When I spotted dairy-free Sea Salt Caramel Dream Gelato in the freezer case (on sale no less!), how could I possibly resist? I later returned for a second pint, and decided to give the Vanilla Bean a go, too. And thus this review was born.
Tasting Notes for Dream Gelato
You might be wondering, “If it was so amazing, why not 5 stars?” It was close, very, very close…
Sea Salt Caramel
This variety had an amazing rich, warm flavor that just speaks to my comfort cravings. I loved the silken texture that is gently creamy but still light and almost refreshing.
That said, both Tony and I felt that just a touch more luxury in the texture would take this Dream Gelato over the top. I was saddened that this particular flavor, though almond-based, had many thickeners and even soy protein. In my ideal world, they would throw caution to the wind on the fats, taking out some of the stabilizers and protein, and adding more nutty goodness for a naturally creamier base. But honestly, 4 stars is still a “really good” rating.
And the Vanilla Bean Dream Gelato flavor teetered us more into the 3 to 4 star zone. You can see those amazing vanilla bean flecks in the picture above. And the flavor does start out so strong and pure. The creamy intensity enraptured my taste buds, and then… it simply disappeared. And I’m not talking about melting, here. Both the flavor and texture vanished, leaving what tasted like water! There was no aftertaste, no lingering creamy mouth feel, just iciness.
Tony concurred, ensuring me that this strange phenomenon wasn’t all in my head. We still found the Vanilla Bean Dream Gelato to be a great accompaniment – say to brownie sundaes and apple pie – where there were enough other flavors to pick up where it leaves off.
The Facts on Dream Gelato
Certifications: Dream Gelato is Certified Kosher Parve. It is also labeled as gluten-free, though I didn’t note a certification.
Dietary Notes: By ingredients, Dream Gelato is dairy-free / non-dairy, gluten-free, grain-free, peanut-free, vegan / plant-based, and vegetarian. Select varieties are also soy-free. Nonetheless, verify on the label and check with the company on their manufacturing processes for all varieties if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. Processes, ingredients, and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company / product.
For More Product Information: Visit the Taste the Dream website at www.tastethedream.com.