Ener-G is the original allergy-friendly manufacturer. They’ve been around since 1962, and have always focuses on special dietary needs. Their bakery is dedicated to wheat-free, gluten-free, dairy-free, nut-free baking and they also offer low protein, yeast-free, egg-free, and soy-free products. They have an array of products, but the Ener-G Snacks were the first ones we trialed. They include pretzels, crackers, and sometimes bars.
Tasting Notes for Ener-G Pretzels
What can I say besides these taste like pretzels! They are not dazzling in any way, but they are definitely contenders in their own field. They’re made with a base of potato flour, cornstarch, and rice flour for a bready texture that’s a touch less dense than traditional pretzels. Nonetheless, we gave these tasty little Ener-G snacks two thumbs up.
Photos from Ener-G.
Tasting Notes for Ener-G Crackers
These delicious little crackers taste just like the cinnamon toast my mom used to prepare as a special treat. Each cracker is topped with just enough cinnamon (but not too much) and a very generous sprinkling of sweet sugar crystals.
Beyond the taste, what sets these crackers apart is their ability to fill the “snack food that fulfills a dessert craving” void. Just five Cinnamon Crackers conquered my afternoon cookie desires, and only set me back 5 grams of sugar, 80 calories, and 1 gram of fat.
However, I must warn you that these aren’t crackers in the traditional sense. I would classify them as wafers. They are somewhat soft, rather than crunchy, and reminded me of a very thin little piece of cinnamon toast. But I wouldn’t change a thing about these Ener-G snacks. They are delicious, dessert-like, and relatively guilt free!
The Facts on Ener-G Snacks
Availability: Ener-G snacks are sold in the special diet sections of many grocers in the United States and Canada. Select products can also be found in Latin America and Asia. See the Ener-G Where to Buy page for more details. Ener-G snacks are also available online from retailers like Amazon.
Certifications: Ener-G snacks are Certified Kosher Pareve.
Dietary Notes: By ingredients, most, if not all, Ener-G snacks are dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, nut-free, peanut-free, soy-free, vegan / plant-based, and vegetarian. However, always read the label and check with the company on their manufacturing processes for all varieties if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. Also, processes and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company / product.
For More Product Information: Visit the Ener-G website at www.ener-g.com.