LUNA Bars – New Formula with Vitamin D


Luna Bars - Gluten-free and vegan nutrition bars made specially for women!

Many, many moons ago, I eliminated dairy and wheat from my diet because of digestive problems. (T!M!I!) During that time, I became very dependent on LUNA Bars. Until I became pregnant and very dependent on Kit Kat bars. And Sonic chili cheese tater tots. The guy in the cubicle next to me at work’s wife, who was pregnant, (got that?) believed pregnant women shouldn’t eat chocolate because of the caffeine. He believed it, too. I kept the Kit Kats in my top drawer and ate a piece of one whenever he wasn’t at his desk. Whereas today I proudly proclaim, “I eat chocolate when I’m pregnant and lots of it.”

Luna Bars - Gluten-free and vegan nutrition bars made specially for women!

Anywho. Luna recently released bars with a new formula that includes Vitamin D. I tried them, and… they taste exactly as I remember them. (Flavorful, topped with chocolate or white chocolate, kind of like rice crisp bars but a little… grittier.) Which is a good thing. I don’t think products need to be newing and improving all the time. Usually that just means they’re adding dairy, which ticks me off. (I’m looking at you, Wyler’s bouillon.) And Luna bars are the only nutritional bar I’ve ever liked, so I’m glad they didn’t mess with their formula too much.

Luna Bars - Gluten-free and vegan nutrition bars made specially for women!

I tried:

  • Caramel Nut Brownie
  • Nutz Over Chocolate
  • White Chocolate Macadamia
  • Lemon Zest

Of course I liked the chocolate ones best. The white chocolate was fine; I am not always a white chocolate fan, but I liked it. The lemon zest was OK, but I’ve always much preferred their chocolate bars to their fruit bars.

Luna Bars - Gluten-free and vegan nutrition bars made specially for women!

The Facts on Luna Bars

CertificationsLuna Bars are Certified Kosher (Kof-K)

Dietary NotesBy ingredients, Luna Bars are dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, vegetarian. Other than the Honey Salted Peanut – they are also vegan / plant-based. Nonetheless, always read the ingredient statement and check with the company on their manufacturing processes for all varieties if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. Processes and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company / product.

For More Product Information: Visit the Luna website.

This is a third party review by Sarah Hatfield of No Whey Mama. For more information on these bars, see the LUNA Bar website. LUNA bars are also available on Amazon at a discount.

LunaBar Caramel Nut Brownie

About Author

Alisa is the founder of, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.


  1. I have been a big consumer of Luna bars for at least 6 years. My first love was chocolate raspberry, which was discontinued. My second favorite was chocolate peppermint which I’ve been eating since. I recently discovered Luna, which once had many vegan options, now has “contains trace amounts of dairy” on every wrapper I’ve seen. Thumbs down.

Leave A Reply