There are actually more gluten-free Amy’s Frozen Pizzas in the vegan line than wheat-based ones! They have Pesto, Spinach, and straight up Cheeze.
Tasting Notes for Amy’s Frozen Pizzas – Gluten-Free
We haven’t had the chance to try every gluten-free, dairy-free variety, but did sample their initial flavor.
Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free Spinach Pizza
With two frozen pizzas patiently waiting in the freezer, we opted to test both cooking methods: one for a crisp crust and one for a softer crust. Both cooked up easily, but we had to pop the soft crust version back in the oven for a few extra minutes to ensure the center was cooked through.
This was my first experience with Follow Your Heart vegan “cheese,” and I was impressed. Atop the Amy’s pizza it really did melt. My only wish was for more. The picture on the box shows a very cheesy pizza, but ours had just a sprinkle of dairy-free mozzarella.
We also wanted more sauce, because it was delicious! Every time a bright red bit hit my tongue, my taste buds came alive. But one taste-tester even commented, “there’s tomato in this pizza?”
Though we felt it was sparse in some departments, this pizza was well equipped with spinach ricotta topping. Yes, non-dairy ricotta! And the garlicky, cheesy, spinach blend was fantastic. It was thickly spread, dominating both the surface area and flavor of this pizza. We all enjoyed it, but wanted some chunky vegetables to break up the texture for a more pizza-like experience.
The crust wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t a highlight. The crispy crust was very thin, and it made the pizza seem cheap. The soft crust required some rising time, but it was a good half inch thicker. The texture was fluffy, and almost “glutinous,” with just a touch of cornmeal like graininess. Although the soft crust was no greater in quantity than the crispy, we somehow felt more satiated from this larger-looking crust. The softer texture also melded well with the ricotta topping.
The Facts on Amy’s Frozen Pizzas (Gluten-Free)
Certifications: The vegan, gluten-free varieties of Amy’s Frozen Pizzas are Certified Vegan.
Dietary Notes: By ingredients, the vegan, gluten-free varieties of Amy’s Frozen Pizzas are dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, peanut-free, vegan / plant-based, and vegetarian. Select varieties are nut-free and/or soy-free. Nonetheless, check with the company on their manufacturing processes for all varieties if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. Processes and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company / product.
For More Product Information: Visit the Amy’s website at www.amys.com