and digestive enzymes, contains loads of greens (from spirulina to kale), and contains “herbal support foods” like maca, burdock root, and ginger. Amazing Grass Raw Reserve also possesses a decent dose of naturally occurring calcium, yet is relatively low fat (1.5 grams) and has 0 grams of sugar.
If there ever was a superfood, Amazing Grass Raw Reserve would be it. But, I first trialed it in water at Expo West. Um, yeah, it tasted really green. Too green for me, and I do like things like wheatgrass shots. But, like all other protein powders that I sample, it deserves a fair shake in my simple banana smoothie. So I gave both the Vanilla Spice and Chocolate Amazing Grass Raw Reserve flavors a spin in the blender.
Vanilla Spice – Even with the frozen banana and light coconut milk, it was still a little too much of a bland greens drink. The vanilla was there, but it sat on top of the overall flavor rather than melding. I ended up adding a little stevia, which helped quite a bit. I actually think I would use this Amazing Grass Raw Reserve variety either in a more flavored smoothie, or just go the water-Raw Reserve route, and shoot it as a straight supplement.
Chocolate – I always choose vanilla over chocolate, so I expected to like the Vanilla Spice best, and I did. The chocolate just tasted flat and plain cacao to me. I think in a smoothie, it could go really nicely with a date or two added, but without something creamy or quite sweet backing it, the Chocolate is a little too “dark and bitter” for my personal tastes.
Certifications: Amazing Grass Raw Reserve is Certified Organic. It is labeled as vegan, non-GMO and gluten-free, but we did not note certifications for these.
Dietary Notes: By ingredients, Amazing Grass Raw Reserve is dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free (but not wheat-free), nut-free, peanut-free, soy-free, vegan / plant-based, and vegetarian. Nonetheless, read the label and check with the company on their manufacturing processes before consumption if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. Processes and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company / product.
For More Product Information: Visit the Amazing Grass website at www.amazinggrass.com.
Average Reader Review
Leave Your Rating & Review for This Product
What Others Are Saying ...
Greens, probiotics, enzymes, fiber and no added sugars
As a straight-up supplement, this product is a winner. Unfortunately, the flavor didn’t wow at all, but the high quality ingredients impressed us and it did provide a healthy boost of natural energy. If you are seeking a protein boost with greens, probiotics, enzymes, fiber and no added sugars all rolled up into one, then Raw Reserve is worth consideration.
I RECENTLY BOUGHT THIS PRODUCT FOR A HIGH FAT LOW CARB DIET BUT THE PRODUCT DOES NOT STATE HOW TO EAT IT OR MIX WITH OR ANY OF THOSE THINGS. I HAVE NEVER BAKED WITH A SUPPLIMENT LIKE THIS SO I HAVE KNOW IDEA WHAT I HAVE is there some kind of instruction as to what one scoop per serving means and how do I consume that scoop/
It’s not intended for baking. Just mix with water or a smoothie.
Re: [Dietary Notes: By ingredients, Amazing Grass Raw Reserve is dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free (but not wheat-free), nut-free, peanut-free, soy-free, vegan / plant-based, and vegetarian.] > Just wondering if this might be a just a typo (which you might want to fix)? I understand that a food product can be “Wheat-Free, but Not necessarily GF”, but how can a product be “GF but, Not Wheat-Free”???
Hi Judy, as odd as it may seem, it isn’t a typo! It contains wheat grass. It is a hotly contested issue, but many producers say that the product is gluten-free if the plants are picked before sprouting and producing seeds. Hence why this product is labeled as gluten-free. That said, I like to note that it isn’t “wheat-free” so that people do take a closer look!