Good Karma Flaxmilk in Creamy, Protein, and Lunchable Sizes

52

Flaxmilk has become popular over the years not only for Omega3 benefits, but also for taste. It tends to be lighter, yet creamier, and a little more neutral in taste than many other dairy-free milk beverages. Good Karma Flaxmilk is the leader in this space, and they have expanded their product line to include high protein and single serve options.

Good Karma Flaxmilk (Review): Dairy-free, top allergen-free, and vegan with Protein and single-serve options

Good Karma Flaxmilk in Creamy, Protein, and Lunchable Sizes

Though flaxseeds can’t rival the natural cream of coconut or richness of cashews, it turns out that a dairy-free milk beverage made with cold pressed flax oil does have the smooth consistency of dairy milk. And it tastes pretty darn impressive. Plus, each serving of Good Karma Flaxmilk contains 1200 mg of Omega 3 and is fortified with calcium and vitamins A, B12, and D.

Because this review comes from our earlier format, I have tasting notes with the flavors we’ve tried. Please note that we found the “regular” and “+protein” varieties to be very different. The +protein flavors had a bitterness I couldn’t quite get past, but another taster didn’t even notice. Please do feel free to leave your own rating and review below, and let us know which varieties you tried!

Vanilla

This flavor was much sweeter than I expected, almost hinting at dessert. The flavor is VERY vanilla, which I absolutely loved. It also has a semi-rich, 2% like texture that was incredibly smooth and easy to drink. I found it to be less thick than coconut milk beverage but smoother and more fulfilling than almond milk beverage. I think this one could be a big hit in almost any sweet recipe! As well as in everyday drinks like hot cocoa, coffee, and tea.

Good Karma Flaxmilk Reviews and Information - Dairy-Free Milk Beverage in several vegan, gluten-free, nut-free, and soy-free varietiesIngredients: flaxmilk (filtered water, cold pressed organic flax oil), cane sugar, tricalcium phosphate, vanilla extract, sunflower lecithin, sea salt, gellan gum, xanthan gum, vitamin A palmitate, vitamin D2, vitamin B12.

Nutrition (per 1 cup): 60 calories, 2.5g fat, 10g carbs, 0g fiber, 10g sugars (includes 10g added sugars), 0g protein. Fortified with the following RDA percentages: 10% vitamin D, 20% calcium, 15% vitamin A, 60% vitamin B12.*

Original

Wow, the Original Good Karma Flaxmilk was, well … perfect. I could easily taste why this was a unanimous winner among dairy drinkers. It was fluid, smooth, lightly creamy, and yet refreshing. This classic variety has a hint of sweetness, but is relatively neutral in taste, with a seamless overall flavor. It seemed quite versatile, though I still wouldn’t use it in a purely savory recipe, like mashed potatoes.

Good Karma Flaxmilk Reviews and Information - Dairy-Free Milk Beverage in several vegan, gluten-free, nut-free, and soy-free varietiesIngredients: flaxmilk (filtered water, cold pressed organic flax oil), cane sugar, tricalcium phosphate, sunflower lecithin, natural flavors, sea salt, vanilla extract, gellan gum, xanthan gum, vitamin A palmitate, vitamin D2, vitamin B12.

Nutrition (per 1 cup): 25 calories, 2.5g fat, 1g carbs, 0g fiber, 0g sugars (includes 0g added sugars), 0g protein. Fortified with the following RDA percentages: 10% vitamin D, 20% calcium, 15% vitamin A, 60% vitamin B12.*

Unsweetened

For my own personal use (beyond reviews), I typically purchase Unsweetened dairy-free milk beverage, so this was the flavor of Good Karma Flaxmilk I was most curious about. Truthfully, it wasn’t as scrumptious as the other two for the obvious reason: no sweetener. However, my interest in milk alternatives isn’t for sipping, it’s for everyday smoothies and recipes. The Unsweetened Good Karma Flaxmilk added just the right amount of body to my breakfast smoothies, and the fairly neutral yet somewhat savory flavor seemed like a fluid fit for most dishes.

Good Karma Flaxmilk Reviews and Information - Dairy-Free Milk Beverage in several vegan, gluten-free, nut-free, and soy-free varietiesIngredients: flaxmilk (filtered water, cold pressed organic flax oil), tapioca starch, tricalcium phosphate, sunflower lecithin, natural flavors, sea salt, gellan gum, xanthan gum, vitamin A palmitate, vitamin D2, vitamin B12.

Nutrition (per 1 cup): 25 calories, 2.5g fat, 1g carbs, 0g fiber, 0g sugars (includes 0g added sugars), 0g protein. Fortified with the following RDA percentages: 10% vitamin D, 20% calcium, 15% vitamin A, 60% vitamin B12.*

Unsweetened + Protein

This is their unsweetened with pea protein added, some of you might taste bitterness from the addition.

Good Karma Flaxmilk Reviews and Information - Dairy-Free Milk Beverage in several vegan, gluten-free, nut-free, and soy-free varietiesIngredients: flaxmilk (filtered water, cold pressed organic flax oil), pea protein, pea starch, natural flavors, tricalcium phosphate, sunflower lecithin, gellan gum, xanthan gum, sea salt, vitamin A palmitate, vitamin D2, vitamin B12.

Nutrition (per 1 cup): 60 calories, 3g fat, 1g carbs, 0g fiber, 0g sugars (includes 0g added sugars), 8g protein. Fortified with the following RDA percentages: 10% vitamin D, 20% calcium, 15% vitamin A, 60% vitamin B12.*

Unsweetened Vanilla + Protein

This is their unsweetened with pea protein and vanilla added, some of you might taste bitterness from the addition.

Good Karma Flaxmilk Reviews and Information - Dairy-Free Milk Beverage in several vegan, gluten-free, nut-free, and soy-free varietiesIngredients: flaxmilk (filtered water, cold pressed organic flax oil), pea protein, pea starch, natural flavors, tricalcium phosphate, vanilla extract, sunflower lecithin, gellan gum, xanthan gum, sea salt, vitamin A palmitate, vitamin D2, vitamin B12.

Nutrition (per 1 cup): 60 calories, 3g fat, 1g carbs, 0g fiber, 0g sugars (includes 0g added sugars), 8g protein. Fortified with the following RDA percentages: 10% vitamin D, 20% calcium, 15% vitamin A, 60% vitamin B12.*

Vanilla Lightly Sweetened + Protein

This variety comes in shelf-stable quarts and lunchbox sizes. Some of you might taste bitterness in this flavor from the pea protein.

Good Karma Flaxmilk Reviews and Information - Dairy-Free Milk Beverage in several vegan, gluten-free, nut-free, and soy-free varietiesIngredients: plant-based milk (filtered water, pea protein, cold pressed organic flax oil), cane sugar, tapioca starch, vanilla extract, natural flavors, tricalcium phosphate, sunflower lecithin, sea salt, gellan gum, xanthan gum, vitamin A palmitate, vitamin D2, vitamin B12.

Nutrition (per 200mL): 90 calories, 2.5g fat, 10g carbs, 0g fiber, 8g sugars (includes 8g added sugars), 7g protein. Fortified with the following RDA percentages: 10% vitamin D, 20% calcium, 15% vitamin A, 50% vitamin B12.*

Chocolate + Protein

For those of us who tasted bitterness in the other protein flavors, we could still detect it a bit in this flavor. But I’ve heard from many moms that their kids love these.

Good Karma Flaxmilk Reviews and Information - Dairy-Free Milk Beverage in several vegan, gluten-free, nut-free, and soy-free varietiesIngredients: plant-based milk (filtered water, pea protein, cold pressed organic flax oil), cane sugar, tapioca starch, vanilla extract, natural flavors, tricalcium phosphate, sunflower lecithin, sea salt, gellan gum, xanthan gum, vitamin A palmitate, vitamin D2, vitamin B12.

Nutrition (per 200mL): 100 calories, 3g fat, 12g carbs, 1g fiber, 10g sugars (includes 10g added sugars), 7g protein. Fortified with the following RDA percentages: 10% vitamin D, 20% calcium, 15% vitamin A, 50% vitamin B12.*

Good Karma Flaxmilk (Review): Dairy-free, top allergen-free, and vegan with Protein and single-serve options

The Facts on Good Karma Flaxmilk

Price: $23 per 12-pack of the lunchbox size; $4.99 per half gallon

Availability: Various sizes of Good Karma Flaxmilk + Protein are available on AmazonGood Karma Flaxmilk is also available at natural food and conventional grocers throughout the U.S. You can check their store locator via the website below, or browse your local stores on Instacart to find it.

Certifications: Good Karma Flaxmilk is Non-GMO Verified, Certified Vegan, and Certified Kosher D (for dairy equipment, not ingredients; see our Understanding Kosher Guide).

Dietary Notes: By ingredients, Good Karma Flaxmilk is dairy-free / non-dairy, gluten-free, grain-free, nut-free, peanut-free, soy-free, vegan / plant-based, and vegetarian.*

For More Product Information: Visit the Good Karma website at www.goodkarmafoods.com.

*Always read the ingredient and nutrition statement prior to consumption. Ingredients, processes, and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company or product. Contact the company to discuss their manufacturing processes if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. No food product can be guaranteed “safe” for every individual’s needs. You should never rely on ingredient and allergen statements alone if dealing with a severe food allergy. 

Average Reader Review

3.7
3.7 rating
3.7 out of 5 stars (based on 7 reviews)
Excellent57%
Very good14%
Average0%
Poor0%
Terrible29%

Leave Your Rating & Review for This Product

What Others Are Saying ...

Unsweetened protein

5.0 rating
August 29, 2020

First time was a shock to my pallet, but then I started adding my own spices like cardamom or cinnamon or pumpkin spice according to what I’m in the mood for, and now I love it. I have also generally weaned off sugar mostly, may be that’s why I couldn’t taste the bitterness. The amount of protein you get for such low calories is totally worth it, IMO.

Kitty

My Unsweetened seemed too thick but I'll try again

4.0 rating
August 16, 2020

Thanks for listing the ingredients here; I poured out my Good Karma Unsweetened when it seemed to be thickening too much on my first and fourth day after opening. That had not happened with a previous 1/2 gallon (refrigerated) or with the pea-protein version I tried first. I’ll try again though, the flavor and very low calories are both positives.

Bob Amyob

Fabulous

5.0 rating
May 15, 2020

I was told to avoid almonds (dairy allergy) and thought I was finished as far as milk. I tried Good Karma Flaxseed milk and was sold. Delicious!

JM

Flax+Protein weirdly Bitter

1.0 rating
March 24, 2020

Spout smells rancid, Bitter aftertaste.
Bought quart-size,
March 2020.

Deb

It's terrible

1.0 rating
January 20, 2020

Why can’t I rate this 0 stars? I won’t be buying it again.

El

Good Karma Flaxmilk

5.0 rating
September 28, 2019

I was looking for low sodium milk and found this amazingly good product with only 110 mg of sodium. It tastes very good. I use it with cereals and smoothies. I recommend it.

Leo

I love the taste. I use unsweetened. My only question is why isn't the flax seed organic.

5.0 rating
September 19, 2019

I’m trying to cut calories and I found the unsweetened Good Karma Flaxmilk to be delicious and I’m very picky. It’s pure white and makes delicious gravy. I want the seeds to be organic is my only issue. I’m vegan and l love that it is a drink fortified with calcium vitamins A, D2 and B12.

C.D. Anais

About Author

Alisa is the founder of GoDairyFree.org, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.

52 Comments

    • Yes and no. You will likely lose some of the Omega 3 benefits if you heat it. It does heat okay though, as long as it isn’t a type with added protein.

      • I have been heating flax milk with my son’s oatmeal in the mornings. I use the Good Karma + Protein. Per your comment above, is that an issue? Thanks,

        • For making sauces and such, the protein can cause it to thicken strangely – it’s more of a consistency thing with the added protein. Protein isn’t destroyed when heated. However, it is very likely that at least some of the Omega-3 benefits are lost when you do heat it. You might want to cook the oatmeal with water (traditional) and then add the milk beverage for maximum benefits.

  1. Love the milk and the comments! Coming off almond milk b/c of something negative i’ve read! Think this will be a great alternative!

  2. Due to my life threatening allergies to milk and tree nuts, I haven’t found many alternative milks available for me to drink. My favorite rice and soy brands now share their facilities with almond milks and other nut based milks, so I can’t trust them any longer. Luckily, I found Good Karma Flax milk! I prefer the original for its hint of sweetness and the texture is amazing! It is by far the best alternative to dairy milk I’ve ever tried. At first I noticed it gave me slight cramping after I drank it, but I believe that was just my body trying to learn what it was I was consuming (I don’t often have flax). I kept drinking it in small amounts and it no longer affects me. This milk is great, and I even know some people who can have dairy who prefer it over cow’s milk. I highly recommend anyone with a nut/dairy allergy or intolerance to try this milk!

    • Well you and I have similar allergies (cow’s milk when I was very young but tree nut allergies for life). I tried their vanilla yogurt for the first time yesterday and definitely had allergic reactions that I know are first signs of full-blown anaphylactic shock. I did not need EpiPen, thankfully, since I have learned Benadryl ingested at the first signs of reaction often stop the problem. I will never feel safe eating products from this company again after such a bad allergic reaction. Only reason I bought it was the carton clearly says it is nut free. I assumed that meant ALL nuts, but no more. Very sad.

  3. I purchased unsweetened Flaxmilk because it was on sale at my grocer. I love it. It takes very similar to cow milk. I use it in every way that I would use cow milk.

  4. FYI, I reached out to Good Karma and recently learned that the Good Karma flax milk (at least the fridge version) is apparently no longer being made for the Canadian market, This is consistent with not being able to find it on the shelves of the one store near me that used to carry it for the last few weeks. Very disappointing.

      • Any news about the Canadian market? I’ve tried soy, almonds, coconut, rice,… name it. Digestion is so much easier with flax milk. Just finished the last I had in reserve (used to buy it a dozen at a time).

        As of August 8, it’s not on the shelves of Tau or Rachelle-Béry (RB). And RB returned my call telling me they don’t carry it anymore. Even Amazon won’t sell it across the border. (Will I have to smuggle it through the border?)

    • Best to consult your physician or dietitian on this Devon. Is it low sugar? Probably, you can see on the carton. But you may have other needs for your diet.

    • Yes. The unswwetened version works great. I use it daily for my fresh fruit smoothies. I have used it when making my mocha coffees as well.

    • I just discovered this product after having managed my diabetes for 10 years without meds. It not only brings back the flavor of milk into my very low-carb-high fat diet (therefore no milk – too high in natural sugars) but it has almost nil effect on my glucose (I test six times a day — before and after each meal). I regularly stay between 85 and 110 on the meter. A1c which I take monthly is 5.7 to 6.2. I am NOT “borderline/pre” diabetic. I am full-blown and was in the 300s after meals 10 years ago. So, my reaction to the flax milk can be taken seriously. It is a great product for diabetics.

  5. I eat 1 spoon of flax seed mixed with yogurt every day to loose weight, and today I bought flaxseed milk to drink every night, I hope can help me to stabilize my digestion.

  6. Would you use the unsweetened in mashed potatoes, cream soups, and sauces? Do you know what chains carry it? (Kroger, Aldi, Meijer, etc.?) TIA!

    • Donna, I found it in Meijers and Krogers and tried it in mashed potatoes (virtually impossible to detect a difference from other milk and milk alternatives) and a gluten free pancake mix from Bisquick that has become our family’s favorite. Planning to try it with cereal next. I have the unsweetened vanilla and in addition to its other great qualities, it has 5 grams of protein!

  7. I’ve actually tried the Good Karma Flax Plus (vanilla) and absolutely love it. I felt like my mornings were lacking some protein, and I love that this particular one has 5g of protein, almost as much as eating an egg! It definitely helps add that protein I felt like I was missing. The vanilla isn’t too sweet to me, however, I love how creamy it is. I add it to my oatmeal in the morning (I eat mine cold right now since it’s still so hot out), smoothies, coffee, etc. The taste takes a little getting used to, but now I can’t buy any other milk. It also lacks carrageenan, which was hard to find in a dairy free milk alternative, so WIN for Good Karma!

  8. Hello,
    I just tried the unsweetened yesterday and today. The taste is fine but notice it caused bloating, a light nausea, and diarrhea. Is it because I started with 2glasses a day?

    • It is possible. The milk is new to your body so your body is not sure how to process it yet. Check with your doctor, but cut back to on serving (8oz glass) per day and see if that helps.

      • Same problem for me. Just purchased Good Karma Vanilla Flax Milk for my coffee and had the same reaction … nausea, diarrhea, and lots of gas (smelly). This is the exact same reaction I have from dairy products (lactose intolerant). Had to throw out the rest.

  9. Just purchased my first carton of Good Karma . The vanilla taste really good. It’s a step up from using Almond Milk and Soy Milk for my oatmeal, cereals and a glass in between meals , it’s very good with no after taste. I would highly recommend flax milk. Thank you!

  10. What actual nutrition does FlaxMilk provide? I like using it in breakfast smoothies, but it has no protein so that doesn’t replace what one would get with milk or soy.

    • Cheryl, everyone defines “nutrition” differently. Flaxmilk typically has healthy omega oils and is fortified with vitamins and minerals. If you are seeking protein, I would use nut or seed butter in smoothies (amazing!), dairy-free protein powder, or look for a protein-enriched milk alternative like the almond milk from So Delicious.

    • Rhonda McKnight on

      Good Karma sells a Flaxmilk fortified with 5 grams of protein. I get it at Whole Foods here in Atlanta. My son is 8, allergic to soy and nuts and cows milk and I’ve never been able to get him to drink rice milk. A friend suggested the Good Karma Flaxmilk and he has two cups a day. I’m so happy about this product.

    • I use flax seed in my smoothie every morning with a very amazing vegan protien powder made of peas!! Every morning I put the protien, my flax seed milk, and a handful of blueberries in my blender and BAM, best breakfast ever!! If you need details on the protien brand please let me know.

  11. I am looking at Good Karma’s website & my aseptic carton of their unsweetened original flax milk. Both ingredient lists show carageenen.

    I have been very happy since discovering flax milk – both because of the very low calories and because it is the ONLY non-animal milk that I can stand in my black tea, the latter being the last stand of dairy in my life!

  12. I recently found the Good Karma brand of Flax Milk at Wholefoods (south Florida Pinecrest location) and it was the ONLY Flax Milk that DID NOT contain Carageenan. The Flax USA brand DOES have carageenan. This additive has recently been found to be disruptive to the gastrointestinal system and is unfortunately added to all kinds of things for ‘texture’.

  13. Pingback: Apple, Green Pepper, and Flax Smoothie « Roti n Rice Roti n Rice

  14. Pingback: A great day to be alive and living in Jupiter Florida !!!!!!!!!!!!!! | Valerie's Market of Jupiter Florida

  15. Jessica Wojahn on

    I first bought Flax USA brand but it says that this product is manufactured on equip. that also processed products containing dairy, soy, peanuts and tree nuts so I could not use it for my daughter since she has allergy’s to those so I bought Good Karma and there’s says that No peanuts or tree nuts are utilized in the production facility. I really hope they are not made in the same facility. As far as I can tell Flax USA in made in North Dakota and Good Karma not sure but I am going to there website to see. Just thought I would let you know. Thank you

    • I know it’s been awhile, but you can make you own flax milk really, really easy, and it is very inexpensive. That’s what I do to avoid cross contamination with dairy.