Were you disappointed when Hershey’s discontinued Oat Made Chocolate? Did you buy every last bar they had at Target? Don’t worry, we won’t tell. But I do have good news. It’s back! And this time, it appears to be for good. The test market went well, so they’ve rereleased one variety. But it has a new name. Say hello to Hershey’s Plant Based Chocolate. These dairy-free Hershey’s bars were technically announced earlier in the year, but are finally in stores!
Hershey’s Goes Dairy Free with Milky Plant Based Chocolate Bars
Based on the ingredients and nutrition facts, Hershey’s Plant Based Chocolate appears to be identical to their Oat Made chocolate, just rebranded. It was probably a good move, since the milkiness comes from both oat and rice flours. It isn’t really an oatmilk chocolate. Nevertheless, they’ve touted it as a sweet and creamy copycat of classic Hershey’s chocolate bars. Thus far, they’ve only released the Almond & Sea Salt variety of dairy-free Hershey’s, but we hope the Classic milky chocolate variety will soon follow.
Extra Creamy Almond & Sea Salt
Ingredients: sugar, cocoa butter (rainforest alliance certified), chocolate (rainforest alliance certified), almonds, oat flour, rice flour, contains 2% or less of: lecithin (soy), sunflower oil, sea salt, natural flavor. contains: almonds, soy.
Nutrition (per 1.55-ounce bar): 230 calories, 16g fat, 24g carbs, 2g fiber, 17g sugars (includes 16g added sugars), 3g protein.*
More Facts on Hershey’s Plant Based Chocolate Bars
- Price: $2.19 per 1.55-ounce bar
- Availability: Hershey’s Plant Based Chocolate Bars are available at Rite-Aid and the Kroger family of stores, which may include Baker’s, City Market, Dillons, Food 4 Less, Foods Co, Fred Meyer, Fry’s, Gerbes, Jay C Food Store, King Soopers, Kroger, Mariano’s, Metro Market, Pay-Less Super Markets, Pick’n Save, QFC, Ralphs, Ruler, and Smith’s Food and Drug.
- Certifications: Hershey’s Plant Based Chocolate Bars are Certified Vegan, Non-GMO Verified, and Certified Kosher Parve.
- Dietary Notes: By ingredients, Hershey’s Plant Based Chocolate Bars are dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, peanut-free, vegan, and vegetarian.*
- For More Product Information: Visit the Reese’s website at www.hersheyland.com/reeses.
*Always read the ingredient and nutrition statement prior to consumption. Ingredients, processes, and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company or product. Contact the company to discuss their manufacturing processes if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. No food product can be guaranteed “safe” for every individual’s needs. You should never rely on ingredient and allergen statements alone if dealing with a severe food allergy.
I love chocolate and I was excited to try this. The chocolate isn’t very strong. Aldis dark chocolate is better and cheaper. Also the peanut butter cups are better done by Justin’s. I probably won’t buy the Hershey’s plant based again.
Very accessible, affordable dairy free option and it’s good. I’m buying more.
Not the same
Doesn’t taste as good