Melt Organic Buttery Spread Joins Probiotic and Vegan Revolutions

34

I first tried Melt Organic Buttery Spread several years ago. At the time, Melt Organic had an option containing dairy and one without. The company eventually went completely dairy-free and added more buttery flavors – including Honey and Chocolate. Sadly, those tasty varieties were discontinued, but a Probiotic version took their place and has grown quite popular.

Melt Organic Buttery Spread Reviews and Information - Dairy-Free, Plant-Based Butter with Rich & Creamy and Probiotic Varieties

Tasting Notes for Melt Organic Buttery Spread

Fortunately, the Melt Organic Butter formula hasn’t changed much over the years. It boasts a good Omega 6 to Omega 3 ratio (2:1) with their fair-trade, organic oil blend. I’ve left some of our tasting notes below, but be sure to leave your own rating and review below if you’ve tried either variety. It helps others make an informed purchasing decision.

Rich & Creamy (Original)

This is your standard, multi-purpose “butter” – and oh my goodness, is it every melt-in-your-mouth creamy! By far the smoothest on the market. Melt Organic Butter begs to be dolloped over pancakes, slathered on toast, and drizzled atop potatoes. In fact, one of my first tests with it was making these Petite Pommes Anna (a.k.a. Buttery Scalloped Potato Stacks).

Melt Organic Buttery Spread Reviews and Information - Dairy-Free, Plant-Based Butter with Rich & Creamy and Probiotic VarietiesIngredients: expeller-pressed organic oil blend (virgin coconut oil*, palm fruit oil, canola oil, high-oleic sunflower oil, flaxseed oil), water, sea salt, organic-compliant natural flavor, tocopherols, sunflower lecithin, organic annatto. Contains: coconut.*

Nutrition (per 1 tablespoong): 80 calories, 9g fat, 0g carbs, 0g fiber, 0g sugars, 0g protein.*

Probiotic

Each buttery pat is infused with organic inulin for prebiotics and Bacillus coagulans GBI-30 6086 for probiotics. This is a patented probiotic strain that they say “delivers active cultures more effectively than yogurt.” I’ve read that it is also heat stable. But I would personally still stick to low heat applications with this spread.

Melt Organic Probiotic Butter is a very firm spread, but it softens readily at room temperature or atop warm food. The flavor is a touch saltier than the Original, despite having the same amount of sodium per serving. And it does have a very slight “fermented” vibe that I think adds some depth to the flavor.

Melt Organic Buttery Spread Reviews and Information - Dairy-Free, Plant-Based Butter with Rich & Creamy and Probiotic VarietiesIngredients: expeller-pressed organic oil blend (virgin coconut*, palm fruit, canola, hi-oleic sunflower, flaxseed), water, sea salt, sunflower lecithin, probiotic (organic inulin, bacillus coagulans gbi-30 6086), natural flavor, tocopherols, organic annatto extract color. Contains: coconut.*

Nutrition (per 1 tablespoong): 80 calories, 9g fat, 0g carbs, 0g fiber, 0g sugars, 0g protein.*

The Facts on Melt Organic Buttery Spread

Price: $4.99 per 10- to 13-ounce tub

Availability: Melt Organic Buttery Spread is sold at many conventional grocery stores, but is easiest to find at natural food stores like Sprouts and other independent grocers.

Certifications: Melt Organic Buttery Spread is Certified Organic, Non-GMO Verified, Rainforest Alliance Certified, Certified Fair for Life Fair Trade, and Certified Kosher Pareve.

Dietary Notes: By ingredients, Melt Organic Buttery Spread is dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, grain-free, nut-free, peanut-free, soy-free, vegan, and vegetarian.

For More Product Information: Visit the Melt Organic website at www.meltorganic.com.

*Always read the ingredient and nutrition statement prior to consumption. Ingredients, processes, and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company or product. Contact the company to discuss their manufacturing processes if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. No food product can be guaranteed “safe” for every individual’s needs. You should never rely on ingredient and allergen statements alone if dealing with a severe food allergy. 

Average Reader Review

4.7
4.7 rating
4.7 out of 5 stars (based on 9 reviews)
Excellent78%
Very good11%
Average11%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

Leave Your Rating & Review for This Product

What Others Are Saying ...

Melt plant butter organic

5.0 rating
September 29, 2020

I absolutely loved my butter, however I’m dairy free, so I tried this item, and i really like it!

Connie

I really like this product, but it has an image problem at our local safeway

5.0 rating
June 18, 2020

I was looking for another product during the pandemic “shopping frenzy”. Most products were gone, so I bought MELT. So happy I did. The consistency is so much like butter and it tastes great! Unsure how you can promote it better, but it’s definitely a great product! Maybe some new packaging??

MarinLocal

It's good but it's butter, so it can't be bad, so I can't justify 5 stars

4.0 rating
March 30, 2020

It’s great and you don’t have to have something super embarrassing like I cant believe its not butter in your fridge.

fiona

Kinda sad now

3.0 rating
March 6, 2020

I would recommend for regular cooking but if you’re into baking I would not suggest this as I tried to make a butter cream with it and it turned into little clumps this happened before as I make cookies but it didn’t effect the outcome

Sad child

Yummy!

5.0 rating
February 14, 2020

This product is awsome. I was sorry to see the honey infused type go, that was my fav for toast etc. But still happy to still have any. It’s hard to find but I sure “spread” the word about Melt.

Ocean

Excellent product, delicious flavor

5.0 rating
February 8, 2020

I try to stick with organic foods as much as possible. I absolutely love the flavor of this product! I was very surprised that the taste was so close to real butter. Had it not been on sale, I never would have tried it. Very impressed with the ingredients and melting quality

Joann Trupiano

Easy transition from butter

5.0 rating
January 5, 2020

I am in the process of eliminating animal products from my plate, and I don’t like margarine for all the health reasons plus I don’t like the taste. I tried Melt original for the first time and was really wowed by the taste & texture. It holds up really well when sautéing, too. For the most part, the price is comparable to butter, so that’s a bonus.

Irene

Melt vegan spread

5.0 rating
June 10, 2019

I love this spread. I don’t like artificial spreads or anything that is altered from its natural state. However, milk is causing my and my daughter immune system problems. I got this from a food pantry when we were having food shortages. It was unexpectedly delicious! If I can locate it in my area I’ll be replacing my butter products unless I can’t afford it anymore.

Ms A.

Why I love Melt

5.0 rating
March 11, 2019

Great butter flavor , healthy ingredients &
Easy to spread

Judy P

About Author

Alisa is the founder of GoDairyFree.org, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.

34 Comments

  1. I love Melt Organic spread. AS a life long butter addict, now that my body rejects all dairy I find Melt spread the closest in taste and texture and versitility over all other vegan “butter” substitutes I have tried. IT is also available in mainstream grocery stores and frequently on sale.
    It is great in biscuits, on pancakes, on vegan yeast rolls, in cornbread, etc. The Melt Sticks work best in dairy-free and vegan cakes and for those that avoid canola.
    The Melt Probiotic spread is not my favorite but I am not fond of products with too much inulin.

  2. Simon Fleming on

    I’ve tried this brand around a year ago I think and found That it had a strong coconut flavor to it. Not something I want in my butter. Is that still there in the revamped versions? Have you noticed the coconut flavor in the background … Or am I going crazy ?

  3. I absolutely love this stuff, dairy allergic for 40years, found nothing as good; but why do you put it in a tub that has an impossible-to-open lid? The gap created by the removed safety pull tab is in the wrong place, so one must pry the lid off with a thin knife blade from a corner instead, or just leave it uncovered. Sign me: broken fingernails.

  4. Zaida A. Cintron on

    OMG, I just discovered this at my local Kroger’s outlet Food for Less last Friday, when I was shopping for my regular Smart Balance, quite by accident, literally almost stumbled upon it. Had never seen it, read the label sounded good & decided to try it. Love it and decided to dig for more info & reviews. What a surprise to find that apparently this product has been around since ’14! and I just found it in April 2018! Food desert, in one of the posh Chicago suburbs! Hope it sells well so that I can continue to get it.

  5. Do you have an understanding of what “natural flavors” are? Whenever I ask a company they say they can’t give that information b/c it a “proprietary blend”…Thanks!

    • Hi Meghan, the natural flavors could be derived from almost anything, but if they contained any of the top 8 allergens (dairy, eggs, wheat, soy, peanuts, tree nuts, fish, and shellfish) then they would be required to state that it contains that allergen on the ingredient statement. If your concerns go beyond these top allergens, then you can send the company what foods you are avoiding or allergic to, and they should be able to tell you if the natural flavors or other ingredients will be a concern.

  6. Robert Sampson on

    Tried it. If you like the taste of butter, FORGET IT! Tastes like sweet coconut. Threw its out after one taste.
    Planning a taste test on all available butter substitutes. This awful stuff has piqued my interest.

  7. Steve Klebaur on

    Did not care for it, and pondered returning it to the store. It tastes strongly of coconut! Not what I want to put on toast or vegetables. Will not buy again.

  8. Hello there, I was recently introduced to Melt and really like the taste and what’s in it. I have a concern about preservatives. What makes it stay good for over a year? What do such preservatives do to my body?

  9. Cindy Turner on

    Have you tried the potato stacks with sweet potatoes, I haven’t tried the regular ones yet, but I would like to know if you have any with sweet potatoes.

  10. Hi Alisa,
    Do you happen to know if Melt uses humane non-deforestation palm fruit? I looked at the fair trade certification and that seems to only pertain to ethical treatment of humans, I didn’t see any mention of animal habitat protections. Recently it was noted that Earth Balance purchases palm fruit from unethical non-humane sources. I appreciate your feedback.
    Thank you,
    Dina

    • Hi Dina, you would have to verify this with them directly. I have spoken with the founder, and she is very environmentally aware, so I would imagine so, but I couldn’t tell you!

  11. Pingback: Strawberry Shortcake Donuts Recipe (Baked!)

  12. Hi Alisa,

    Great news, Rich & Creamy MELT Organic is 100% Dairy Free and vegan. We removed ghee from the formulation in July of 2014 and all three of our spreads are now dairy free.