Califia Farms Horchata used to pop up seasonally, then it became a year-round indulgence in two flavors. But now, it has been discontinued. You can still find Rice Dream Horchata, although it is elusive. An easier option is to make your own with this Dairy-Free Horchata Recipe.
Horchata encompasses a range of relatively creamy beverages adored by many Spanish-speaking countries. Typically it is made from a base of ground almonds, sesame seeds, rice, barley, or tigernuts (Spain). Horchata is traditionally dairy-free, but in the U.S. and even some Latin countries, it’s often cut with dairy milk. It is usually served ice cold. Although, the creamier versions (like Califia Farms Horchata) are reportedly tasty when heated, like a warm spiced milk.
Califia Farms Horchata is strictly dairy-free and vegan (yes, it’s soy-free and carrageenan-free, too!), and it is a heavily fortified treat – 45% of the RDA for calcium in just 1 cup!
The Classic Cinnamon Califia Farms Horchata is closer to traditional horchata by ingredients. Based on a blend of almond, rice and tigernut milk beverages and spiked with both cinnamon and nutmeg. It can be enjoyed straight up or in recipes like this Creamy Cinnamon Vanilla Milkshake.
The Vanilla Coconut Califia Farms Horchata veers a bit from the norm with a base blend of almond, coconut and rice milk beverages. Despite the name, it is also spiked with cinnamon and nutmeg. Califia has a recipe for this one, too: Coconut Vegan “Ice Cream” Sundaes.
Both of the Califia Farms Horchata beverages are quite creamy, as pictured, and are reportedly sweet, but not too sweet. They’re actually somewhat modest in sugars (11 grams per serving), particularly when compared to sweetened dairy milks, and low in fat (2 grams per serving).
The Facts on Califia Farms Horchata with Almond Milk
Certifications: Califia Farms Horchata with Almond Milk is labeled as non-GMO, vegan and gluten-free, but we didn’t see any certifications.
Dietary Notes: By ingredients, Califia Farms Horchata with Almond Milk is are dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, grain-free, peanut-free, soy-free, vegan / plant-based, and vegetarian. Nonetheless, check with the company on their manufacturing processes for all varieties if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. Processes and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company / product.
For More Product Information: Visit the Califia Farms website at www.califiafarms.com.