Ginnybars: Grain-Free Granola-Style Bars (DISCONTINUED)


Ginnybakes abruptly went out of business back in 2017. Fortunately, there are quite a few Dairy-Free Energy & Snack Bars available.

Using the term “fruit and nut bar” usually evokes thoughts of either a chewy date-based bar (like Larabar) or a sticky whole nut bar (like Kind), but ginnybars fall somewhere in the middle, offering a chewy granola bar like vibe without a speck of oats or other grains.

ginnybars - karma, love and apricot (organic, vegan, gluten-free)

Each ginnybars flavor (that we trialed) contains a blend of whole, chopped and ground nuts and seeds, a smattering of coconut, a blend of dried fruits (varies by flavor), and the perfect gentle underpinnings of agave, cinnamon, and vanilla. The lack of coconut flavor surprised me – so coconut averse, have no fear!

And unlike so many fruit and nut snacks, ginnybars are relatively low in sugars. Yet they hit the sweet spot for an enjoyable breakfast on the go. Or as an energy hit on the slopes, or afternoon snack when cravings strike. They also offer some solid, sustaining nutrients, with 4 to 5 grams of protein, 12 to 13 grams of healthy fats, and 4 grams of fiber per bar. Amazingly all naturally occurring in the fruits and nuts, too – no supplementation ingredients!

Tasting Notes for ginnybars

Back on the taste of ginnybars, all of the flavors that we sampled had warm, earthy depth. They all tasted so darn nourishing and satisfying. The karma, love and apricot was my favorite! It provided the flavor comfort of a cool autumn day.

ginnybars - karma, love and apricot (organic, vegan, gluten-free)

The love and nuts came in second, with the “darkest” taste. It also had a rich essence that somehow reminded me of freshly toasted whole grain bread – bizarre!

ginnybars - love & nuts (organic, vegan, gluten-free)

The peace, love and apple was still nearly as delicious. It had a slightly heavier fruit emphasis as the natural-tasting apple bits offered contrast.

ginnybars - peace, love and apple (organic, vegan, gluten-free)

I’m still a bit confused by the happy chocolate bliss ginnybars, which gave me concern about the company’s ingredient knowledge. Online, not a speck of dairy is shown in the ingredients, yet they do not label it as dairy-free, nor vegan (like the others). They wouldn’t return my inquiry on this. As noted below, ginnybars are not strictly “allergen safe” for those with cross-contamination worries, so that isn’t the issue with the chocolate. Hopefully they can clarify soon as to what part of their labeling is incorrect on those bars. In the meantime, I’ll simply have to savor the other delicious flavors!

The Facts on ginnybars

Certifications: Select ginnybars are Certified Organic, Certified Vegan, Certified Gluten-Free, and Certified Kosher Dairy (in this case, dairy was not listed in the ingredients, but kosher dairy indicated that other dairy-containing products are likely made on the same equipment).

Dietary Notes: By ingredients, select ginnybars are dairy-free / non-dairy, gluten-free, grain-free, peanut-free, soy-free, vegan / plant-based, and vegetarian. Nonetheless, verify on the label and check with the company on their manufacturing processes for all varieties if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. Processes, ingredients, and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company / product.

For More Product Information: Visit the Ginnybakes website at

About Author

Alisa is the founder of, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.

Leave A Reply