Chao Creamery has made their biggest move since inception. They’ve created new vegan slice flavors, added a line of shreds, and launched their first dairy-free cheese block. I’m most excited about the latter. It’s no secret that I think Chao is one of the best brands of dairy-free cheese alternative. But I rarely buy it because I don’t find the slices to be very versatile for recipes. However, Chao Vegan Cheese Blocks can be sliced, cubed, or shredded as needed!
Chao Vegan Cheese Blocks are Set to Become a Dairy-Free Staple
I waffled back and forth. Do I include the new Chao Vegan Blocks with their Vegan Slices? After all, they are very, very similar. But in the end, I decided that even tiny little differences can create or lose a fan. The Creamy Original Blocks have a minute variation in the starches, that may or may not make a difference in the taste and texture. They also have different packaging, which does count for something. So I decided to give Chao Vegan Blocks their own review and information post. Once you buy and try this dairy-free cheese block, leave your own rating below!
Ingredients: filtered water, coconut oil, corn and potato starch, modified potato starch, fermented chao tofu (soybeans, water, salt, seasme oil, calcium sulfate), sea salt, natural flavor, olive extract(antioxidant used as a preservative), beta carotene(color), powdered cellulose (to prevent caking). contains: soy.*
Nutrition (per ounce): 80 calories, 6g fat, 6g carbs, 0g fiber, 0g sugars (includes 0g added sugars), 0g protein.*
More Allergen Notes
Chao is one of the few cheese alternative brands that produces in their own dedicated dairy-free facility.
More Facts on Chao Vegan Blocks Cheese Alternative
Price: $5.99 per 7-ounce block
Availability: Chao Vegan Cheese Blocks are available at Walmart in the U.S., and will roll out to other grocers. Look for them in the refrigerated section.
Certifications: We did not note any certifications on Chao Vegan Cheese Blocks.
Dietary Notes: By ingredients, Chao Vegan Cheese Blocks are dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, nut-free, peanut-free, vegan, and vegetarian.*
For More Product Information: Visit the Field Roast website at fieldroast.com.
*Always read the ingredient and nutrition statement prior to consumption. Ingredients, processes, and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company or product. Contact the company to discuss their manufacturing processes if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. No food product can be guaranteed “safe” for every individual’s needs. You should never rely on ingredient and allergen statements alone if dealing with a severe food allergy.
Great for cheese lovers who can’t eat cheese
Excellent vegan substitute